Old 06-18-2019, 11:19 AM   #1
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,833
Default v5.979+dev0618 - June 18 2019

v5.979+dev0618 - June 18 2019
  • + Envelopes: don't preserve relative differences between points when editing via action [t=222016]
  • + MIDI editor: improve hidpi/retina drawing
  • + Performance meter: improve win32 hidpi drawing
  • + Render: add option to render selected tracks via master
  • + Render: support $item and $track wildcards when rendering selected media items via master
  • + Splash screen: improve win32 HiDPI
  • + Toolbars: improve hidpi/retina sizing (including editor and icon picker)
  • + UI scaling: apply advanced preference scaling changes immediately
  • + UI scaling: fix theme rendering bugs when using custom scaling
  • + Windows: HiDPI display improvements (auto-rescale more UI when running HiDPI aware)
  • + macOS: retina display improvements (retina display of arrange, ruler, MIDI editor, etc)
  • # JSFX: embedded hidpi support
  • # MIDI editor: snap inserted points to existing CC segment if nearby
  • # ReaComp: fix memory leak in embed mode, hidpi
  • # ReaEQ: retina support, retina embed support
  • # ReaFIR: retina drawing, embed
  • # ReaSurround HiDPI
  • # ReaXcomp retina support
  • # plugin embedding: improve retina/hidpi support
# note: on macOS you use a hidpi theme such as default_5.0_hidpi or default 6.0 alpha then embedded plugin UIs should render in retina

This thread is for pre-release features discussion. Use the Feature Requests forum for other requests.

Changelog - Pre-Releases

Generated by X-Raym's REAPER ChangeLog to BBCode
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: True Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2019, 12:11 PM   #2
mustgroove
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 450
Default

Quote:
+ Render: add option to render selected tracks via master
Amazing, thanks for this!

Also excited to try the various retina improvements.
mustgroove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2019, 12:13 PM   #3
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,833
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mustgroove View Post
Also excited to try the various retina improvements.
Do it, just do it.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: True Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2019, 12:13 PM   #4
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 15,110
Default

nice... ever onward... even by drops the bucket is filled
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2019, 12:16 PM   #5
mustgroove
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 450
Default

Getting some weird ghosting when drawing new MIDI items on a fresh track in a fresh project:

Ugh I can't embed this for some reason but here is the actual imgur link: https://imgur.com/WKdrJj6
mustgroove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2019, 12:21 PM   #6
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,833
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mustgroove View Post
Getting some weird ghosting when drawing new MIDI items on a fresh track in a fresh project:

Ugh I can't embed this for some reason but here is the actual imgur link: https://imgur.com/WKdrJj6
I believe they test a new area selection feature.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: True Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2019, 12:35 PM   #7
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,578
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mustgroove View Post
Getting some weird ghosting when drawing new MIDI items on a fresh track in a fresh project:

Ugh I can't embed this for some reason but here is the actual imgur link: https://imgur.com/WKdrJj6
System and display specs? Can you email your reaper.ini to support at cockos dot com? Thanks!
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2019, 05:20 PM   #8
mustgroove
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 450
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
System and display specs? Can you email your reaper.ini to support at cockos dot com? Thanks!
iMac Pro, using built-in display, Vega 64 graphics, running Mojave 10.14.5

Emailing the reaper.ini now
mustgroove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2019, 07:35 PM   #9
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,578
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mustgroove View Post
iMac Pro, using built-in display, Vega 64 graphics, running Mojave 10.14.5

Emailing the reaper.ini now
Thanks, should be fixed in the next build!
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2019, 03:14 AM   #10
mccrabney
Human being with feelings
 
mccrabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Obtoose, U.S.A.
Posts: 2,090
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mustgroove View Post
Ugh I can't embed this for some reason but here is the actual imgur link: https://imgur.com/WKdrJj6
imgur inexplicably removed the ".gif" from their bbcode link generator so now you have to put it in manually. it's stupid.
__________________
░ using REAPER as host/arranger/sequencer to write instrumental beat music.
░ striving for a loop-based, controller-centric midi recording/editing workflow.
can't see what midi is selected when using "color by track"
mccrabney is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2019, 04:40 AM   #11
mccrabney
Human being with feelings
 
mccrabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Obtoose, U.S.A.
Posts: 2,090
Default

regarding laggy GUI - here's an anecdote i hope is on topic.

i experience much greater lag when using (one midi editor per project / open all midi in project / all midi visible, other tracks at 2 opacity).

if i instead show only the single track midi, i don't get the same lag.

this rears its head once the rpp grows more complex. for reference, i experience this with ~8 midi tracks containing single channel midi items containing non-outrageous, often monophonic melody lines with the occasional pitchbend/cc movements.

unfortunately, the scenario of a complex project is precisely where seeing all project midi is helpful - but this is when the UI lag occurs. i'm lucky that most of my songs are nearing completion at around the time when this UI lag starts being a problem.
__________________
░ using REAPER as host/arranger/sequencer to write instrumental beat music.
░ striving for a loop-based, controller-centric midi recording/editing workflow.
can't see what midi is selected when using "color by track"
mccrabney is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2019, 05:25 AM   #12
Futur8me
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 317
Default

Working and looking loads better on my 5k iMac now, it is heaven not looking at blurry text etc now))), I really hope that you can make the movement of the playhead smoother please!.


Also when I click on the monitor fx up in the top right it will not open at all.. I have to go to the view menu to open monitor fx.

Thanks.
.

.
__________________
5K Imac - 4.2Ghz i7 Skylake, 8GB Ram, AMD R9 M395X, 256 SSD, Apogee Duet USB, macOS 10.14.5.
Futur8me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2019, 05:14 AM   #13
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,836
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mccrabney View Post
regarding laggy GUI - here's an anecdote i hope is on topic.

i experience much greater lag when using (one midi editor per project / open all midi in project / all midi visible, other tracks at 2 opacity).

if i instead show only the single track midi, i don't get the same lag.

this rears its head once the rpp grows more complex. for reference, i experience this with ~8 midi tracks containing single channel midi items containing non-outrageous, often monophonic melody lines with the occasional pitchbend/cc movements.

unfortunately, the scenario of a complex project is precisely where seeing all project midi is helpful - but this is when the UI lag occurs. i'm lucky that most of my songs are nearing completion at around the time when this UI lag starts being a problem.
Strangely, the MIDI editor got much slower since v5.00: MIDI editor: Recent versions get unnecessarily bogged down if multiple takes visible.

The MIDI editor's equivalent of hidden or muted tracks taking up CPU, is that
* MIDI items with multiple takes bog down the editor terribly, even though these non-active takes are not visible in the editor (or even in arrange), and are obviously not being edited. They do not need to be re-analyzed and re-drawn in any way.
* Similarly, the MIDI editor gets bogged down by MIDI items that are editable but do not have visible MIDI in either the editor or the arrange view.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Breeder View Post
But most of the interface is hidden both in arrange and mixer, it's not like it's all rendering to screen simultaneously - there must be optimizations like that in the code. God knows what it is, I hope they figure it out
REAPER is renowned for its highly efficient and optimized audio engine. I hope that the same skills will be applied to the GUI -- and the MIDI editor:
* Takes that haven't been changed, should not be re-analyzed, and only mimimal re-drawing of the MIDI data should performed, if any MIDI data is visible in the editor.
* Takes that have no MIDI data visible in the MIDI editor, should not have any effect on the MIDI editor's responsiveness.
juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2019, 12:17 PM   #14
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,634
Default

My question for devs is: considering HiDPI support and the need to calculate more and more pixels for bigger and bigger monitors... how about introducing GPU acceleration to Reaper, so that running a project with 100s of tracks doesn't become impossible to use because GUI becomes way too sluggish because it's calculated by the CPU?

How about some optimizations in that direction?
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2019, 12:20 PM   #15
mustgroove
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 450
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
My question for the devs is: considering HiDPI support and the need to calculate more and more pixels for bigger and bigger monitors... how about introducing GPU acceleration to Reaper, so that running a project with 100s of tracks doesn't become impossible to use because GUI becomes way too sluggish because it's calculated by the CPU?

How about some optimizations in that direction?
This build actually improves the Retina-mode GUI sluggishness I've been experiencing for many many releases now on my iMac Pro. I've been forced to run Reaper in Low Res mode to get the UI to not be unusably sluggish, but this build is a huge improvement in Retina mode.
mustgroove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2019, 01:48 PM   #16
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,634
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mustgroove View Post
This build actually improves the Retina-mode GUI sluggishness I've been experiencing for many many releases now on my iMac Pro. I've been forced to run Reaper in Low Res mode to get the UI to not be unusably sluggish, but this build is a huge improvement in Retina mode.
The issue also happens for non-HiDPI users. Large number of tracks bogs down the response of the UI considerably, sometimes to the point of unusable. GUI accelleration would help here, and relieve the load from the CPU. Both HiDPI and non-HiDPI users would benefit...
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2019, 02:00 PM   #17
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,578
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
The issue also happens for non-HiDPI users. Large number of tracks bogs down the response of the UI considerably, sometimes to the point of unusable. GUI accelleration would help here, and relieve the load from the CPU. Both HiDPI and non-HiDPI users would benefit...
I might be wrong but I don't think rendering of pixels is the expensive part, usually the slowness comes from getting peaks data from disk etc. (a good test would be to try disabling peaks display in the prefs and see how that helps).
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2019, 03:07 PM   #18
srdmusic
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 619
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
The issue also happens for non-HiDPI users. Large number of tracks bogs down the response of the UI considerably, sometimes to the point of unusable. GUI accelleration would help here, and relieve the load from the CPU. Both HiDPI and non-HiDPI users would benefit...
You are totally right about the HiDPI version. Processing video and even track counts around the 300+ are starting to really take down my system. I have a 48 core 3.0Ghz machine. If the gui and video are taking down my machine, then laptops and most desktops don't stand a chance. This is really easy to avoid if we as users were allow to choose what's processed on the GPU and not on the CPU.
srdmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2019, 01:06 PM   #19
DANIELE
Human being with feelings
 
DANIELE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Florence, Italy
Posts: 362
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
My question for devs is: considering HiDPI support and the need to calculate more and more pixels for bigger and bigger monitors... how about introducing GPU acceleration to Reaper, so that running a project with 100s of tracks doesn't become impossible to use because GUI becomes way too sluggish because it's calculated by the CPU?

How about some optimizations in that direction?
I quote this.
__________________
Audio: AKG-K240 MKII, Adam A7X, Audient iD22 - Steinberg UR22; Piano: Yamaha P-250 - NI S88 MK1;
!!DANIELE EPIC ORCHESTRAL MUSIC!! |*| STAR WARS SERIES
DANIELE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2019, 05:21 PM   #20
Klangfarben
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 794
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
My question for devs is: considering HiDPI support and the need to calculate more and more pixels for bigger and bigger monitors... how about introducing GPU acceleration to Reaper, so that running a project with 100s of tracks doesn't become impossible to use because GUI becomes way too sluggish because it's calculated by the CPU?

How about some optimizations in that direction?
+1000
Klangfarben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2019, 10:45 AM   #21
jacques mk2
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: France
Posts: 135
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
My question for devs is: considering HiDPI support and the need to calculate more and more pixels for bigger and bigger monitors... how about introducing GPU acceleration to Reaper, so that running a project with 100s of tracks doesn't become impossible to use because GUI becomes way too sluggish because it's calculated by the CPU?

How about some optimizations in that direction?
I totally agree.

Until a real solution is found out regarding this problem, I have to work with another daw...a pity...
__________________
Reaper's community rocks...
jacques mk2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2019, 03:03 PM   #22
srdmusic
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 619
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
My question for devs is: considering HiDPI support and the need to calculate more and more pixels for bigger and bigger monitors... how about introducing GPU acceleration to Reaper, so that running a project with 100s of tracks doesn't become impossible to use because GUI becomes way too sluggish because it's calculated by the CPU?

How about some optimizations in that direction?
I couldn't agree more. I understand the initial need for Reaper to control everything that that the CPU is doing. This is useful on slower machines where it might cause audio glitches to be sending calls the the GPU. However, for systems with even slightly powerful graphics cards there should be an option to process the GUI, Plugin windows and video on the GPU instead of the CPU. This is such an untapped power resource and I can't really think of a good reason why this shouldn't an option.
srdmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2019, 01:48 PM   #23
Mordi
Human being with feelings
 
Mordi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 568
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitalker View Post
[*]+ Render: add option to render selected tracks via master
Awesome! Now we're only missing the same feature for regions, which would be killer.
Mordi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2019, 01:53 PM   #24
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,379
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mordi View Post
Awesome! Now we're only missing the same feature for regions, which would be killer.
You can currently render selected tracks, within selected regions, via the master, or not via the master. And of course you can just render the master within selected regions.

Adding support to the region render matrix so you could render different sets of tracks within different regions via the master or not via the master gets kind of complicated!

Last edited by schwa; 06-18-2019 at 02:08 PM.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2019, 02:06 PM   #25
timothys_monster
Human being with feelings
 
timothys_monster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 844
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mordi View Post
Awesome! Now we're only missing the same feature for regions, which would be killer.
So, you want to render a region without the Master FX chain?
timothys_monster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2019, 06:13 PM   #26
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Just outside of Glacier National Park
Posts: 12,680
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitalker View Post
v5.979+dev0618 - June 18 2019[*]# MIDI editor: snap inserted points to existing CC segment if nearby
thank you much, this is working perfectly.
__________________
Kontakt Vid Tutorials->Create Outputs / Create Templates -|- SMDrums Free drums -|- Elk Video Productions -|- Tod's Music
Tod is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2019, 05:39 AM   #27
Soli Deo Gloria
Human being with feelings
 
Soli Deo Gloria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Posts: 916
Default

Hi!

Plugins┤TCP controls look awful and confusing right now :

v5.79+dev0618 :



The plugin┤s alias is "VOL 36". You can easily see that it looks as "VOL 360.0" in this dev release.


Up until v5.79, things looked much clearer :



(No HiDPI, by the way)


This is surely an easy one to fix...


Thanks in advance!
Soli Deo Gloria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2019, 06:05 AM   #28
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,578
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soli Deo Gloria View Post
Hi!

Plugins┤TCP controls look awful and confusing right now :
Thanks, fixing!
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2019, 06:37 AM   #29
mustgroove
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 450
Default

With the retina changes & improvements here I'm hopeful the GUI lag situation can be addressed in a major way, here's some observations from my setup:


- On my iMac Pro with Vega 64 graphics (which has tons of power), Reaper has extreme GUI lag. One solution is to run it in Low Res mode, the other solution is to switch the colour profile of the display to sRGB IEC61966-2.1 in System Preferences. The colour profile fix apparently fixes GUI lag in other apps which exhibit similar GUI lag.

Also, Voxengo have been updating their plugins with Retina GUI support, but their older non-Retina versions exhibited the same extreme lag on my iMac Pro, and the new Retina updates seem to have fixed it completely.

- On my MacBook Pro, Reaper is fine. No need to switch to Low Res mode or use a different colour profile, and the non-Retina Voxengo plugins never had an issue.


So there's definitely something specific to iMacs / iMac Pros with 5K screens where somehow GUI lag seems connected to a lack of a full Retina GUI implementation. Just adding that alone seems to fix the problem.

I'm definitely all for GPU acceleration in Reaper too, I guess the question is how to do that in a cross-platform way given OpenGL's deprecation on Mac.
mustgroove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2019, 09:17 AM   #30
JHughes
Human being with feelings
 
JHughes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Too close to Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,508
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mustgroove View Post
I'm definitely all for GPU acceleration in Reaper too, I guess the question is how to do that in a cross-platform way given OpenGL's deprecation on Mac.
Vulkan is cross-platform. I don't know how it relates to 2D though.
__________________
You can only Reverse, Switch, Invert or Flip POLARITY, not "PHASE".
JHughes is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.