Old 07-31-2019, 12:20 PM   #1
Tower Studio
Human being with feelings
 
Tower Studio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Montpellier, France
Posts: 153
Default Floating Windows on Dual Screen

I'm moving this here since I believe this might be a bug from Reaper.

Hi all,

I have a problem that is killing me and could greatly benefit from some help here please :-)

I'm on a Mac and have several monitor screens.

My problem is that whenever I put any floating windows (the mixer, performance meter or any plugin) on my secondary screen, when I close and reopen Reaper all those windows are gathered back on the primary screen, even if I size Reaper's main window to both screens. I've never encountered this behaviour with any software or application before.

I have searched on the forum already and found that I could automatically load a screenset at startup. But that is not a viable solution when I open already created projects, as any screen arranging I'd have done to them would be lost whenever I reopen Reaper.

So, what can I do to fix this? Is this a bug?

Thanks a lot in advance!
Tower Studio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2019, 12:21 PM   #2
T:M:H:C
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 7
Default

Yes, I can confirm this on MAC OS.
Maybe helpful for debugging is that the soothe plug in from oeksound does recall correctly on the second screen, when reopening a session. Fabfilter, UAD or isotope plug ins do not.
T:M:H:C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2019, 10:23 AM   #3
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,623
Default

What OS version are you running? What is the arrangement of your monitors? (Is the primary on the left/right/top/bottom etc?)
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2019, 08:31 AM   #4
RO-mix
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 20
Default

Same on Linux
RO-mix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2019, 01:49 AM   #5
T:M:H:C
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
What OS version are you running? What is the arrangement of your monitors? (Is the primary on the left/right/top/bottom etc?)
My screen setup is primary left on MAC OS 10.14.6.
I thought the issue is fixed in 6.0, but it came back today after a restart of reaper and a session recall with multiple floating plug-in windows.

Last edited by T:M:H:C; 12-05-2019 at 06:45 AM.
T:M:H:C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2019, 06:55 AM   #6
T:M:H:C
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 7
Default

The 'Project Bay' window is also affected and doesn't recall its position correctly on the second monitor.
T:M:H:C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2019, 04:08 PM   #7
T:M:H:C
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 7
Default

Here is some more info on the issue:
The floating window positions on the second monitor are correctly recalled when the project file is double clicked in the finder triggering the application start of Reaper.
Window position recall on the second monitor fails when the project is loaded from Reaper's open dialog or "recent projects".
Strangely, oeksound's soothe is the only plug in I found so far, where the position recall works as expected in all scenarios.
T:M:H:C is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.