Old 12-11-2010, 03:48 PM   #41
carbon
Human being with feelings
 
carbon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Eesti
Posts: 2,408
Default

Actually at the moment I think we could get rid of the main/floating toolbar differentiation - the main toolbar could just be one additional tab of the floating/docked toolbar.
__________________
KasparTORN
carbon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2010, 03:57 PM   #42
Kundalinguist
Human being with feelings
 
Kundalinguist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,588
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gofer View Post
Ah, I forgot about the toggle (F is anything to do with fades here). ....
I know. Creating personalized logical workflow commands is an art form in itself.
__________________
Success is just one more plugin away! And happiness is as close as your next upgrade.
Kundalinguist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2010, 07:40 PM   #43
Shan
Human being with feelings
 
Shan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 2,277
Default

I'll have to add my voice to this chant of more dockability in REAPER.

Shane
__________________
"Music should be performed by the musician not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

Last edited by Shan; 12-12-2010 at 01:12 PM.
Shan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2010, 07:01 AM   #44
Lô-
Human being with feelings
 
Lô-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Genève CH
Posts: 117
Default

Oh yes please! More docker, at least 1 more to the left?
That will be a top notch feature for V4...
__________________
loprod.net mon repaire...
Lô- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 05:40 PM   #45
RBowlin
Human being with feelings
 
RBowlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 499
Default

Good to see we now have a dockable floating toolbar in Alpha 11. Thanks Cockos! I'm hoping the talk and support around that change will serve as encouragement to Cockos to creat new docable areas, such as the left of the TCP. How great would it be to be able to dock a track list /Track Manager there?

-Rich
RBowlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 06:01 PM   #46
Eyes
Human being with feelings
 
Eyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,012
Default

+1 to more dockability (is that a word?!?)

With the way the alpha is progressing it seems logical the GUI will allow this sort of thing soon.
Eyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 06:11 PM   #47
karl
Human being with feelings
 
karl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sheffield, England
Posts: 486
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eyes View Post
+1 to more dockability (is that a word?!?)
No, I think the word is "dockerisable"

Last edited by karl; 12-13-2010 at 07:16 PM.
karl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 06:25 PM   #48
andrew_k
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 42
Default

It would be nice to have options under Preferences to enable different areas of the UI for dockerabiliterisationism (I'm pretty sure you will find this is actually the word). Then moving any window that can be docked within the UI would cause docking elements, cf. the attached screenshots, to appear. The difference with the screenshots is only those areas that have docking enabled under Preferences would have the docking tabs visible.
Attached Images
File Type: png Screenshot1.png (62.7 KB, 215 views)
File Type: png Screenshot2.png (63.2 KB, 226 views)

Last edited by andrew_k; 12-13-2010 at 08:19 PM.
andrew_k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 07:28 PM   #49
summer2000
Human being with feelings
 
summer2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Location:
Posts: 256
Default

I would love Reaper even more if we had an option to dock the "Docker" on the left or right side of the track view a la Sonar X1. That's how I prefer to browse the media explorer and plugins. I don't really like it at the bottom.

Reaper 4 is getting better and better with every new alpha release. Keep up the good work devs.
__________________
HARD: OpenLabs Neko LX5 Workstation * Win7 x64 16GB RAM Upgrade * Logitech G11
SOFT: Reaper 4 * Studio One 2 Pro * Melodyne Editor 2 * Reason 7
summer2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2010, 07:34 AM   #50
RBowlin
Human being with feelings
 
RBowlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 499
Default

I just thought I'd finish up my comments on this thread: Nice job Cockos. I asked for more dockability and BAM! we got more dockability.
As so many other users have stated coming from other DAWs, the Cockos method of development just leaves you stunned.

I know this post comes at the end of a long line of posts, and probably won't get read, but thanks Justin and crew.

-Rich
RBowlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2011, 09:32 PM   #51
brainwreck
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 20,843
Default

I've been away from the forum for a few days, looking forward to checking out the new dockable stuff. Thanks Cockos.
__________________
It's time to take a stand against the synthesizer.
brainwreck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 04:05 AM   #52
PhilR
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Nottingham, England
Posts: 41
Default

I'll also add my voice to the mix. The ability to have multiple dock containers with left/right/top/bottom docking options would be very useful for people running multi-screen setups.
PhilR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 05:21 AM   #53
Lastrite
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 292
Default

Then you will be happy to hear that this is possible since the last alpha
Lastrite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 07:11 AM   #54
brainwreck
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 20,843
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Susceptor View Post
Besides this... splittable docks.
I'd love to have the mixer, routing & grouping in the bottom (switchable) and track manager, performance and undo history on the left, at the same time (for example...)

So more docks with splittable options.

Also, make the sequencer dockable (just a thought)...
This is a very good idea, I think. Some things that only need 1/3 to 1/2 of the horizontal screen space could be sitting side by side, without the need to tab through.
__________________
It's time to take a stand against the synthesizer.
brainwreck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 08:52 AM   #55
AdamWathan
Human being with feelings
 
AdamWathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cambridge, Ontario
Posts: 2,644
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brainwreck View Post
This is a very good idea, I think. Some things that only need 1/3 to 1/2 of the horizontal screen space could be sitting side by side, without the need to tab through.
Latest alpha gents, tada!

AdamWathan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 10:38 AM   #56
brainwreck
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 20,843
Default

Awesome.....ctrl/click/drag....I think.
__________________
It's time to take a stand against the synthesizer.
brainwreck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 12:47 PM   #57
bennisixx
Human being with feelings
 
bennisixx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: the woods, Arkansas
Posts: 1,063
Default

this is simply a tidiness suggestion, and I know docks are in their infancy.

simple thin borders.could even place tabs in borders, but that could be too much.


bennisixx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 01:00 PM   #58
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 15,150
Default

I thought borders would be good at first but have changed my mind... without them I get a cleaner look and I know where to drag to change sizes... I hope if borders get done they are only an option and not a forced thing.

Mark Twain: "Never eat at a place called Mom's, Never sleep with a woman who has more troubles than you have, and NEVER, EVER do DAW layouts with a man named Doc Ablity."
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 01:57 PM   #59
Bernstraw
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 388
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hopi View Post
I thought borders would be good at first but have changed my mind... without them I get a cleaner look and I know where to drag to change sizes... I hope if borders get done they are only an option and not a forced thing.
The borders are already there : it's the 6 or 7 pixels wide areas used to resize dockers.
Their color is the same as the main window.
So yes, please let us have a png to draw these areas.
Without it in your theme, the default color would apply, like other graphical elements.
Here's another mockup with themed borders (6 pixels) :
[IMG]http://img3.**************/img3/1722/docks3.th.png[/IMG]

Also we need visual feedback when dragging tabs from docker to docker.
A border with 2 states (normal/highlighted border) would tell you where you're about to drop your tab.
__________________
JS plugin : Vmorph
V4 theme : GrayMatter
Bernstraw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 02:05 PM   #60
bennisixx
Human being with feelings
 
bennisixx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: the woods, Arkansas
Posts: 1,063
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bernstraw View Post
The borders are already there : it's the 6 or 7 pixels wide areas used to resize dockers.
Their color is the same as the main window.
So yes, please let us have a png to draw these areas.
Without it in your theme, the default color would apply, like other graphical elements.
Here's another mockup with themed borders (6 pixels) :
[IMG]http://img3.**************/img3/1722/docks3.th.png[/IMG]

Also we need visual feedback when dragging tabs from docker to docker.
A border with 2 states (normal/highlighted border) would tell you where you're about to drop your tab.
beautiful, I should have stated "contrasting borders"
much better work than me.


ben
bennisixx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 02:14 PM   #61
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 15,150
Default

ah... nice looking png...

I have my dockers and main color all set the same so my look is seamless.. which I prefer to seeing all those rectangles... I do have a very slight color diff between them so I get a very small visual separation. But I'd be fine with yet another png.
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 07:57 AM   #62
Subz
Human being with feelings
 
Subz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 2,966
Default

Dock the Midi Filter dialog to the midi editor anyone?

Subz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 01:08 PM   #63
chriscomfort
Human being with feelings
 
chriscomfort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,735
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Subz View Post
Dock the Midi Filter dialog to the midi editor anyone?

Ahhh nice. And I think that would get us half way to that FR of accessing selecting from multiple MIDI items in a single editor window.
__________________
http://chriscomfortmusic.com
chriscomfort is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 06:15 PM   #64
zappa
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 427
Default

Sorry if this has already been mentioned above, but can I plug for multiple windows supporting docking like the main window. It becomes very flexible esp. for multi-screen setups. For me, that's most of what's missing from the docking options, aside from some detail spit and polish (like differing close behaviour for floating and docked panels eg)

z.
__________________
http://www.droppingknowledge.org
"There are no stupid questions, only stupid answers" - anon.

Please check my (recently reopened) Normalisation bugrep and confirm, thanks!

Last edited by zappa; 01-04-2011 at 06:21 PM.
zappa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.