Old 12-13-2019, 01:54 PM   #1
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,862
Default v6.01+dev1213 - December 13 2019

v6.01+dev1213 - December 13 2019
  • + MIDI editor: add option to prevent mouse edits of single CC events from moving past other CC events
  • + MIDI editor: use slightly smaller font size for drawing project markers/regions [p=2216700]
  • + macOS: experimental option to allow dark mode on 10.14+ (in preferences/general/advanced)
  • # MIDI editor: add options to color unselected note body and/or border by theme color when using track or media item colors
  • # macOS: fix text field drawing in Dark mode (with dark mode manually enabled)
This thread is for pre-release features discussion. Use the Feature Requests forum for other requests.

Changelog - Pre-Releases

Generated by X-Raym's REAPER ChangeLog to BBCode
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: True Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2019, 02:10 PM   #2
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,623
Default

Oops, mac builds are completely broken, making dev1213a for those
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2019, 02:38 PM   #3
Dimson
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 162
Default

Fix please the colors of the toolbar

Snap grid Enable:

Snap grid Disable:


They hardly differ. It is very hindering the workflow.
On other skins, the contrast of the toolbar is also broken.
Mostly because of this, I still use Reaper 5
Dimson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2019, 02:48 PM   #4
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,623
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dimson View Post
Fix please the colors of the toolbar

Snap grid Enable:

Snap grid Disable:


They hardly differ. It is very hindering the workflow.
On other skins, the contrast of the toolbar is also broken.
Mostly because of this, I still use Reaper 5
I'll look into the color differences between 5 and 6 (might be the composition mode/order of the overlay image), but those two snap states look pretty different to me?
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2019, 02:50 PM   #5
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,826
Default

It only seems to happen on the Main toolbar, not any others.




Here you can clearly see that the pressed state of the buttons in the Main toolbar are darker. This is regardless of which icons are being used.
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2019, 03:06 PM   #6
PhelixK
Human being with feelings
 
PhelixK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 164
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Oops, mac builds are completely broken, making dev1213a for those
Quote:
# macOS: fix text field drawing in Dark mode (with dark mode manually enabled)
1213a is up and running here, renaming track/mixer titles works as expected here, and black control knobs/value text is fine now

Quote:
+ macOS: experimental option to allow dark mode on 10.14+ (in preferences/general/advanced)
Also this is working fine. First I deactivated the terminal hack, then switched on the feature inside Reaper prefs, and finally restarted the DAW.

thank you!
PhelixK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2019, 03:10 PM   #7
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,623
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhelixK View Post
1213a is up and running here, renaming track/mixer titles works as expected here, and black control knobs/value text is fine now

Also this is working fine. First I deactivated the terminal hack, then switched on the feature inside Reaper prefs, and finally restarted the DAW.

thank you!
The terminal hack is the exact same thing that that option does (it changes the same setting)
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2019, 03:11 PM   #8
Dimson
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 162
Default



When pressed, the button becomes bright, this is what the color of the active button in Reaper 5 looked like
Dimson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2019, 03:25 PM   #9
ferropop
Human being with feelings
 
ferropop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 587
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitalker View Post
v6.01+dev1213 - December 13 2019
[list][*]+ MIDI editor: add option to prevent mouse edits of single CC events from moving past other CC events
Kings! Seriously guys, one step closer to complete and seamless integration of CC Lanes and Automation Lanes. Having native access to Pitch/ModWheel (etc) from Trim rather than requiring ReaControlMIDI would be the final piece of this puzzle.

Incredibly happy about this addition, thank you.
ferropop is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2019, 03:29 PM   #10
D Rocks
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 547
Default

Hello, I'm lovingly reporting that openning the MIDI editor window will boost RT cpu performance meter to +35%.

Context:
- win10 64bit
- Reaper v6.01+dev1213 - December 13
- 48khz, 2048 samples buffer (old presonus firestudio sound interface on firewire 400 protocol)
- i7 8770k processor, nvidia gtx 1070ti gpu, project running on a nvme m.2 hard drive
- Mixer is floating on left monitor
- Arrange window is on center monitor
- Midi editor is on right monitor
- Without MIDI editor openned RT cpu = 7-8%
- Without MIDI editor window openned to one item (one editor per project) RT is 40%'s

Edit:
- I am not using default 6 theme but my old v5 custom theme i made (nothing special)
- project is really small - 11 audio tracks including 2 mix buses for drums and bass.
Everything is MIDI generated by kontakt 5 to individuals outputs.
__________________
Alex | www.drocksrecords.com | Thanks for REAPER

Last edited by D Rocks; 12-13-2019 at 03:36 PM.
D Rocks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2019, 03:33 PM   #11
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,826
Default

Totally depends what you have running in the project... If you're sending your virtual instrument to a lot of tracks with heavy processing, this is all thrown on a single core. Do you have anticipative processing for opened MIDI editors option enabled in Preferences->Audio->Buffering?
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2019, 03:36 PM   #12
D Rocks
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 547
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
Totally depends what you have running in the project... If you're sending your virtual instrument to a lot of tracks with heavy processing, this is all thrown on a single core. Do you have anticipative processing for opened MIDI editors option enabled in Preferences->Audio->Buffering?


I don't, but how would it help ?
Edit: Damn this has reduced that 35% cpu boost jsut with the tick of the checkbox! Thanks
Can you please explain what it really does ? 35% is a lot fo RT cpu difference

PS: I edited OP so that I mention the size of the project
__________________
Alex | www.drocksrecords.com | Thanks for REAPER
D Rocks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2019, 03:39 PM   #13
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,826
Default

Just try it, it should help. And while at it, reduce the anticipative processing buffer size from 200 ms to something like 75-100 to shorten the MIDI preview latency.

In fact enable both "Allow" checkboxes there.
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2019, 03:39 PM   #14
PhelixK
Human being with feelings
 
PhelixK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 164
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
The terminal hack is the exact same thing that that option does (it changes the same setting)
Ah ok - then thanks for the 'hack'


btw, this looks to be fixed as well, great!

**Edit, but why not vertically centered like in the timeline region lane?
– it still sticks out by a couple of pixels:

+ MIDI editor: use slightly smaller font size for drawing project markers/regions [p=2216700]


Attached Images
File Type: jpg ME region text.jpg (38.2 KB, 852 views)

Last edited by PhelixK; 12-13-2019 at 03:50 PM.
PhelixK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2019, 03:42 PM   #15
D Rocks
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 547
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
Just try it, it should help. And while at it, reduce the anticipative processing buffer size from 200 ms to something like 75-100 to shorten the MIDI preview latency.

In fact enable both "Allow" checkboxes there.
Cool thanks a lot

EDIT: I noted that when a midi instrument is record enabled this option seem to automatically turn off until the track is not on record arm any more.
__________________
Alex | www.drocksrecords.com | Thanks for REAPER

Last edited by D Rocks; 12-13-2019 at 04:18 PM.
D Rocks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2019, 04:08 PM   #16
Dimson
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 162
Default

v6.01+dev1213b - December 13 2019
+ Toolbars: make appearance of built-in items match 5.x
# Windows: prevent topmost pins from being positioned to the left of the window frame


+ Toolbars: make appearance of built-in items match 5.x
Now everything is fine, thank you so much
Dimson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2019, 09:48 PM   #17
jrengmusic
Human being with feelings
 
jrengmusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Indonesia Raya
Posts: 567
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitalker View Post
v6.01+dev1213 - December 13 2019
  • + MIDI editor: use slightly smaller font size for drawing project markers/regions [p=2216700]
macOS Catalina 10.15.2
REAPER v6.01+dev1213b




Attached Images
File Type: png Screen Shot 2019-12-14 at 11.36.39.png (48.8 KB, 719 views)
File Type: png Screen Shot 2019-12-14 at 11.38.39.png (48.1 KB, 717 views)
__________________
JRENG! | M E T R I C
jrengmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2019, 10:01 PM   #18
D Rocks
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 547
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jrengmusic View Post
JRENG
Unrelated - Nice music stuff
__________________
Alex | www.drocksrecords.com | Thanks for REAPER
D Rocks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2019, 11:33 PM   #19
dangguidan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 133
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitalker View Post
v6.01+dev1213 - December 13 2019
[*]# MIDI editor: add options to color unselected note body and/or border by theme color when using track or media item colors
Now, with my customized note edge color, the definition is much better. Thank you for your hard work!
However, one thing has not been understood. The bright color matching seen in the main panel will be dimmed in the MIDI editor.
dangguidan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2019, 11:55 PM   #20
SergeiSobchenko
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 98
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dimson View Post
v6.01+dev1213b - December 13 2019
# Windows: prevent topmost pins from being positioned to the left of the window frame
Works great, thanks!

I found some steps, after which the pin button disappears:
1) minimize frameless floating toolbar window;
2) uncheck "frameless floating toolbar windows" in preferences;
3) make toolbar bigger.
There is no pin button after that.

To add it back, check "frameless floating toolbar windows" in preferences.
Attached Images
File Type: png no pin.png (4.2 KB, 47 views)
SergeiSobchenko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2019, 12:08 AM   #21
dtr0q
Human being with feelings
 
dtr0q's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitalker View Post
+ MIDI editor: add option to prevent mouse edits of single CC events from moving past other CC events
Just exactly what I needed, thanks!
dtr0q is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2019, 01:39 AM   #22
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,826
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by D Rocks View Post
EDIT: I noted that when a midi instrument is record enabled this option seem to automatically turn off until the track is not on record arm any more.
This is expected. Anticipative processing can only be used on unarmed tracks.
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2019, 08:18 AM   #23
ovnis
Human being with feelings
 
ovnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,370
Default

Quote:
+ MIDI editor: add option to prevent mouse edits of single CC events from moving past other CC events
Great! Thx you.
ovnis is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2019, 10:15 AM   #24
Soli Deo Gloria
Human being with feelings
 
Soli Deo Gloria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Posts: 922
Default Crashes with Synth 1 in this dev release

I´m experiencing some weird crashes with Synth1 in this dev, which didn´t happen at least up to dev1209a, which was the last dev I was using before installing this last one.


The details shown on one of the crashes are :

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: reaper.exe
Application Version: 70.246.253.219
Application Timestamp: 5df40c3f
Fault Module Name: Synth1 VST64.dll
Fault Module Version: 0.0.0.0
Fault Module Timestamp: 53bd6743
Exception Code: c0000005
Exception Offset: 0000000000045660
OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.1
Locale ID: 11274
Additional Information 1: 9a15
Additional Information 2: 9a1567587868083e891c514e97146049
Additional Information 3: b066
Additional Information 4: b0669a8c696ac79222669a0b1355416e

--------------------------------------------

Before crashing, Synth 1 stutters - repeating a note rapidly - and then comes the crash. This is really worrying, since Synth 1 is an extremely valuable instrument in spite of its age (and I have been using it on Reaper everywhere, without any problem at all).

If you need something else, just tell me. I hope this can be fixed on Reaper´s side...

Last edited by Soli Deo Gloria; 12-14-2019 at 10:30 AM.
Soli Deo Gloria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2019, 10:21 AM   #25
Funkybot
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 452
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitalker View Post
v6.01+dev1213 - December 13 2019
[list][*]+ MIDI editor: add option to prevent mouse edits of single CC events from moving past other CC events
This is a nice one. Already enabled here.

MIDI CC editing feels almost perfect. One thing I'd like to see is a "Reduce number of points" menu option like we have for standard automation.

I have "reduce points while drawing" enabled, but I still like to draw out a basic shape with my mouse then clean it up manually afterwards. I still get more points than I want, and without the option to reduce the number of points after the fact for MIDI CC's, with the ability to select how many points you want, it's an especially tedious process.

Plus adding that type of feature would really unify the CC and envelope editing experiences, making them feel more consistent.
Funkybot is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2019, 01:15 PM   #26
Breeder
Human being with feelings
 
Breeder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Croatia
Posts: 2,278
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Funkybot View Post
This is a nice one. Already enabled here.

MIDI CC editing feels almost perfect. One thing I'd like to see is a "Reduce number of points" menu option like we have for standard automation.

I have "reduce points while drawing" enabled, but I still like to draw out a basic shape with my mouse then clean it up manually afterwards. I still get more points than I want, and without the option to reduce the number of points after the fact for MIDI CC's, with the ability to select how many points you want, it's an especially tedious process.

Plus adding that type of feature would really unify the CC and envelope editing experiences, making them feel more consistent.
Just to quickly jump in, it seems that when using the action Options: Reduce CC events while drawing, the setting isn't preserved between REAPER restarts
Breeder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2019, 03:41 PM   #27
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,826
Default

Hm, it is remembered between restarts over here.
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2019, 08:28 PM   #28
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,451
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Breeder View Post
Just to quickly jump in, it seems that when using the action Options: Reduce CC events while drawing, the setting isn't preserved between REAPER restarts
It is when changed in the preferences, not when changed via the MIDI editor action. Fixing!
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.