Old 11-07-2019, 10:24 AM   #1
SEA
Human being with feelings
 
SEA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: By The Sea
Posts: 2,138
Default Is there an action to slice up wave files?

If I cut a vocal track and want to slice up the wave (to separate the waves) vs. manually by hand, is there an Action for this? If so what's the shortcut?

Thanks
__________________
JamieSEA

http://www.facebook.com/jamieseamusic
SEA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2019, 10:54 AM   #2
Keepitsimple
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 2
Default

Move your cursor on the timeline where the number grid is, and type "S"

You need to select the timeline where you want to split first.

Last edited by Keepitsimple; 11-07-2019 at 11:00 AM.
Keepitsimple is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2019, 11:00 AM   #3
SEA
Human being with feelings
 
SEA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: By The Sea
Posts: 2,138
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Keepitsimple View Post
Move your cursor on the timeline where the number grid is, and type "S"
Thanks. Not sure I understand it but maybe a video tutorial? :-)

Currently I slice using the "S" but to slice ALL waves on the track I still don't get.
__________________
JamieSEA

http://www.facebook.com/jamieseamusic
SEA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2019, 11:01 AM   #4
Keepitsimple
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 2
Default

I'll send you a video in the next 30 min.
Keepitsimple is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2019, 11:11 AM   #5
serr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 8,469
Default

Do you mean to automate "gating" a track with splits?
Dynamic split is the tool.
serr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2019, 11:14 AM   #6
SEA
Human being with feelings
 
SEA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: By The Sea
Posts: 2,138
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by serr View Post
Do you mean to automate "gating" a track with splits?
Dynamic split is the tool.
Hey Serr! What I would like is to take my vocal track, highlight it, then split all the waves up with one action if possible.
__________________
JamieSEA

http://www.facebook.com/jamieseamusic
SEA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2019, 11:20 AM   #7
serr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 8,469
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SEA View Post
Hey Serr! What I would like is to take my vocal track, highlight it, then split all the waves up with one action if possible.
That's what dynamic split does. (Same tool that's called "strip silence" in Protools which is the term everyone seems to know.)

Use the gate style controls to control it. You see the sections that will be split out highlighted.

You might not be able to do a whole song in one click. It's more like you go through big chunks with the autopilot and just have a few outliers to fuss over manually. Gating tom hits is a popular use. (There will be those few extra loud snare hit bleeds that you have to manually remove and the few extra quiet tom hits to manually snip.)

Vocals are going to be more fiddly since everything doesn't start with a hard transient. The rms control lets you get away with a few things around that though.
serr is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.