Old 05-26-2019, 12:59 PM   #1
Greg Savage
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 353
Default CPU Usage

I'm sure I'm doing something as well as looking at something incorrectly, but sometimes I'll load a project and my system plays it fine, no skipping, other times load the project, same project and it just skips and my fans or going crazy.

Decided to look at my activity monitor and say this Reaper is responsible for 170% of the cpu? How is this possible?

Greg Savage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2019, 01:34 PM   #2
Xenakios
Human being with feelings
 
Xenakios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Oulu, Finland
Posts: 7,673
Default

The maximum CPU usage in the OS-X activity monitor is 100% * the number of CPU cores on your system. So, for example, if you have 4 CPU cores, the maximum the activity monitor can show is 400%.
__________________
For info on SWS Reaper extension plugin (including Xenakios' previous extension/actions) :
http://www.sws-extension.org/
https://github.com/Jeff0S/sws
--
Xenakios blog (about HourGlass, Paul(X)Stretch and λ) :
http://xenakios.wordpress.com/
Xenakios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2019, 01:48 PM   #3
Greg Savage
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 353
Default

Ah I see. Wonder why my fan is screaming. I can load a much bigger project in Logic and my system doesn't to handle it as poorly vs the Reaper project.
Greg Savage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2019, 01:58 PM   #4
Xenakios
Human being with feelings
 
Xenakios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Oulu, Finland
Posts: 7,673
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg Savage View Post
Ah I see. Wonder why my fan is screaming. I can load a much bigger project in Logic and my system doesn't to handle it as poorly vs the Reaper project.
Maybe it's a GUI issue, Reaper draws everything with the CPU, maybe Logic is using the GPU for the GUI.
__________________
For info on SWS Reaper extension plugin (including Xenakios' previous extension/actions) :
http://www.sws-extension.org/
https://github.com/Jeff0S/sws
--
Xenakios blog (about HourGlass, Paul(X)Stretch and λ) :
http://xenakios.wordpress.com/
Xenakios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2019, 02:21 PM   #5
Greg Savage
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 353
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xenakios View Post
Maybe it's a GUI issue, Reaper draws everything with the CPU, maybe Logic is using the GPU for the GUI.
Hmmm.. I'll have to look into that, thanks for your help btw
Greg Savage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2019, 04:47 PM   #6
talustalus
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 242
Default

Interesting. I often get confused by what the Reaper performance window is telling me versus real life experience.

I'm on a Mac too. The graphics are definitely slightly more sluggish than Cubase, Logic. I've read before that Reaper UI is factually inefficient on a Mac, don't know the reason why though.
I had to adjust overall Mac display by choosing a different display calibration just to get the graphics in Reaper to be acceptably smooth. Still not where I'd like it to be.

Going back to the performance meter, since I notice there should be plenty of spare CPU even though my system seems to be struggling - does that mean the CPU utilized to draw Reaper is not being counted in the performance info?
talustalus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2019, 04:07 PM   #7
Greg Savage
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 353
Default

Figured out the skipping. It was the harddrive the project was on smh.
Greg Savage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2019, 12:27 AM   #8
ChristopherT
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South
Posts: 528
Default

The project I'm running has 450 tracks continuously playing.
Mac activity monitor says Reaper is taking 1200% !
Reaper performance meter around 60%

MacPro 2013 8 core
ChristopherT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2019, 12:49 AM   #9
Greg Savage
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 353
Default

450 sounds painful. What are you working on if you don't mind me asking?
Greg Savage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2019, 01:05 AM   #10
ChristopherT
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South
Posts: 528
Default

220 channel permanent interactive music installation, 220 speakers & amps - movement sensors etc.
Opens in 9 days
ChristopherT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2019, 04:06 AM   #11
Xenakios
Human being with feelings
 
Xenakios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Oulu, Finland
Posts: 7,673
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChristopherT View Post
The project I'm running has 450 tracks continuously playing.
Mac activity monitor says Reaper is taking 1200% !
Reaper performance meter around 60%

MacPro 2013 8 core
The machine probably has hyperthreading, so the maximum CPU load the system can have would be 1600% in the activity monitor. 1200% of 1600% is 75% so Reaper itself maybe isn't reporting all the CPU load the process generates. Maybe there's a bit bridging child process or processes running? Maybe some worker threads of plugins don't count into the figure Reaper gets to see with its own CPU usage reporting. It all is pretty complicated. ("Total CPU" in Reaper should show *all* the CPU the Reaper process is consuming. "RT CPU" shows how much CPU the real time audio thread is using. Track playback and plugins CPU use don't necessarily show in that one because those can be handled by worker threads. There unfortunately isn't a way to see the CPU use of those threads in Reaper.)
__________________
For info on SWS Reaper extension plugin (including Xenakios' previous extension/actions) :
http://www.sws-extension.org/
https://github.com/Jeff0S/sws
--
Xenakios blog (about HourGlass, Paul(X)Stretch and λ) :
http://xenakios.wordpress.com/

Last edited by Xenakios; 05-29-2019 at 04:15 AM.
Xenakios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2019, 04:46 AM   #12
ChristopherT
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South
Posts: 528
Default

Thank you Xenakios !
That all makes complete sense.
Now I have a better understanding of these CPU monitors.
ChristopherT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2019, 07:15 AM   #13
talustalus
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 242
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChristopherT View Post
The project I'm running has 450 tracks continuously playing.
Mac activity monitor says Reaper is taking 1200% !
Reaper performance meter around 60%

MacPro 2013 8 core
I have a MacPro 6 core. Which Reaper settings become important when trying to get the most from CPU of these machines eg. Hyper-threading?
talustalus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2019, 02:04 PM   #14
ChristopherT
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South
Posts: 528
Default

That is a good question for someone who knows about hyper threading.
I don't have any special settings enabled - everything just works.
ChristopherT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.