Old 11-06-2019, 08:04 PM   #1
Riinehart
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 36
Default Adding h.264 codec?

Hi all,

Can't seem to find a clear answer to this. How do I add an h.264 codec for rendering videos out of reaper.

I'm using VLC, with an output format of Video (ffmpeg/libav encoder). In my current settings, the only Video codec setting I can select is MJPEG, and the quality is not so great.

Apologies if I'm missing something obvious. Thanks very much for any help.
Riinehart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2019, 09:41 PM   #2
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 9,196
Default

Have a look at this thread:
https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=82459

You need to install (making Reaper 'see') ffmpeg for being able to export to h.264 (and others) I think.

edit:
Reaper comes with a basic ffmpeg variant but it hasn't all the export options of the 'full' version linked there afaik.

Last edited by nofish; 11-06-2019 at 09:47 PM.
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2019, 06:13 PM   #3
Riinehart
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 36
Default

Thanks for the reply. The ffmpeg build link in that thread is dead, but I was able to find it, and install the dll files as needed.

Now I'm able to select H.264 as a video codec when I render.

However, when I do so, I get no audio in my render. The available audio codecs are AAC, MP3, 16 bit PCM (which I used to use), 24 bit PCM, and 32 bit FP.

I've tried all of them, and none of them works.

Anyone have thoughts on what I could try next?

For reference I'm using:
Output format: Video(ffmpeg/libav encoder) > Format: QT/MOV/MP4 > Video codec H.264

Many thanks!
Riinehart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2019, 06:41 PM   #4
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
JamesPeters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 2,767
Default

Page 422 of the current Reaper user guide explains how to do this in detail, just in case you missed a step or downloaded the incorrect version of FFMPEG.

I just looked at that thread which you'd been linked to. I notice the directory to add the DLLs is incorrect (for Windows). So you'll want to remove them and follow the instructions in the user guide instead.
__________________
http://petersamplification.com
Using REAPER for Linux
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.