Old 08-11-2022, 07:27 AM   #1
Audiose
Human being with feelings

Default Audio clips/distorts well below zero

Hi, I've been using reaper for about a year now. I've been tracking my band here and there, and now I'm starting to mix. I tracked drums with a tascam 16x8 interface. But while overdubbing guitars, bass, etc.the tempo was very unstable with the tascam, so I picked up a Universal Audio Volt 2 interface. Love the preamps on it (compared to the tascum) but now that I'm mixing down the Audio begins to distort/clip at about -6 to -4. If I mix up to that point it sounds great but not enough volume. I've been an audio engineer for the last 20 years. Mainly a pro tools guy until I started hearing so many good things about reaper. I always had a secret boner for acid pro, and Reaper is like a hotrodded version of that so....... but anyway, I also have a soundcraft signature 12MTK.I f you think it would be worthwhile I can give it a shot. Please help, my bandmates are savages, and they're getting restless.
Audiose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2022, 01:51 AM   #2
JonLinnarson

Do you have any plug-ins that could be the cause for the distortion? Is it only the master track that distorts, or does this happen for every individual track? You are not giving us much to go on.

Reaper itself can't be the cause for the distortion since it uses a 64-bit floating point engine, which means you could go well above 0dB without distorting/clipping. If you hear some distortion it's most likely some plug-in in your project or maybe you are clipping your DAC somehow.

Do a render of your project and see if it the render status window tells you if you have some intersample peaks that are clipping. You should probably set your master level meter to display Oversampled peaks ("true" peak).

Last edited by JonLinnarson; 08-12-2022 at 02:04 AM.
JonLinnarson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2022, 04:06 AM   #3
Audiose

Quote:
Originally Posted by JonLinnarson View Post