Old 10-02-2019, 06:54 PM   #1
Edgemeal
Human being with feelings
 
Edgemeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: ASU`ogacihC
Posts: 1,488
Default v5.983+dev1002 - October 2 2019

v5.983+dev1002 - October 2 2019
+ Dynamic split: add preset support
# Dynamic Split: improve gate behavior at start of item
# Dynamic split: improve removing silence at start of item
# Dynamic split: support negative pad/fade
# Dynamic split: when adding stretch markers, respect preference to treat media item edges as transients
# MIDI editor: improve win32 hidpi drawing of CC points
# dynamic split: improve UI layout

Full changelog / Latest pre-releases
Edgemeal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2019, 11:12 PM   #2
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,619
Default

Nice! Presets are good to have for dynamic split.


But still, merging the transient sensitivity parameters to dynamic split dialog should really "tie the room together" and make it a much better UX. Please make it happen!
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2019, 02:52 AM   #3
Edison
Human being with feelings
 
Edison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Brazil
Posts: 128
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgemeal View Post
v5.983+dev1002 - October 2 2019
+ Dynamic split: add preset support
# Dynamic Split: improve gate behavior at start of item
# Dynamic split: improve removing silence at start of item
# Dynamic split: support negative pad/fade
# Dynamic split: when adding stretch markers, respect preference to treat media item edges as transients
# MIDI editor: improve win32 hidpi drawing of CC points
# dynamic split: improve UI layout

Full changelog / Latest pre-releases
Wrong place, red area?
See pic.

Thanks!
Attached Images
File Type: png Dynamic split.png (6.1 KB, 208 views)
__________________
REAPER, em constante evolução!
Edison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2019, 05:40 AM   #4
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
bFooz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 1,193
Default

If you put transient controls in there, the whole dialog could look like this:



Things to notice:

- the top row (Split at...) needs some space over and under to make it prominent
- the top row items with checkboxes are placed more towards the right to visually group them with the "Split at" and to ungroup them from the "Presets" (the top row texts need a proper capitalisation)

some more text optimisation:
-"Display gate/transient threshold in media items" -> "Display threshold"
but here is not clear whether it is "to display threshold" or "a display threshold", so maybe "Show threshold"?
-"Add stretch markers to selected items and grouped items" -> "Add stretch markers to selected and grouped items"
-"Add transient guide markers to selected items" -> "Add transient guides to selected items"

-"[]Reduce splits" ends with ":" and is aligned to the slider (as was before)
- dot after "Min."

- text boxes after all sliders are not vertically aligned to the sliders (showed at "Min. silence length")

- ("Split" button width) == 2*("Cancel" button width)


There is also enother option:


This has an advatage of grouping the detector options together in one collumn and giving them more vertical space.
__________________
Donations | Mixing & Mastering Services
bFooz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2019, 05:54 AM   #5
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
bFooz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 1,193
Default

Bugs:

- engage "Reduce splits"
BUG - the slider is straight away moved to a lower number than it is at when greyed out
EXPECTED - the slider stays at the original (max) value until it is lowered manually, then when disengaged, the slider is just greyed out with same value still showing

- create two or more presets
BUG - checkboxes in the preset menu behaves strangely, sometimes they show up, sometimes don't
__________________
Donations | Mixing & Mastering Services
bFooz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2019, 06:01 AM   #6
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 6,091
Default

@bFooz


Your first mockup is very elegant ! Merging transient settings into this makes sense.



Note that transient window still have to have a dedicated window available as it is use in other context like the "go to next transient action". It will be overkill to open the Dynamic Split window for adjusting that.
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2019, 06:05 AM   #7
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
bFooz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 1,193
Default

Suggestions:

- gate threshold in items could also show a hysteresis threshold. The color of this one could be the same hue but 50% of saturation.

- the choice of words "slice" and "silence" for describing two opposites is problematic, since they are really similar to each other. What about "chunk" instead of "slice", or something else.
__________________
Donations | Mixing & Mastering Services
bFooz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2019, 06:21 AM   #8
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
bFooz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 1,193
Default

What I have noticed is that editing textboxes of sliders sets the slider value right aways, without any need to submit the newly writen value. So if I'm typing in 1000ms in Min. slice length, the slider is set 4 times, first at 1, then at 10, then at 100 and finally at 1000. This means that splits are being recalculated 4 times which may be a problem with longer items, and everything is flickering as it is being redrawn.

I've checked some other native plugins or windows and the behaviour differs. In the routing window or JSFX, the submit is needed. In the ReaEq, ReaComp, no submit needed.

It is much more elagant when the value must be submitted by enter before it is considered active.
__________________
Donations | Mixing & Mastering Services
bFooz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2019, 06:24 AM   #9
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 6,091
Default

Also, if transient settings is touched,
there is a bug in it:


Bug: Transient Setting Window keyboard input (pass through)
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2019, 08:35 AM   #10
Klangfarben
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 791
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
But still, merging the transient sensitivity parameters to dynamic split dialog should really "tie the room together" and make it a much better UX. Please make it happen!
Very much agree. These really should be in the same place.

Although, that's just, like, my opinion, man...
Klangfarben is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2019, 09:42 AM   #11
Swi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 273
Default

Nice bFooz.
I agree that these should all be in the same window. I always have to open both anyway.
Swi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2019, 10:13 AM   #12
amagalma
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,509
Default

Imho you all pay too much attention to the aesthetics and miss the point which, for me, is a better transient detection algorithm... But that is just my opinion
amagalma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2019, 10:21 AM   #13
Edgemeal
Human being with feelings
 
Edgemeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: ASU`ogacihC
Posts: 1,488
Default

Doesn't make much sense to code great features if the interface makes them a PITA to use!
$0.02
Edgemeal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2019, 10:28 AM   #14
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
bFooz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 1,193
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bFooz View Post
I have realized now, that the "Display threshold" checkboxes when placed above sliders in each frame are easily misidentified as on/off toggles of the detection itself.

So keeping them bellow sliders would be better.
__________________
Donations | Mixing & Mastering Services
bFooz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2019, 11:31 AM   #15
The-Zeronaut
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 234
Default

What I would give to be able to individually add or remove singular dynamic split markers with a simple mouse click...
The-Zeronaut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2019, 11:46 AM   #16
Reflected
Human being with feelings
 
Reflected's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,190
Default

is this a bug or what??

see I choose "edit selected CC events if any, otherwise draw/edit" for left mouse click @ the midi cc lane.
The option seems like a good option but it doesn't really work like this

I want that when I click near the velocity event in the velocity lane, the nearest event will be edited. that's all

the last thing that I would ever want is to move the edit cursor when clicky at the velocity lane! sooooo bugggyyyy annoooying.


see the gif:





ps- why the Midi cc lane is limited and we can't choose actions from the action list... this could solve so many issues.
__________________
Thanks devs for adding the abillity to use single click to change a single velocity And single right click to remove a single note without dragging.
much appreciated.
Reflected is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2019, 12:20 PM   #17
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,830
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reflected View Post
I want that when I click near the velocity event in the velocity lane, the nearest event will be edited. that's all
These options may help:
MIDI editor Options -> CC/Velocity lane -> DISable Edit CC/Velocity only when mouse is near event / ENable Show note length in velocity lane.
juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2019, 12:21 PM   #18
sinkmusic
Human being with feelings
 
sinkmusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: decepticon mothership in a hidden place inside a mountain
Posts: 3,376
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgemeal View Post
v5.983+dev1002 - October 2 2019
+ Dynamic split: add preset support
Wonderful !
sinkmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2019, 12:30 PM   #19
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,830
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgemeal View Post
v5.983+dev1002 - October 2 2019
Gate threshold is displayed in media item, good!

I suggest that the Preset button should be replaced by a dropdown list on top of the window, similar to FX windows.

Transient analysis is much faster than dev0928 (in which it practically froze REAPER), but still twice as slow as earlier versions. (It is actually faster to insert stretch markers manually.) I don't know how transient analysis is done, but would it be possible to speed it up -- and also to avoid lengthy re-analyses whenever a slight change in settings is made? (For example, perhaps the entire item can be analyzed at highest sensitivity in the background while waiting for the user, and all results stored, to be recalled quickly when a setting is changed.)
juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2019, 12:49 PM   #20
Reflected
Human being with feelings
 
Reflected's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,190
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by juliansader View Post
These options may help:
MIDI editor Options -> CC/Velocity lane -> DISable Edit CC/Velocity only when mouse is near event / ENable Show note length in velocity lane.
"Edit CC/Velocity only when mouse is near event" is already disabled.
still the same buggy issue.

btw I prefer that the default radius for event change by a click will be 1 cm from the back and 1 cm from the front of the each event.

if 2 events are very close o each other so the radius for editing by a click should be be half the way between the 2 events.

it works like a charm in flstudio this way.
__________________
Thanks devs for adding the abillity to use single click to change a single velocity And single right click to remove a single note without dragging.
much appreciated.
Reflected is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2019, 11:26 PM   #21
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,830
Default

When using "At transients" (but not when using "When gate opens"), Dynamic Split detects split points even when transient Threshold = 0.0dB and Sensitivity = 0%.

By itself, the action "Calculate transient guides" does not detect these points as transients.
juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2019, 04:21 AM   #22
Zeno
Human being with feelings
 
Zeno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Germany
Posts: 60
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amagalma View Post
Imho you all pay too much attention to the aesthetics and miss the point which, for me, is a better transient detection algorithm... But that is just my opinion
It's not about the aesthetics!
Let me try an allegory:

If you are in your studio thinking about the color of the walls, or if you choose the wood for your furniture "maybe oak or maybe mahogany?" - then it's about "aesthetics"!

What is repeatedly demanded here in the forum is that the cables get their own place and sorted by type and length. That the microphones are stored in the closet and are not lying around everywhere and that the studio is not completely garbed. We want a studio that is tidy and clean, so everyone can find their way around quickly.
Again and again somebody argues, "Reaper is complex, so you have to live with the bad structure, I prefer more features! Better features!"
Yes, more features are great! But what's the advantage of having the biggest and best gear collection if you have to constantly search for everything? Because everything is littered and messy?

the structure of the windows in reaper is like with poorly stocked bookshelves. Small books, big books ... some stand out further, some are farther back. Some are upside down. Will you find the book you are looking for? Yes, probably! But it is easier and faster to find it if the bookshelf is well sorted!

Last edited by Zeno; 10-04-2019 at 04:49 AM.
Zeno is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2019, 07:13 AM   #23
mespotine
Human being with feelings
 
mespotine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Leipzig, Germany
Posts: 1,681
Default

Looks like I should have a closer look for DynamicSplit. Looks like the recent changes would make it really helpful for my usecases
__________________
Ultraschall-API - a Lua-functions-library4Reaper: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread....98#post2067798
Reaper Internals - Developerdocs4Reaper: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=207635
mespotine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2019, 01:47 PM   #24
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,830
Default

Buglet in MIDI editor:

In recent dev versions, CC lanes in the MIDI editor can be maximized to the very top of the editor so that the piano roll is completely covered. When maximized like this, the mouse cannot grab the resize handles of the top CC lane border.

(Windows x64)

Last edited by juliansader; 10-07-2019 at 03:14 PM.
juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.