Old 05-27-2011, 04:53 AM   #1
Valle
Human being with feelings
 
Valle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 644
Default Optional per item dB Scale

I would love to see this feature in REAPER.

- Per item
- Customizable in preferences (as with VU Meters/Faders)
- Themeable (color, fonts, dashed/dotted/solid lines...)

Vote: http://forum.cockos.com/project.php?issueid=3369

__________________
FR (2011): Optional per item dB Scale @ [showthread.php?t=80944]
.
Valenzia Vision

Last edited by Valle; 05-27-2011 at 09:54 AM.
Valle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 03:46 AM   #2
IXix
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: mcr:uk
Posts: 3,414
Default

Bump! Voted. Would be very useful.
IXix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 04:20 AM   #3
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,888
Default

This would be extremely useful to see where the peaks are - much easier to set the compressor threshold, for example.

Voted!
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 05:08 AM   #4
Marko Schoen
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 26
Default

yes, great feature. Voted!

Greetings, Marko
Marko Schoen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 04:48 AM   #5
PopSong
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 20
Default

Great idea here are some thoughts.

1)It would be cool if it could also be pinned to the left edge of the item arrange area, as well as per item.

2)I dont know how scaling would work.
At small heights it could disappear, at medium have 3 displays like in your pic (-3dB -6dB -12dB) and at large heights have 6(?) display levels.

voted
PopSong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 10:50 AM   #6
IXix
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: mcr:uk
Posts: 3,414
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PopSong View Post
Great idea here are some thoughts.

1)It would be cool if it could also be pinned to the left edge of the item arrange area, as well as per item.

2)I dont know how scaling would work.
At small heights it could disappear, at medium have 3 displays like in your pic (-3dB -6dB -12dB) and at large heights have 6(?) display levels.
Yeah, to be honest I think it'd be better if it were just displayed on the right edge of the TCP instead of per item. Per item could make the display a bit cluttered. Perhaps an action could cycle through, no scale, TCP scale and item scale?

As far as scaling goes, it would have to automatically adjust itself to the track/lane height and the peak display gain. I have evey confidence that our awesome devs could come up with a good solution.
IXix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 06:52 AM   #7
Valle
Human being with feelings
 
Valle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 644
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IXix View Post
Yeah, to be honest I think it'd be better if it were just displayed on the right edge of the TCP instead of per item.
It wouldn't make any sense in FIPM, though.
__________________
FR (2011): Optional per item dB Scale @ [showthread.php?t=80944]
.
Valenzia Vision
Valle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 07:08 AM   #8
IXix
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: mcr:uk
Posts: 3,414
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Valle View Post
It wouldn't make any sense in FIPM, though.
True, hadn't thought of that.
IXix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 11:34 AM   #9
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5,698
Default

I can see this getting VERY cluttered and confusing when looking at more than a few tracks, or if there are many edits on a track. I would love this with the following conditions:

* disappears when track height is less than medium.
* disappears when horizontal zoom is less than 30s (or some number) Less detail as you zoom out.
* not active when take lanes are shown or in Free item positioning mode.
* auto appears when adjusting item gain, disappears on release.
* scale adjusts with waveform zoom and track height.
* momentary toggle button to show dB scale on all items, overriding all other variables besides lanes and FIPM.

This is something you'd likely use while zoomed in fairly close so we don't want it getting in the way any other time.
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 11:45 AM   #10
superhawk
Human being with feelings
 
superhawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: STUCK ON EARTH, USA
Posts: 264
Default

I says yeah.
__________________
*************************************
Ugly enough to be a member of Mensa
superhawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 03:08 PM   #11
IXix
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: mcr:uk
Posts: 3,414
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EpicSounds View Post
This is something you'd likely use while zoomed in fairly close so we don't want it getting in the way any other time.
Exactly, but I don't think it needs so many conditions. I'd say just hide the scale if an item is less than certain height and allow users to set their own visibility threshold.
IXix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2018, 10:44 AM   #12
whutuneed
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 21
Default

+1 for this one
whutuneed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2018, 11:10 AM   #13
Gass n Klang
Human being with feelings
 
Gass n Klang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Detmold - Germany
Posts: 612
Default

nice one !
Gass n Klang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2018, 10:38 PM   #14
kainkrup
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 2
Default

+1 for this
kainkrup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2018, 05:42 AM   #15
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
bFooz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 1,215
Default

+1 from me
__________________
Donations | Mixing & Mastering Services
bFooz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2018, 07:48 AM   #16
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 6,550
Default

+1, though given the age of the thread I wouldn't get your hopes up.

Would definitely benefit from having a bunch of settings, such as "only on the item I'm mousing over", "only if the item is taller than X pixels", etc.
Lokasenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2018, 08:00 AM   #17
ashcat_lt
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,649
Default

It really does get weird if you're showing Take lanes. Each Take (or at least the active one?)needs its own for it to make any sense, and this won't necessarily align with adjacent items.

If we're cool with that, though, we might as well throw in a request for per-item Peak gain.
ashcat_lt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2018, 01:32 AM   #18
Valle
Human being with feelings
 
Valle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 644
Default

I agree about the risk that the feature can be cluttery or confusing if used/implemented inconsistently and that the feature should only be visible (and redrawn) in certain conditions, like some suggestions above.

I had almost forgotten about this FR, but I still hope for it to be implemented. I think my request was somewhat inspired by Samplitude’s internal object [=item] wave editor, where you could customize those lines, its measurement levels and units. Very useful.
__________________
FR (2011): Optional per item dB Scale @ [showthread.php?t=80944]
.
Valenzia Vision
Valle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2018, 04:04 AM   #19
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,869
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lokasenna View Post
+1, though given the age of the thread I wouldn't get your hopes up.
The same we could say about Automation items, ARA, VCA, VST3, Notation editor, native Linux builds(official) etc. Should I continue my list?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: True Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2018, 06:11 AM   #20
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 6,550
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitalker View Post
The same we could say about Automation items, ARA, VCA, VST3, Notation editor, native Linux builds(official) etc. Should I continue my list?
Let's talk again in two years and see.
Lokasenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2018, 06:11 AM   #21
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,869
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lokasenna View Post
Let's talk again in two years and see.
Let's talk after 6.0 will be released.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: True Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2018, 04:08 PM   #22
svijayrathinam
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 563
Default

+1. Totally. I would love to see this
svijayrathinam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2019, 12:10 PM   #23
JonnyVoiceguy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 10
Default Yes. Voted +

With voiceover editing I relied on this feature in Audacity to help locate sounds/breathes that were otherwise invisible on a standard waveform. I still find myself rendering as a WAV and doing final edit work with audacity just for this feature

Please AD!
JonnyVoiceguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2019, 11:34 PM   #24
YuriOl
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: lugansk
Posts: 42
Default

+1 for this
YuriOl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2019, 03:11 AM   #25
uksnowy
Human being with feelings
 
uksnowy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: 6950 DK
Posts: 480
Default

+1 for this
__________________
REAPING HAVOC SINCE 2008
uksnowy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2019, 04:09 AM   #26
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 18,196
Default

Indeed, but while I've been waiting, I use an Analyzer FX with a time-graph. For example, MeldaProduction's MAnalyzer (in the "FreeFX" bundle):

https://www.meldaproduction.com/MFreeFXBundle



Here I have set the red guidelines to -3, -6, -12 and -23 dB. And the grey line (click on the graph) lets me see that the fourth hit is at about -32 dB.
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2019, 10:49 AM   #27
johntinnin
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 2
Default per item db scale

would love to see this added
johntinnin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2019, 05:59 AM   #28
Ericson
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 21
Default

me too!
Ericson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.