Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > newbieland

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-19-2021, 05:00 PM   #1
TekRiFFs
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Posts: 1
Default Can I plug a Multi-FX guitar pedal into my interface?

Hi - Thank you for letting me post this question.. “Would I be able to plug a Boss ME-70 Multi-Effects Pedal (powered by the wall outlet) into my interface into my DAW (Reaper) before an IR loader? ..would I need a Loadbox and a DI box too?” Thank you in advance.
TekRiFFs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2021, 07:50 PM   #2
DVDdoug
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 2,400
Default

If the interface has a guitar input you should be good to go. If not you'll need a DI box.
DVDdoug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2021, 08:55 AM   #3
ashcat_lt
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 6,090
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DVDdoug View Post
If not you'll need a DI box.
False. The output impedance of the pedal is plenty low to drive a line input. I often actually plug pedals into mic pres even without any noticeable issues. The line input might be a bit less hot than an instrument input could be, but if it doesn’t have a gain control on the interface, you can just turn it up in the box.
ashcat_lt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2021, 03:57 PM   #4
DrKev
Human being with feelings
 
DrKev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 230
Default

The output impedance of the ME-70 is 2kΩ, so ideally the input impedance of whatever it is plugged into should be a minimum of 10kΩ. BUT the input impedance of the mic inputs of most audio interfaces is usually in the 1kΩ to 4kΩ range. That wll cause high frequency loss.

A Line input would be better (often in the 10kΩ region?), but instrument or guitar input (usually 1MΩ or more) would be best.

IF high frequency loss is a problem and you have no instrument input a buffered bypass guitar pedal with a lower output impedance (e.g. my MXR M300 reverb has a 100Ω output impedance which is ideal) OR a DI box would solve the issue.
__________________
Irishman in Paris

Musician / Guitar Teacher/ Guitar Tech / ex-Physicist (hence the Dr in DrKev)
DrKev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2021, 08:53 AM   #5
ashcat_lt
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 6,090
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrKev View Post
The output impedance of the ME-70 is 2kΩ... That wll cause high frequency loss.
First I’d guess that spec to be a little conservative, second it’s going to be mostly resistive but also capacitive so you’re more likely to have broadband attenuation with some possible loss of low frequencies, and third like I said I do these things all the time. Yes an instrument input might be nominally better. It’ll definitely be louder. A line input should work fine, though, and a passive DI is not the best answer in any case. It certainly can’t hurt anything either way, so plug it in and try it.
ashcat_lt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.