Old 09-06-2018, 07:59 PM   #1
Edgemeal
Human being with feelings
 
Edgemeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: ASU`ogacihC
Posts: 3,921
Default v5.95rc1 - September 6 2018

Changes in 5.95rc1 from 5.95pre21:
+ Preferences: tweak help text sizing for macOS
+ Automation items: use media item AI pool preference when duplicating regions from ruler
+ MIDI editor: improve selection preservation when duplicating notes
+ Automation: avoid hiding simple/default settings envelopes when copying media items to other tracks [t=210845]
+ Removed still-testing/in-development branches (these will return in 5.96pre):
! ARA support
! VST3 parameter flushing mode
! Stretch marker modes
! WALTER improvements
! 14-bit NRPN/RPN CC editing (will get finished someday)
! Routing diagram view (will get finished someday)


v5.95rc1 - September 6 2018
+ API: CSURF_EXT_SETFXCHANGE adds flags=(INT_PTR)parm2, &1=rec fx
+ API: GetSetMediaItemTakeInfo_String() and GetSetMediaTrackInfo_String() can be used for GUID (as {guid_string})
+ API: add ArmCommand(), GetArmedCommand()
+ API: add GetSetMediaItemInfo_String() for use with GUID and P_NOTES
+ API: add TakeFX_/TrackFX_ CopyTo Track/Take
+ API: add TrackFX/TakeFX _Delete()
+ API: add TrackFX/TakeFX_ Set/Get Offline
+ API: calling TrackList_AdjustWindows() updates scrollbars/ranges
+ API: fix LICE_FillCBezier() definition for reaper_plugin_functions.h [t=209456]
+ API: improve SetOnlyTrackSelected() to set last touched state and support inactive projects [t=209697]
+ API: improve input FX control surface notifications, add CSURF_EXT_SETFXPARAM_RECFX=0x00010018
+ API: improve input FX support for GetFocusedFX() and GetLastTouchedFX()
+ API: notify CSURF_EXT_SETFXCHANGE on FX paste
+ API: prevent undefined behavior with GetSetMediaTrackInfo_String()/GetSetMediaItemTakeInfo_String() on non-string values
+ API: support GetSetMediaTrackInfo*(B_HEIGHTLOCK)
+ API: update documentation for various Get.._Value() functions to include pointers that are gettable
+ Actions window: allow arming action via right-click menu
+ Actions: add disarm action, arm next action meta-action for use in custom actions
+ Actions: fix explode multichannel audio when application is inactive [t=209799]
+ Automation Items: fix start offset drift when moving with items across tempo changes
+ Automation items: avoid adding redundant points to envelope when moving points to new automation item [p=2031007]
+ Automation items: de-select existing AI when pasting
+ Automation items: de-select unaffected AI when copying/moving
+ Automation items: de-select unaffected AI when duplicating time selection
+ Automation items: do not include unrelated selected automation items when moving media items
+ Automation items: duplicating items with AIs will obey trim content behind automation items preference
+ Automation items: fix rare hidden points at start of item [p=2031172]
+ Automation items: pasting items with AIs will obey trim content behind automation items preference [p=2027226]
+ Automation items: use media item AI pool preference when duplicating regions from ruler
+ Automation: avoid hiding simple/default settings envelopes when copying media items to other tracks [t=210845]
+ Automation: improve auto-cleanup of redundant square points
+ Automation: improve cleanup of unnecessary automatically-added envelope points when moving media items
+ Copy/paste: improve behavior of automation pasting with differing tempos [p=2010009]
+ Copy: improve automation copy/paste behavior with multiple items [p=2026564]
+ Copy: include automation between selected items when gap is fully within time selection
+ Duplicate selected area of items: duplicate entire timeselection of envelope data
+ Duplicate selected items: remove existing AIs
+ Elastique: update to 3.2.7
+ Envelopes: fix pasting of envelope points into envelopes that are AI-only
+ Glue: only force items to exact samples when project setting to force beats to samples is enabled [p=1991071]
+ Heal splits: preserve item fade-out shape/curve [t=209846]
+ Item drag: move include automation between items when gap is fully within time selection
+ Item grouping: improve group behavior after autosplits during recording
+ JSFX: fix mdct() concurrency issue (bug dated to 2004, diagnosis thanks to Lauri Liinat)
+ Linux: add OGG Opus support
+ Linux: support ReaScript reaper.ExecProcess()
+ Linux: use fontconfig for font mappings (if you have a customized libSwell.colortheme, might need to change your default font)
+ MIDI devices: allow sorting by device name, ID, or state
+ MIDI devices: provide separate options to show warnings for non-present MIDI devices vs devices which could not be opened
+ MIDI editor: armed toolbar commands work in CC lane
+ MIDI editor: improve selection preservation when duplicating notes
+ MIDI recording: fix preview display offset in record input mode after tempo changes [t=209595]
+ Mixer: fix incorrect channel info tooltip for hardware outputs [t=210380]
+ Notation editor: prevent double-opening of text edit window [t=209955]
+ Notation: always paste multi-track notes into the active track and any tracks below
+ Notation: clicking in staff view sets active context
+ Notation: fix move edit cursor to mouse cursor action [t=210544]
+ Notation: fix possible incorrect note previews when dragging notes [t=209947]
+ Notation: move edit cursor to mouse cursor also activates context under mouse cursor
+ Notation: pasting/inserting events via action goes to the selected track context [t=210542]
+ Notation: support armed toolbar buttons
+ Opus: add options to encode 3-8 channel audio as discrete channels, bitrates specified per-channel
+ Opus: fixed peak generation when recording direct to Opus from non-48khz source
+ Paste: trim any existing automation items when pasting items that have regular automation
+ Preferences: tweak help text sizing for macOS
+ ReaNINJAM: display border between vol/pan faders [t=167525]
+ ReaScript: fix flicker when resizing script windows
+ ReaScript: gfx.deltablit() can take a usecliprect=0 parameter
+ ReaScript: remove size limitation and improve memory use for various APIs including Get*StateChunk(), GetSet*Info_String(), GetProjExtState(), GetSetProjectNotes(), MIDI_GetAllEvts()
+ Tempo envelope: prevent creation of automation items on paste [t=210545]
+ Toolbars: better arming indicators across multiple toolbars
+ Video: add gfx_evalrect()
+ Video: add preset for slow vertical edge detection
+ Video: fix issues with LFOs on video processors
+ Windows: improve handling of hung MIDI devices
+ Windows: possible fix for video output causing crash after resume with multiple monitors attached [t=210807]
+ linux: file browser can show dot files/directories (toggle via context menu or Ctrl+H)
+ linux: fix possible crash on startup from processing keyboard events before fully initialized
# Automation items: improve undo point addition when pasting
# Copy: improve envelope copy/paste behavior
# Item move: move selected AIs with items, but exclude unrelated AIs in time-selection mode
# Item move: move time-selection automation when item moved using time-selection modifier
# Notation: duplicate events always duplicates to source track
# Notation: use default click behavior when clicking while action armed
# Paste: fix undo following AI autoremoval [p=2027654]
# ReaScript: fix display issues with some scripts [p=2026319]
# Video: gfx_evalrect() can take a source bitmap for configurable blends
# Video: gfx_evalrect() can take flags&2 in order to disable output
# automation items: correct selection state when autosplitting items
# automation items: do not select copies/trimmed items on move/copy via drag
# automation items: improve selection state on item move/copy
# duplicate selected area of items: do not duplicate selected pooled envelopes outside of time selection
# linux: uninstall script will not try to remove user desktop files if running as root
# make cut selected area of items handle automation the same as copy selected areas
# notation: fixed copy/paste destination issue [p=2031232]
# unselect automation items on copy-drag within timesel

Full changelog - Latest pre-releases
Edgemeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2018, 10:28 PM   #2
BlackBart
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 808
Default

+ Automation: avoid hiding simple/default settings envelopes when copying media items to other tracks [t=210845]

Works great...thanks!
BlackBart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2018, 11:43 PM   #3
DANIELE
Human being with feelings
 
DANIELE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Florence, Italy
Posts: 463
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgemeal View Post
! 14-bit NRPN/RPN CC editing (will get finished someday)
! Routing diagram view (will get finished someday)
! Midi Articulation Mapper (will get finished someday, like soon)


I allowed myself to add something.
__________________
Audio: AKG-K240 MKII, Adam A7X, Audient iD22 - Steinberg UR22; Piano: Yamaha P-250 - NI S88 MK1;
!!DANIELE EPIC ORCHESTRAL MUSIC!! |*| STAR WARS SERIES
DANIELE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2018, 12:58 AM   #4
NextLevel
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 417
Default 14bit NRPN inc/dec?

Devs,

Regarding 14bit NRPN.

I have an Akai MPK25 that has continuous knobs which sends either 3 or 4 messages on each twist. It's inc/dec commands that it sends, and the issue I'm having is that any param I link it to causes jumps in the value.

However the bigger issue is that after a few tweaks of a knob the driver seems to lock up. Midi notes still get received, but any CCs don't, so I have to disengage and reengage the device in REAPER. It seems like it's a buffer overflow issue or something.

I've also tried troubleshooting with MidiOX and the same thing happens. I suspect the issue may be the Akai usb driver, but I'm just wondering if there is anything you guys can do on your end to prevent this?

So my question is that if you have any devices that use 14bit NRPN inc/dec, doesn't necessarily have to be an Akai, maybe you can test and see if you get a similar issue?

I know you guys are extremely busy as it is, so I'm not in any hurry, just like to know if you're willing to maybe help out?

If you don't have access to any Akai devices or other equipment that does 14bit inc/dec I maybe willing to ship the device to you.

Thank you
NextLevel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2018, 12:59 AM   #5
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,714
Default

Several remaining problems with AI selection when copying or moving:

* "Duplicate items" or "Duplicate selected area of items", the duplicated MIs remain selected, whereas duplicated AIs are deselected.
("Move duplicate of item to edit cursor seems to work fine.)


* Mouse modifiers: "Move item VERTICALLY", "Move item" and "Move item ignoring snap" (with mousedrag starting within time selection): AI selection is inconsistent: sometimes one or more of the moved AIs get deselected, sometime not. For example:

Before moving:


After moving, pan is deselected:


(The "Copy" versions seem to work fine.)


* AI selection vs Undo: Often, after undo, the selection states of AIs are different. This happens after Copying, Moving, Duplicating, or even just selecting or deselecting AIs. Here is another one simple example of selecting AIs one-by-one and then undoing:

juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2018, 01:21 AM   #6
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 2,588
Default

When "Move edit cursor to mouse cursor" is assigned to an ALT modifier, clicking into a non-active track hides all others in the MIDI editor. When assigned to a bare click, its ok.

Also, when assigned to a CTRL, the MIDI Ruler context is triggered instead.

bFooz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2018, 01:40 AM   #7
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,714
Default

Since we have reached the rc's, I would like to take this last opportunity to repeat my suggestions from the early pre's with regard to armed commands:

* Armed commands should execute when the mouse is over the MIDI editor lane dividers, similar to how shortcut-linked commands can execute anywhere.

* Left-clicking while armed should never execute the left-click mouse modifier, and should *only* execute the armed command.

Examples of usefulness:

* Starting a mouse movement over the lane divider can ensure that starting CC values are minimum or maximum.

* Starting a mouse movement over a lane divider vs inside a lane: allows the user to easily choose between editing all selected events in all lanes, or exclusively edit events in the lane under the mouse.

juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2018, 02:47 AM   #8
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,714
Default

This is an older bug that I thought was fixed: When Ctrl+dragging multiple AIs, they jump away from the mouse.

Seems to happen if 1) multiple AIs selected, 2) time selection doesn't cover *first* AI:

(First, with time selection covering all AIs, then with time selection only partially covering first AI.)

Last edited by juliansader; 09-07-2018 at 03:22 AM.
juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2018, 04:27 AM   #9
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 15,746
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by juliansader View Post
This is an older bug that I thought was fixed: When Ctrl+dragging multiple AIs, they jump away from the mouse.

Seems to happen if 1) multiple AIs selected, 2) time selection doesn't cover *first* AI:

(First, with time selection covering all AIs, then with time selection only partially covering first AI.)
Hmm I can't duplicate this
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2018, 04:39 AM   #10
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 15,746
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by juliansader View Post
Since we have reached the rc's, I would like to take this last opportunity to repeat my suggestions from the early pre's with regard to armed commands:

* Armed commands should execute when the mouse is over the MIDI editor lane dividers, similar to how shortcut-linked commands can execute anywhere.
I'll look at this

Quote:
* Left-clicking while armed should never execute the left-click mouse modifier, and should *only* execute the armed command.
It currently isn't here -- if armed and I click, it only does the armed action, not the assigned modifier. You can still get doubleclicks through, maybe that's what you're seeing? I suppose we need to not allow doubleclicks when armed...
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2018, 04:40 AM   #11
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 15,746
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bFooz View Post
When "Move edit cursor to mouse cursor" is assigned to an ALT modifier, clicking into a non-active track hides all others in the MIDI editor. When assigned to a bare click, its ok.

Also, when assigned to a CTRL, the MIDI Ruler context is triggered instead.
Thanks, fixing
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2018, 05:20 AM   #12
mccrabney
Human being with feelings
 
mccrabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 3,672
Default

if media lane AI envelope points are selected, lasso select from outside AI doesn't select any media items.

1- create media lane AI
2- create media items throughout track
3- click media lane AI points to select them
4- while AI points are selected, lasso select from outside to select media items
5- issue: no media items are selected.
6- expected behavior: if lasso starts outside AI, assume user is trying to select items outside AI rather than AI points

__________________
mccrabney scripts: MIDI edits from the Arrange screen ala jjos/MPC sequencer
|sis - - - anacru| isn't what we performed: pls no extra noteons in loop recording
| - - - - - anacru|sis <==this is what we actually performed.
mccrabney is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2018, 05:25 AM   #13
mccrabney
Human being with feelings
 
mccrabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 3,672
Default

ctrl-dragging AI doesn't also copy selected media items.

in this gif: expected behavior is demonstrated first, by ctrl-dragging media items.

2nd, the user ctrl-drags the AI instead, expecting all of the selected items to be copied as well. issue: only the AI is copied via ctrl-drag.

__________________
mccrabney scripts: MIDI edits from the Arrange screen ala jjos/MPC sequencer
|sis - - - anacru| isn't what we performed: pls no extra noteons in loop recording
| - - - - - anacru|sis <==this is what we actually performed.
mccrabney is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2018, 05:25 AM   #14
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 15,746
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mccrabney View Post
if media lane AI envelope points are selected, lasso select from outside AI doesn't select any media items.

1- create media lane AI
2- create media items throughout track
3- click media lane AI points to select them
4- while AI points are selected, lasso select from outside to select media items
5- issue: no media items are selected.
6- expected behavior: if lasso starts outside AI, assume user is trying to select items outside AI rather than AI points

It's not whether the AI envelope points are selected, it's where the focus is -- if an envelope is currently focused, then all marquees that intersect that envelope are considered envelope-only. I believe this is a very old behavior pre-dating AIs, we could look at making it optional at some point, but for now just click outside the envelope to unselect it first.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2018, 05:27 AM   #15
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 15,746
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mccrabney View Post
ctrl-dragging AI doesn't also copy selected media items.

in this gif: expected behavior is demonstrated first, by ctrl-dragging media items.

2nd, the user ctrl-drags the AI instead, expecting all of the selected items to be copied as well. issue: only the AI is copied via ctrl-drag.

I'm not sure this is expected, but we can discuss this post 5.95 as that'd be a very significant change in behavior.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2018, 05:49 AM   #16
ovnis
Human being with feelings
 
ovnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2,924
Default

Quote:
+ Automation items: use media item AI pool preference when duplicating regions from ruler
Thx you.

Quote:
I'm not sure this is expected, but we can discuss this post 5.95 as that'd be a very significant change in behavior.
Lots of people on the forum would like to be able to move/copy/past AI + Item when we select AI + Item.
ovnis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2018, 05:52 AM   #17
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,714
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
It currently isn't here -- if armed and I click, it only does the armed action, not the assigned modifier. You can still get doubleclicks through, maybe that's what you're seeing? I suppose we need to not allow doubleclicks when armed...
I tested different mouse modifier actions linked to left-click in the piano roll context, and found that

* Some MM actions work fine, as they don't execute and don't interfere with the armed action: "Set channel draw lower/higher"; any action from Action list.

* Some MM actions execute first and then the armed action runs: "Deselect all notes" and its variants. (Unfortunately, this means that the armed action cannot act on selected events)

* Some MM actions execute and then block the armed action from running: "Insert note" and its variants -- but seeming only if "left-drag" is also set to "Insert note [and then drag]".


(I therefore suspect that "left-drag" may be the culprit in some situations, not double-click.)
juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2018, 05:52 AM   #18
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 14,793
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NextLevel View Post
14bit NRPN inc/dec
Sorry, but this seems like a very unlikely setting.

Either there is a dedicated message for "inc" ("+1") and one for "dec" ("-1"), but thise supposedly are 7 bit CCs, as to transfer just a single bit you would not want to do 14 Bit messages, or there are messages that transfer the resulting value, and same of course might be 14 Bit (e.g. according to NRPN).

-Michael
mschnell is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2018, 05:54 AM   #19
mccrabney
Human being with feelings
 
mccrabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 3,672
Default

justin: check and check. i would strongly advocate for an option for both, due to my stance that AI should behave like items.

regarding the first gif, i understand the focus issue (selecting points was done to focus AI). however, consider this contrasting example: if you have focused (anything in) the main window but start a lasso select in the midi editor, you are able to select midi notes - expected. main window focus :: ai focus, midi notes selectability :: media item selectability.

i would be more than happy with some sort of option or mouse modifier for lasso select that would act as some sort of "omni-select," where anything under lasso gets selected regardless of focus, but can discuss in another pre cycle.
__________________
mccrabney scripts: MIDI edits from the Arrange screen ala jjos/MPC sequencer
|sis - - - anacru| isn't what we performed: pls no extra noteons in loop recording
| - - - - - anacru|sis <==this is what we actually performed.
mccrabney is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2018, 06:24 AM   #20
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,714
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Hmm I can't duplicate this
I can attach an RPP, but its easy to replicate even in a new portable install:

* Draw several AIs (or simply two AIs spaced several measures apart)
* Select them all
* Draw time selection so that it covers all AIs except the first, which the time selection should only partially cover. I.e., that first AI will be trimmed when Crtl+dragging within time selection.
* Place the mouse close to the rightmost edge of the rightmost AI.
* Move mouse a little to activate Ctrl+drag.
juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2018, 10:38 AM   #21
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 15,746
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by juliansader View Post
I can attach an RPP, but its easy to replicate even in a new portable install:

* Draw several AIs (or simply two AIs spaced several measures apart)
* Select them all
* Draw time selection so that it covers all AIs except the first, which the time selection should only partially cover. I.e., that first AI will be trimmed when Crtl+dragging within time selection.
* Place the mouse close to the rightmost edge of the rightmost AI.
* Move mouse a little to activate Ctrl+drag.
That did it. Key thing to note:
Quote:
2) time selection doesn't cover *first* AI:
Probably better stated as "time selection intersects but does not fully contain first AI".

Thanks! Will be fixed in rc2.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2018, 11:09 AM   #22
D Rocks
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 550
Default

Massive update list! awesome
__________________
Alex | www.drocksrecords.com | Thanks for REAPER
D Rocks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2018, 03:34 PM   #23
ovnis
Human being with feelings
 
ovnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2,924
Default

It should be great if we have the possiblity to add an option to have always point at both edges of AI (inside him). It can save time when we have to edit AI edge points because we don't have to create new points inside him.

In this exemple, I push AI edge on the right three times. There is always on point at his edge (inside AI).

ovnis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2018, 05:52 PM   #24
FnA
Human being with feelings
 
FnA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,173
Default

This bug exists prior to this pre cycle, but seems a good time to mention it.



Copy selected area of items with
Edit: Copy items/tracks/envelope points (depending on focus) within time selection, if any (smart copy),
and,
Options: Envelope points move with media items ON,
then paste after tempo change.

Automation item is wrong.

Beats timebases in project settings (position, length, rate, if applicable), default track timebase.



Edit. Automatic splitting from region move/copy (from/to same locations as in screenshot) does it too.

Reminiscent of this MIDI/region/tempo bug:
https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=182196

Last edited by FnA; 09-07-2018 at 06:22 PM.
FnA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2018, 04:30 PM   #25
FnA
Human being with feelings
 
FnA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,173
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FnA View Post
...

Edit. Automatic splitting from region move/copy (from/to same locations as in screenshot) does it too.

Reminiscent of this MIDI/region/tempo bug:
https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=182196

Thanks for fix in rc2! just bumping in case you didn't see edit about region version of bug
FnA is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.