Old 07-21-2013, 03:13 PM   #1
pretzelz
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 55
Default Merge multiple midi items into one item?

Hi all,

I've spent a good while scouring the Internet and trying things out myself, and looking through the manual. I'm sure someone will have a quick answer, so here we go.

I have 6 tracks of midi data. I want to select all 6 midi items (there's one on each track) and just merge them as one, new, editable midi item.

I've tried glue, group, I've tried dropping them onto each on a new tracks, I've tried selecting them all and doing item processing-implode... but nothing seems to just merge all 6 into 1.

I don't want to layer them over the top of each other, I want them combined. For some reason I don't want to manually select all notes in piano roll for each track, copy and paste them into a new 'merged' item. There must be a smarter way to do it surely? As I might be needing to do this quite a bit.

(as a side note, why is it that when multiple midi items are placed on top of each other, and aren't merged, only one of the items plays?)

Many thanks, Reaper newbie here - transitioning away from 32bit Acid :/
pretzelz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 03:21 PM   #2
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 18,082
Default

Hello pretzelz and welcome to these forums. You'll find many helpful people here and a lot of useful information.

I think I would drag them all onto one track, select them all, then right-click and select "Glue items"

As for only one overlaid item playing, click the Project Settings button, select the Advanced tab and change Item Mix Behaviour to 'Items always mix'
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 03:22 PM   #3
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 25,084
Default

Implode then glue works here. You could create a custom action with both, assign to a keyboard shortcut and voila.
__________________
Clever is not the same as good, clever is from the head, good is from the heart. -Benmont Tench
karbomusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 09:00 PM   #4
leatherlunch
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 27
Default

I too have been looking for the answer to this. Thanks.
leatherlunch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 03:12 PM   #5
pretzelz
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 55
Default

Thanks, I look forward to trying this out
pretzelz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 04:06 PM   #6
beatbybit
Human being with feelings
 
beatbybit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Hungary
Posts: 3,129
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by karbomusic View Post
Implode then glue works here. You could create a custom action with both, assign to a keyboard shortcut and voila.
doesnt work here.
__________________
panda in the desert
beatbybit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 04:17 PM   #7
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 25,084
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by beatbybit View Post
doesnt work here.
Make sure you are using Implode Items not Implode takes.

__________________
Clever is not the same as good, clever is from the head, good is from the heart. -Benmont Tench
karbomusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 04:22 PM   #8
beatbybit
Human being with feelings
 
beatbybit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Hungary
Posts: 3,129
Default

"implode items across tracks into items on one track" - thanks.

**

found a way to break it : if i click on empty timeline or another item after implode but before glue, this thing doest work. it glues only the top item.

i wonder whats the difference between this action and manually stacking up items.
maybe this implode selects all the items - so glue glues all the items? (and thats why it breaks when deselecting before glue?)

imo a dedicated action for merging MIDI items would be useful..
__________________
panda in the desert

Last edited by beatbybit; 07-22-2013 at 04:28 PM.
beatbybit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 04:23 PM   #9
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 25,084
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by beatbybit View Post
"implode items across tracks into items on one track" - thanks.
Yea that one; I should have called it out specifically.
__________________
Clever is not the same as good, clever is from the head, good is from the heart. -Benmont Tench
karbomusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 04:43 PM   #10
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 25,084
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by beatbybit View Post
"implode items across tracks into items on one track" - thanks.

**

found a way to break it : if i click on empty timeline or another item after implode but before glue, this thing doest work. it glues only the top item.
Correct... If you enable free item positioning you'll see why as it is still two separate items on one track just after the implode. However, by default both just happen to remain selected just after the implode so (I assume) this is why clicking somewhere breaks it by causing one or more items to become unselected. I'd bundle both actions into a custom action and keyboard shortcut so there is likely no way for that to occur.

I didn't test the custom action piece though so that's a bit of an assumption as well.
__________________
Clever is not the same as good, clever is from the head, good is from the heart. -Benmont Tench

Last edited by karbomusic; 07-22-2013 at 05:53 PM.
karbomusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2013, 08:43 AM   #11
pretzelz
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 55
Default

Finally had chance to check this out, and pleased to say yes, implode all selected items to single item on one track, then glue, works perfectly. Thank you!
pretzelz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2013, 08:56 AM   #12
chriscomfort
Human being with feelings
 
chriscomfort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,735
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pretzelz View Post
Finally had chance to check this out, and pleased to say yes, implode all selected items to single item on one track, then glue, works perfectly. Thank you!
Congrats. Here is a Custom action I created a while back (along with a toolbar button) that I called "Merge MIDI Items". Just select all desired items then run. It might speed your process.


Also, for merging Takes of the same track, I created this little action:
Take: Explode takes of items in place
Item: Glue items

Hope this helps
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Capture.JPG (25.2 KB, 1747 views)
__________________
http://chriscomfortmusic.com
chriscomfort is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2013, 10:12 AM   #13
pretzelz
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 55
Default

Most helpful, I'll try that. I'm sure it'll save time.
pretzelz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2013, 10:18 AM   #14
beatbybit
Human being with feelings
 
beatbybit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Hungary
Posts: 3,129
Default

dont you think this shouldnt be a "user macro" but a native action, still?
it would help new users (too), imo.
__________________
panda in the desert
beatbybit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2015, 06:39 PM   #15
Dynsdale
Human being with feelings
 
Dynsdale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 160
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chriscomfort View Post
Congrats. Here is a Custom action I created a while back (along with a toolbar button) that I called "Merge MIDI Items". Just select all desired items then run. It might speed your process.


Also, for merging Takes of the same track, I created this little action:
Take: Explode takes of items in place
Item: Glue items

Hope this helps
You are a genius _ thanks for sharing
Dynsdale is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.