Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > MIDI Hardware, Control Surfaces, and OSC

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-30-2016, 12:01 PM   #1
Sébastien
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 51
Default Trigger custom action from Touchosc and get feedback on the tablet

Hello,

I've got custom actions that load presets, midi routing, samples, ... for each piece of music in a live configuration.

On TouchOSC, I push a button, and it loads the corresponding custom action in reaper.

• But I'd like a feedback on the toggle button I pushed when reaper has loaded this custom action.
• In the same way once the action is loaded, I'd like to untoggle the previous button in TouchOSC

I've looked « default OCS pattern config file » but I'm not sure what to do.

Thanks
Sébastien is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2016, 09:56 AM   #2
Sébastien
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 51
Default

No idea ?

In the same way, I'd like to get a visual indication when a specific FX is on or off.

I don't have any problem to send from TouchOSC to Reaper, but I don't understand how does the feedback works.

Thanks for your help.
Sébastien is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2016, 02:37 AM   #3
zvukofor
Human being with feelings
 
zvukofor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: St.Petersburg, Russia
Posts: 85
Default

Unfortunately, you cannot have feedback on actions in Reaper OSC implementation.

You can get feedback for a specific FX on/off state, just follow OSC pattern configuration file wildcards
(you can modify them, but cannot create new ones).

Example:
FX_BYPASS b/fx@/bypass/x
means:
FX bypass controlled/indicated by (b)inary (either on or off) trigger/indicator,
with address fx(fx number)/bypass and parameter 'x'.

So, you'll have 'fx1/bypass' indicator, 'fx2/bypass' indicator, and so on...
zvukofor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2016, 03:16 AM   #4
Sébastien
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 51
Default

Thanks !

So in my default.reaperOSC, I've got this line :
FX_BYPASS b/fx/bypass b/fx/@/bypass b/track/@/fx/@/bypass

So in this file I add :
fx1/bypass

Because I want to bypass my first FX.

In TouchOSC, I assign a toggle button with the OSC message :
b/fx1/bypass (or any message ?)
And I tick « local feedback off »

And in the action list of reaper I assign this toggle button to :
Toggle FX Bypass for track 01

It toggles the FX, but no feedback.
Do you know what I'm doing wrong ?

Thank you very much !
Sébastien is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2016, 12:32 PM   #5
zvukofor
Human being with feelings
 
zvukofor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: St.Petersburg, Russia
Posts: 85
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sébastien View Post
Thanks !

So in my default.reaperOSC, I've got this line :
FX_BYPASS b/fx/bypass b/fx/@/bypass b/track/@/fx/@/bypass
yes, you can see 3 different ways to do this.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sébastien View Post
So in this file I add :
fx1/bypass
Because I want to bypass my first FX.
No. Actually, what you want to do depends on 2 variables - track and fx number.
"@" is the symbol for variables here. If you send value "1" from address "track/1/fx/1/bypass" —*you'll activate bypass state for the first FX on track 1.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sébastien View Post
In TouchOSC, I assign a toggle button with the OSC message :
b/fx1/bypass (or any message ?)
And I tick « local feedback off »

And in the action list of reaper I assign this toggle button to :
Toggle FX Bypass for track 01
You do not need to assign anything in Reaper. This is the reason we have a separate config file here - it all works as it is and with full feedback. Just send right command at the right address.

BTW, if your button says "1" from this address "fx1/bypass", you'll bypass first FX on active track.
zvukofor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2016, 03:51 AM   #6
Sébastien
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 51
Default

Thank you so much !!!

With all your indications, the comments in the Default.ReaperOSC got much clearer.

With this new (very humble) knowledge, I've managed to do what I wanted :
• Reaper: I created a track with the name of my custom action.
• TouchOSC: I create a toggle button with the message
Code:
/track/1/select
• Reaper: I assign my custom action to this toggle button

At the end of my custom action, it « Select Only » the track with the name of my custom action, so it get highlighted in TouchOSC and I've got my feedback !

Sébastien is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.