Old 01-17-2011, 11:39 PM   #1
bolenti
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mauritius
Posts: 130
Default ASIO4ALL crackling problem with Realtek

Hello,
Since I have made a fresh Windows XP installation on my PC, I get an annoying crackling sound from Reaper that I didn't have before when I was using Windows 7. This crackling happens when I get the ASIO4ALL buffer down to 512 samples, however if I increase the buffer I get an annoying latency when I play from my MIDI keyboard any VSTi. When I was on Windows 7, I never had to touch any ASIO4ALL settings as everything was working smoothly. Can someone give me some clues on the origin of this problem and especially clues on how to tackle it?

My configuration is as follows:
CPU: Intel Quad Core
RAM: 4GB (only 3GB recognized by Win XP 32bit)
SoundCard: RealTek HD Audio (with it's driver provided from the CD)
OS: Windows XP SP2
ASIO driver: ASIO4ALL 2.10
DAW: Reaper 3.74

Thanks in advance for your response.
bolenti
bolenti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 04:09 AM   #2
El-Rallef
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 628
Default

After 15 years of messing around with every version of Windows available, I would say: going from Windows 7 to XP and then complaining about buffer/latency problems is a bit like exchanging your Porsche for a Corolla and then being miffed because of the lack of speed.

Have you tried DPC Latency Checker (http://www.thesycon.de/deu/latency_check.shtml) to get a general overview of what's happening on your system?

El-Rallef
__________________
I have the heart of a child. At home, in a jar.
El-Rallef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 04:46 AM   #3
Fabian
Human being with feelings
 
Fabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5,606
Default

This might help: http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=52603
Especially, see my post #14 and the link in there.

But then... I totally agree with El-Rallef. Go back to W7.
__________________
// MVHMF
I never always did the right thing, but all I did wasn't wrong...
Fabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 06:39 AM   #4
Sheppola
Human being with feelings
 
Sheppola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 3,291
Default

Have you installed all the correct mother board drivers and checked that your Hard rives are all using the correct Udma Mode?

Nero infotool can tell you the state of your drives and is quick and easy,

http://www.nero.com/enu/support-nero...utilities.html
__________________
"Music washes away from the soul the dust of everyday life."
http://www.reverbnation.com/pauldouglas
https://www.youtube.com/user/TalosIO
Sheppola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 08:32 PM   #5
bolenti
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mauritius
Posts: 130
Default

Hello,
Thanks all of you for your response. After trying to mingle with different settings and drivers on Windows XP in vain, I decided it would be much more simple to go back to Windows 7. I did so and now I don't have this problem.
bolenti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 02:00 AM   #6
El-Rallef
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 628
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bolenti View Post
Hello,
Thanks all of you for your response. After trying to mingle with different settings and drivers on Windows XP in vain, I decided it would be much more simple to go back to Windows 7. I did so and now I don't have this problem.
Good choice. You will profit from it for years to come!

El-Rallef
__________________
I have the heart of a child. At home, in a jar.
El-Rallef is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.