Old 02-25-2015, 06:40 AM   #1
AdrianStovold
Human being with feelings

Default Saying hello, sharing a couple of tracks

Hi all,

Glad I found this forum, and am enjoying hearing what other Reaper users are making.

My name is Adrian Stovold, and my background is as a keyboard and bass player. I've been writing my own songs for a while, but they haven't been performed live, and it's only comparatively recently that I've started trying to record them with a view to making them available for others to hear. These days I work exclusively in Reaper, with just a few free VST instruments for company. I'm only just starting to learn how to create a mix, so have drawn on help from a friend to create my first couple of recorded tracks:

https://soundcloud.com/adrian-stovold/ontario
https://soundcloud.com/adrian-stovol...es-and-princes

I'm trying to decide the best way forward with my music, and am asking myself questions like these:
  • What genre of music am I writing? When people ask me to describe it, I struggle, which doesn't help when I'm trying to decide what tags or categories to use when uploading the tracks, e.g. to SoundCloud.
  • I hope that there are people out there somewhere who would like my songs (once I've polished the sound a little), but I don't yet know who they are or how to reach them. How do I go about finding listeners?
  • Should I be looking to collaborate with other musicians? For example, I enjoy the songwriting process much more than the recording/mixing process, and would rather concentrate on the former. Also, would it help raise my profile if the songs were also being performed live? I'm happy standing at the back of the stage bashing a keyboard (was in a covers band for several years), but would probably want to bring in a more accomplished and charismatic performer type to be the main vocalist (think 80s synth-pop duo!).