Old 01-18-2013, 04:51 PM   #1
Schöpke
Human being with feelings

Default MIDI Controller, 3DConnexion, GlovePIE, and whatnot

I am new to... uhm, CAMM (Computer Aided Music Making), and so I might have a case of complete beginner's block here. But since I searched the web and this page all day on this, it may be something of a unique problem to solve, too.

What I want to do is voice-over recordings. Really long ones. For this I was thinking of a process like with the old tape machines, where in case of mistake I would scrub back a little till silence, and hit record with some pre-roll, so I'd get back into character easily. As a result, I would end up with a rough cut track that would need significantly less editing than with the "normal" method, where I'd just keep it rolling. Since I also would like to read the text on screen, the DAW would have to be in background (= no focus!), so my hope is that with a MIDI controller I still could control the DAW's transport and scrubbing functions.

The problem: I can't find a MIDI controller that has a transport and a jog/scrub wheel. At least not under 3000 Dollars. Only thing that showed up was the Avid Artist Control (former Euphonix), and that isn't guaranteed to work in Reaper. It's a real beauty though.

So I now resort to using what I have: A 3DConnexion SpacePilot Pro from my CAD endeavours. I have managed to control Reaper with the "Anywhere" Beta drivers from their page, and it works perfectly (THX to SWS!), but again, only if Reaper is in the foreground. It HAS to work in background.

So I finally found GlovePie, and MIDI Yoke, and a lot of text that handles other problems than mine. Also, I feel a bit exhausted.

So my plea is: Can anybody please give me a primer on how to set up all this stuff correctly?

THX and Best Greetings,
Dieter
Schöpke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 11:57 PM   #2
Mr. Data

Hi Dieter and welcome to Reaperland!