Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Q&A, Tips, Tricks and Howto

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-18-2017, 07:00 PM   #41
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 3,020
Default

New scripts: Select CCs within boundaries of selected notes

EDIT: I updated the initial post and moved all the script videos and descriptions there.
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...

Last edited by _Stevie_; 12-19-2017 at 11:52 AM.
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2017, 03:56 AM   #42
jbraner
Human being with feelings
 
jbraner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Edinburgh
Posts: 252
Default

Hi Stevie,

Pardon me for being thick - but that link
https://github.com/StephanRoemer/Rea...ster/index.xml is to a xml file.

Where are the scripts? Do we have to extract them from the xml file?
Or have you managed to get them on to ReaPack?

Thanks.
jbraner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2017, 04:23 AM   #43
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 3,020
Default

Hey jbraner,

Yes, the xml is indeed a ReaPack repository. Just add it to ReaPack and install the needed scripts.
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2017, 09:50 AM   #44
jbraner
Human being with feelings
 
jbraner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Edinburgh
Posts: 252
Default

Ahh - OK, I'll give it a shot!
Thanks.
jbraner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2017, 09:57 AM   #45
sievr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 119
Default

please be new developer to midi editor; it need a lot of improvment !
sievr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2017, 10:44 AM   #46
jbraner
Human being with feelings
 
jbraner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Edinburgh
Posts: 252
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Stevie_ View Post
Hey jbraner,

Yes, the xml is indeed a ReaPack repository. Just add it to ReaPack and install the needed scripts.
OK - I got it - thanks a lot.


I'm still new to all of this, so I'll slowly work my way through these various MIDI scripts ;-)
jbraner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2018, 09:39 PM   #47
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 3,020
Default

New scripts: Add VSTi and replace existing VSTi
Check the OP for more information.
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2018, 02:06 PM   #48
JoostJanssensDS
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 24
Default

Hey Stevie,

first of all, thanks for these wonderful scripts. I have these all on contextual toolbars ready to go, but...

Some commands return me an error message. Like, your increase CC scripts work, but the decrease CC scripts give me this:

sr_MIDI functions.lua:365: attempt to perform arithmetic on a nil value (local 'increase')

Any idea what this can be?

Thanks for these scripts, they're really handy!
JoostJanssensDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2018, 02:09 PM   #49
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 3,020
Default

Hey Joost!

Oh oh, I have to check. Sounds like a minor issue, though.
I'll check it ASAP, I'm a bit covered in work right now.
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2018, 04:47 PM   #50
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 3,020
Default

Hey Joost, I just checked the decrease scripts. They all work here, can you make a GIF? So I can see what you are doing? Maybe there is a CC editing case I didn't think of.
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2018, 09:02 AM   #51
JoostJanssensDS
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 24
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Stevie_ View Post
Hey Joost, I just checked the decrease scripts. They all work here, can you make a GIF? So I can see what you are doing? Maybe there is a CC editing case I didn't think of.
Hi Stevie, thanks for the quick response. I've attached the GIF in a zip archive because I couldn't get around the file size limit otherwise.
Attached Files
File Type: rar Error CC Actions.rar (923.4 KB, 52 views)
JoostJanssensDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2018, 10:18 AM   #52
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 3,020
Default

Hey Joost, thanks! I just checked your gif. That's really strange. Can you check what version of sr_MIDI functions.lua you have? Just open the file with a text editor. At the top it should say "@version 1.24".


Just as a sidenote, you can use imgur.com to upload your gifs and re-link them here.
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2018, 06:22 PM   #53
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 3,020
Default

New scripts: Render VSTi items without track FX
Check the OP for more information.
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2018, 05:04 PM   #54
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 3,020
Default

New script: "Toggle collapse selected folders"

This works perfectly with the theme "Jeanne2016II", since the "tiny tracks" mode hides the tracks completely.
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2018, 07:23 AM   #55
JoostJanssensDS
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 24
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Stevie_ View Post
Hey Joost, thanks! I just checked your gif. That's really strange. Can you check what version of sr_MIDI functions.lua you have? Just open the file with a text editor. At the top it should say "@version 1.24".


Just as a sidenote, you can use imgur.com to upload your gifs and re-link them here.
Hi Stevie, sorry for the late reply, but I was out of town for a little while. My version says 1.23, and this is the one thats uploaded to your Github.

Strange new problem, I just downloaded them again from your Github, put them in the actions list, try to run them, and now I get this message ''sr_Decrease CC11.lua:7: unexpected symbol near '<' ''

I get this instead of the other message now
JoostJanssensDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2018, 09:09 AM   #56
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 3,020
Default

Ahhhh, Joost, thank you for checking the version. I had fixed the MIDI_functions.lua back in december and forgot to upload it! Xmas chaos...
Please download the new version, should be fixed now!
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2018, 09:41 AM   #57
JoostJanssensDS
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 24
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Stevie_ View Post
Ahhhh, Joost, thank you for checking the version. I had fixed the MIDI_functions.lua back in december and forgot to upload it! Xmas chaos...
Please download the new version, should be fixed now!
I Stevie, thanks for uploading, but alas, still no luck. I updated the midi script as you said. Now I'm getting this: ''sr_Decrease CC1.lua:7: unexpected symbol near '<' ''

Again, only with the decrease commands, not the increase ones.
JoostJanssensDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2018, 09:50 AM   #58
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 3,020
Default

Ah damn, then something else is wrong... Can you post the content of the sr_Decrease CC1.lua?

best is to put the code in [ code ] and [ /code ]
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2018, 06:14 AM   #59
JoostJanssensDS
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 24
Default

Hi Stevie,

I tried that but it says I have too many characters. So instead I'll just give you the file. It comes straight from my computer.
Attached Files
File Type: lua sr_Decrease CC1.lua (42.2 KB, 39 views)
JoostJanssensDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2018, 06:18 AM   #60
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 3,020
Default

Hah, found the issue! This is an HTML file and not a lua file.
That's why the code can't be executed.

Are you familiar with ReaPack? It makes things a lot easier than downloading
each single script file from GitHub. Then everything will work

Here's a video how to set it up:
https://reaperblog.net/2016/06/how-t...on-for-reaper/

The link to my repository can be found in the first post.
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2018, 07:12 AM   #61
JoostJanssensDS
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 24
Default

Hi Stevie,

alas, lady luck is not on our side, it seems!

I have deleted every single one of your scripts that I had. Went over to Reapack, imported the repository, installed them again, as in a completely fresh install. Again, all the scripts work, except the decrease ones. It still says:

sr_MIDI functions.lua:365: attempt to perform arithmetic on a nil value (local 'increase')

Quite baffling, it is. I do want to say I really appreciate the lengths you go to to help me. I'm truly thankful for that.
JoostJanssensDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2018, 07:32 AM   #62
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 3,020
Default

LOL, I now get the same error, which is actually good, so I can fix it :P
No worries, glad to help!
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2018, 07:38 AM   #63
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 3,020
Default

Okay, I know what was wrong! This was really an aggregation of unfortunate "coincidences"

In the last case, the Decrease_CC1 and Decrease_CC11 scripts did call the wrong function with the wrong parameters. They still referred to the increase function. I fixed the files locally, but forgot to update those in the repo.
Yesterday, I completely removed my local files and installed the repo again. So now, I had the same issue as you

But now it's fixed, please update the files and tell me if it works for you!
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2018, 02:17 PM   #64
JoostJanssensDS
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 24
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Stevie_ View Post
Okay, I know what was wrong! This was really an aggregation of unfortunate "coincidences"

In the last case, the Decrease_CC1 and Decrease_CC11 scripts did call the wrong function with the wrong parameters. They still referred to the increase function. I fixed the files locally, but forgot to update those in the repo.
Yesterday, I completely removed my local files and installed the repo again. So now, I had the same issue as you

But now it's fixed, please update the files and tell me if it works for you!
Hurray! Huzzah! Woohoo! It works, it works!

Thanks man for your hard work. The scripts finally work! I can guess your glad as well about that fact. Keep up the hard work, man! You're doing great things for the community!
JoostJanssensDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2018, 07:05 PM   #65
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 3,020
Default

Wohooo, awesome! So glad that it finally works

Thanks man, I feel flattered! I just write scripts that I personally use and share them here If someone else can make good use of them, I'm happy!
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2018, 04:36 PM   #66
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 3,020
Default

New script: Move edit cursor by frames (mousewheel)
Check the main thread on page 1 for more info.
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2018, 03:43 AM   #67
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 3,020
Default

New scripts:
Nudge notes left or right by 9 ticks
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2018, 09:39 PM   #68
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 3,020
Default

New script:
Change note length (mousewheel)
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2018, 03:14 AM   #69
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 3,020
Default

New script:
Change note start (mousewheel)
Change note position (mousewheel)
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2018, 03:57 AM   #70
Chris Hurst Music
Human being with feelings
 
Chris Hurst Music's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 68
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Stevie_ View Post
New script:
Change note start (mousewheel)
Change note position (mousewheel)
Hi Stevie.

Can you just explain how these latest mouse wheel actions work please? Is it scroll up to increase/down to decrease etc?

Thanks
__________________
http://www.chrishurstmusic.com
Chris Hurst Music is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2018, 05:31 AM   #71
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 3,020
Default

Yes, exactly, you assign the mousewheel ( + modifier, if needed) and you are good to go. There's a gif preview in the first post.
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2018, 08:02 AM   #72
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 3,020
Default

New script:
Move items to timecode (in filename)

Not sure if this is helpful for anyone else than me, but I put it up anyway for archiving reasons

When scoring for film and exporting finished cues, I put the TC in the filename and BWF.
Unfortunately, Reaper is not able to read BWF written into FLACs (Cubase for example, does that).
So, I tried to find another way to align cues in my main scoring project in Reaper.
My files usually look like this:
Quote:
project_v1.0_10.00.00.00.flac
This script reads the item (file) name and extracts the timecode.
It expects 8 digits in pairs of 2, seperated by dots.
If no items are selected, all items will be moved to their TC position.
If there is a selection, only selected items will be moved.
Files with no TC in their filename will not be moved at all.

EDIT: I just found out that it's not yet working as expected. Since items are constantly moved around when dealing with a bunch of items, the script needs to be run several times in a row, which is not desirable. I will have to save the items in an array to solve this.
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...

Last edited by _Stevie_; 07-02-2018 at 08:38 AM.
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2018, 09:43 AM   #73
Chris Hurst Music
Human being with feelings
 
Chris Hurst Music's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 68
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Stevie_ View Post
Yes, exactly, you assign the mousewheel ( + modifier, if needed) and you are good to go. There's a gif preview in the first post.
Thanks, I see it now. Useful scripts you have put together here!
__________________
http://www.chrishurstmusic.com
Chris Hurst Music is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2018, 10:02 AM   #74
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 3,020
Default

You're welcome! Glad you find the scripts useful. It's just stuff I use for my workflow (mostly LE and PLE presets I created in Cubase). But now with Reaper, I can go way beyond
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2018, 10:03 AM   #75
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 3,020
Default

Script update:
Move items to timecode (in filename)

Got my head around tables and fixed the script with the new approach. Should work now.
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2018, 10:28 AM   #76
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 3,020
Default

@vanhaze, you might like this one

New script:
2018-07-12
Change note position to grid(mousewheel)
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...

Last edited by _Stevie_; 07-13-2018 at 04:58 AM.
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2018, 04:57 AM   #77
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 3,020
Default

New script which mimics the Cubase behavior to move notes to the edit cursor (CTRL+L)
2018-07-12
Move notes to the edit cursor (relative)


And some bug fixes in the mousewheel scripts (forgot to assign an undo name)
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2018, 10:48 AM   #78
AugerJ
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 403
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Stevie_ View Post
New script which mimics the Cubase behavior to move notes to the edit cursor (CTRL+L)
2018-07-12
Move notes to the edit cursor (relative)
Hi Stevie.
In Cubase you can select a bunch of notes and then in List Editor or Info Line
drag a parameter
or double-click it and change it by mouse wheel (in Info Line this doesn't require double-clicking)
or double-click it and input a number from a keyboard —
and the parameter will change for all the selected notes (relatively).

Is there a chance of mimicking that behavior in REAPER, using three-digit ticks designation?
(Percentage (two digits) is 9.6 times less accurate: 1/100 vs. 1/960.)

Last edited by AugerJ; 07-13-2018 at 10:54 AM.
AugerJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2018, 10:52 AM   #79
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 3,020
Default

You could check out mpl's "Interactive Toolbar". This is pretty much a replacement for Cubase's toolbar and does exactly that for position, pitch and velocity.
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2018, 11:01 AM   #80
AugerJ
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 403
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Stevie_ View Post
You could check out mpl's "Interactive Toolbar". This is pretty much a replacement for Cubase's toolbar and does exactly that for position, pitch and velocity.
Last time I checked there was two-digits tick designation,
which is too loose for the job.

Last edited by AugerJ; 07-13-2018 at 11:13 AM.
AugerJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.