Old 11-30-2021, 02:58 PM   #1
mmcfad
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2021
Posts: 6
Default No Recording Signal

I'm brand new to Reaper and having problems getting the recording signal to show up in Reaper.

I'm using the following;

Zoom H5N as audio interface.
MacBook Pro (Retina, 15-inch, Mid 2014)
16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
2.5 GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i7

I think I have followed the setup instructions but clearly I must be missing something.

In Preferences; Audio Device is set as H5
Track input; Front Left, Front Right (using the stereo mic on the H5)

The issue is that there is no recording at all. Nor is there any sound wave, or activity in meters.

I have used the same setup in both GarageBand and Logic Pro X and it works as soon as I plug in the H5 and direct the input.

Hopefully someone here can help this old newbie!!
mmcfad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2021, 03:07 PM   #2
Wallaby
Human being with feelings
 
Wallaby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2021
Location: Swiss Zürich
Posts: 164
Default arm record

Have you clicked the red round button on the track ?
After that some stuff appears where you can choose the input channel from the interface.
Also select record input audio / midi
Wallaby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2021, 03:25 PM   #3
mmcfad
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2021
Posts: 6
Default

Yes, I've clicked "Arm Record" button on.
Yes, checked the input options; Input; Stereo Front Left Front Right
Not using a MIDI so didn't click any of that.
mmcfad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2021, 03:43 PM   #4
jnorman34
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oregon
Posts: 406
Default

Perhaps there is a setting on the h5 that tells it to route audio out, rather than to internal recorder? Ie, a way to select “interface mode” instead of stand alone recorder mode?
jnorman34 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2021, 07:35 PM   #5
mmcfad
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2021
Posts: 6
Default

Yes jnorman34 you are correct there is such setting.
I’ve made sure that is set to interface.
Thanks for your suggestion.
mmcfad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2021, 01:33 AM   #6
mmcfad
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2021
Posts: 6
Default

I still haven’t found a solution.
Can anyone recommend where I might try to get some help with this?
Does Reaper have a support department?
I appreciate any ideas you might have. Thx.
mmcfad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2021, 02:56 AM   #7
Stella645
Human being with feelings
 
Stella645's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 2,991
Default

Have you checked microphone privacy settings.

If not that post screencaps of your track input setting.
__________________
Funkatarium 30th Anniversary Remixes
Ltd Edition Vinyl finally available on Bandcamp.
https://funkatarium.bandcamp.com/alb...ersary-remixes
Stella645 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2021, 08:53 AM   #8
mmcfad
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2021
Posts: 6
Default

Stella645, I'm not familiar with the microphone privacy settings. Where would I find that?

I have attached a screenshot of my track input settings and Reaper Preferences.

Thank you for your help!
Attached Images
File Type: png Input settings.png (39.7 KB, 13 views)
mmcfad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2021, 10:12 AM   #9
Stella645
Human being with feelings
 
Stella645's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 2,991
Default

Settings look ok (though record monitor is off so you may not hear anything but it should still record)...check Reaper is allowed to use your "mic" (any audio input) in privacy.

https://support.apple.com/en-gb/guid...hla1b1e1fe/mac
__________________
Funkatarium 30th Anniversary Remixes
Ltd Edition Vinyl finally available on Bandcamp.
https://funkatarium.bandcamp.com/alb...ersary-remixes
Stella645 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2021, 10:44 AM   #10
mmcfad
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2021
Posts: 6
Default

Stella645 Thank You! Thank You! Thank You!

The privacy setting was the problem. Working fine now.

I really appreciate your help...

Thank You!
mmcfad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.