Old 09-25-2015, 07:17 AM   #1
nopeda
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 157
Default ??? about "automuted"

A couple of times I've been bothered with "automuted" and can't figure out how to un-automute and haven't been able to find out anything about it in the Reaper manual. Can anyone help me understand what's up with that?

Thank you for any help!
David
nopeda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2015, 07:40 AM   #2
zeekat
Human being with feelings
 
zeekat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Polandia
Posts: 2,410
Default

There's a setting that automatically mutes your track if it's overly loud, default +18dB.

Here, right in the middle:



Something very loud's happening in your project.
__________________
AM bient and rund funk
my soundclouds+youtubings
zeekat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2015, 10:12 AM   #3
bluzkat
Human being with feelings
 
bluzkat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 6,919
Default

Does anyone else feel that +18 is too high of a setting for AutoMute? I set mine to +6.

I'm not so much worried about my ears (they're already trashed ) but I love my monitors.

Just curious.


__________________
Peace...
bluzkat
bluzkat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2015, 10:08 AM   #4
nopeda
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 157
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zeekat View Post
There's a setting that automatically mutes your track if it's overly loud, default +18dB.

Here, right in the middle:
. . .
Something very loud's happening in your project.
Thank you! I tried turning it down with the volume knob in the track and also at the bottom of the work area, but it never unmuted. Is there some other way to do it?
nopeda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2015, 10:17 AM   #5
cfillion
Human being with feelings
 
cfillion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 2,892
Default

Click on the mute button to unmute an automuted track. Or just restart the playback if "Reset on playback start" is enabled in REAPER's preferences.

Keep in mind that the track will be re-muted immediately if the volume issue isn't fixed.
cfillion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2015, 10:28 AM   #6
LightOfDay
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Lower Rhine Area, DE
Posts: 964
Default

yes.

at first: if auto-mute is set to +18db and it hits you there is something really wrong with one or more tracks.

I have set mine to +6db, and I think there is something pretty awful with my tracks should it hit me.
LightOfDay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2015, 04:28 PM   #7
nopeda
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 157
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LightOfDay View Post
yes.

at first: if auto-mute is set to +18db and it hits you there is something really wrong with one or more tracks.

I have set mine to +6db, and I think there is something pretty awful with my tracks should it hit me.
The last time I tried doing this stuff a few years ago I don't remember it ever happening at all. Now it happens frequently. What could go wrong to cause that, do you know? It might only happen on the laptop and not the tower...I don't remember it happening on the tower. So I haven't tried doing much other than trying to get instruments together and learn to use things, so don't have much experience actually trying to make music yet.
nopeda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2015, 12:23 AM   #8
zeekat
Human being with feelings
 
zeekat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Polandia
Posts: 2,410
Default

Maybe you have some buggy plugin, I remember using a reverb VST (xhall - it was sort of experimental/beta plugin) that generated huge, automuting spikes from time to time even if your faders were quite low.
__________________
AM bient and rund funk
my soundclouds+youtubings
zeekat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2015, 07:22 AM   #9
nopeda
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 157
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zeekat View Post
Maybe you have some buggy plugin, I remember using a reverb VST (xhall - it was sort of experimental/beta plugin) that generated huge, automuting spikes from time to time even if your faders were quite low.
Does it matter what you use to lower the volume? The track volume, or the volume in the work area, or is there something else like a gain?
nopeda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2015, 08:03 AM   #10
LightOfDay
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Lower Rhine Area, DE
Posts: 964
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nopeda View Post
The last time I tried doing this stuff a few years ago I don't remember it ever happening at all. Now it happens frequently. What could go wrong to cause that, do you know? It might only happen on the laptop and not the tower...I don't remember it happening on the tower. So I haven't tried doing much other than trying to get instruments together and learn to use things, so don't have much experience actually trying to make music yet.
does this automute come all of a sudden in a otherwise normal loud project or are you with your levels so high, that you risk automuting?

in the first case, there is something wrong with a plugin, I assume. or you have really huge volume differences in one or more tracks.

in the latter case you would have to turn down the volume of all tracks, so that you get a good result while the master-fader is at 0db.

put a brickwall limiter to the master, set it to 0.3 ceiling, threshold 0db, and watch the bigger lines in the master meter (the RMS meter). these should go sometimes above -18db, mostly not over it. if these are in the Metallica/Red Hot Chilli Peppers-range - means: between -9db and -3db - pull all track faders down. leave in every case the master at 0db. dont touch the master.

when done so there should never ever automute kick in again. in fact, with the brickwall limiter one could set automute to 0db and it wouldnt kick in.

anyway, the above method gives you an idea how to do the gainstaging, so that you end up with reasonable levels all over the place.
LightOfDay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2015, 11:57 AM   #11
zyisrad
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 280
Default

Just to add, the automute feature is mostly to keep you sane and to keep your freezes, renders to stem, and glues consistent. If you use 32bit FP for freezes and renders then it really doesn't matter as there's an extra 8bits for any volumes above 0dB.

Use automute to make it more obvious when instruments are way too loud. This will keep your gain staging consistent. You could even set auto mute to 0dB and make everything perfectly consistent to render, freeze, and glue to 24bit PCM.

Going above 0dB on a track doesn't sound bad because Reaper (and I think most DAWs) mix at 64bit internally. So as long as the master isn't above 0dB then there is no audible digital distortion.

As LightOfDay said, put a limiter on your master. This will save your speakers/cans but you don't want your peaks to be engaging the limiter. It's merely for safety. You want your peaks on your master to be around -6dB to -3dB. This is so the master engineer has room to work with.
zyisrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2015, 06:15 PM   #12
nopeda
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 157
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LightOfDay View Post
does this automute come all of a sudden in a otherwise normal loud project or are you with your levels so high, that you risk automuting?

in the first case, there is something wrong with a plugin, I assume. or you have really huge volume differences in one or more tracks.

in the latter case you would have to turn down the volume of all tracks, so that you get a good result while the master-fader is at 0db.

put a brickwall limiter to the master, set it to 0.3 ceiling, threshold 0db, and watch the bigger lines in the master meter (the RMS meter). these should go sometimes above -18db, mostly not over it. if these are in the Metallica/Red Hot Chilli Peppers-range - means: between -9db and -3db - pull all track faders down. leave in every case the master at 0db. dont touch the master.

when done so there should never ever automute kick in again. in fact, with the brickwall limiter one could set automute to 0db and it wouldnt kick in.

anyway, the above method gives you an idea how to do the gainstaging, so that you end up with reasonable levels all over the place.
Nothing really seems to be too loud to me. Playing around with it tonight it seems that one track of a project that uses the preset Aube des Temps in Alionoctis is what keeps kicking in the Auto mute. I turned it down on the track, but that doesn't seem to help. In fact after doing that and unmuting then I get a message that Reaper had to shut down, do I want it to send a message to Windows...etc. So then when I finally got it to open again for a second I muted that track myself and then it did fine without having to shut down. There's another track with a different preset in Alionoctis in that project, but that doesn't seem to cause a problem and doesn't auto mute.
nopeda is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.