Old 11-05-2019, 09:15 PM   #1
audioguytodd
Human being with feelings
 
audioguytodd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,054
Default Midi controller via Teensy microcontroller

Ok. So ive made a few MIDI devices with the Teensy microcontroller. (It's pretty damn easy actually). But here's my maybestupid question:

Say I want to do Transport. I can easily set my teensy code to habe the Play button send, say, a MIDI note on. And then go into reaper and have it learn that MIDI message for the play button.
My question is... How can I do this without MIDI learn?
I guess I'm asking what is the default data needed for that play button (or any other parameters like drop marker, etc.)

Is there a list anywhere?
__________________
Comp Specs: WIN XPSP3, Q6600, ASUSP5K, 3 GB PC6400 RAM, Focusrite Saffire, AlphaTrack, lots of plugins and hardware.
audioguytodd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2019, 11:13 PM   #2
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 8,162
Default

There in fact is not really a "Default".

In Reaper, the communication with Control Surface devices is handled by the "Control Surface Mode" setting (Preference -> Control/OSC/Web -> Add).

Here you can select as well built-in modes as modes provided by Reaper extensions (such as "CSI", which is discussed in this subforum).

Many of these Modes (can) use (variants of) the Midi-alike "MC" ("Mackie") protocol.

Hence "MCI" is a kind of "Standard", that is supported by many DAWs. Hence it might sense to adhere to that protocol with the device you are about to create.

-Michael

Last edited by mschnell; 11-07-2019 at 08:54 AM.
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2019, 10:46 AM   #3
audioguytodd
Human being with feelings
 
audioguytodd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,054
Default

Thanks. That makes sense.I will investigate that.
Really I'm just looking for the easiest way to control transport and maybe a few other things. I'm not looking to make a full fledged controller (I'll leave that for much smarter people than me).
__________________
Comp Specs: WIN XPSP3, Q6600, ASUSP5K, 3 GB PC6400 RAM, Focusrite Saffire, AlphaTrack, lots of plugins and hardware.
audioguytodd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2019, 08:21 AM   #4
LugNut
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: So Florida
Posts: 913
Default

..its called Mackie Control Protocol BTW. MCP. Originally based on the Logic protocol.
LugNut is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2019, 08:56 AM   #5
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 8,162
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by audioguytodd View Post
I'm not looking to make a full fledged controller (I'll leave that for much smarter people than me).
Nonetheless it makes sense to implement the partial functionality you might have in mind, compatible with some "standard" (which can be MCP).

-Michael
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 05:57 PM   #6
audioguytodd
Human being with feelings
 
audioguytodd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,054
Default

Im going to take a hard look at the MCP. I fear most, if not all, of it is beyond my very meager C++ skills.
However,it never hurts to look...and maybe even get sucked into it. Lol
__________________
Comp Specs: WIN XPSP3, Q6600, ASUSP5K, 3 GB PC6400 RAM, Focusrite Saffire, AlphaTrack, lots of plugins and hardware.
audioguytodd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2019, 03:07 AM   #7
Gerrit
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Maastricht
Posts: 86
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by audioguytodd View Post
Im going to take a hard look at the MCP. I fear most, if not all, of it is beyond my very meager C++ skills.
However,it never hurts to look...and maybe even get sucked into it. Lol
There's a link to code for an MCU controller in this post: https://forum.pjrc.com/threads/42477...fader-panel#24
The Zeus-DPC.ino sketch contains code for handling MCU messages, perhaps this can be of use to you. I abandoned this approach in favour of OSC.
For transport functions you could just use MIDI Machine Control.
Gerrit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2019, 07:53 PM   #8
audioguytodd
Human being with feelings
 
audioguytodd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,054
Default

Thanks Gerrit. I will definitely take a look at that.
Yeah, I figured I could just use MMC for transport. That seems easy and simple.
But I would like to be able to arm tracks, etc...
So I'll look more into MCU.
I suppose I could do everything I want to do using OSC,but I know even less about doing it that way. Lol
__________________
Comp Specs: WIN XPSP3, Q6600, ASUSP5K, 3 GB PC6400 RAM, Focusrite Saffire, AlphaTrack, lots of plugins and hardware.
audioguytodd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.