Old 06-17-2021, 09:59 AM   #1
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South, UK
Posts: 13,580
Default v6.29+dev0617 - June 17 2021

  • * Includes feature branch: render normalization
  • * Includes feature branch: MIDI editor note reordering
  • * Includes feature branch: media item lanes
  • * Includes feature branch: EEL2 x86_64/SSE
  • * Includes feature branch: VST3 bridging
  • + Master VU: if theme does not define meter_bg_mcp_master or meter_bg_mcp image, fill loudness readout area with "VU (indicator) - no signal" theme color
  • + Master VU: support oversampled peak display ("true peaks")
  • + Render: support normalizing stems to master mix
  • # Master VU: ensure that muted/automuted text covers the entire meter area
  • # Master VU: fix loudness readout offset on retina/hidpi displays
This thread is for pre-release features discussion. Use the Feature Requests forum for other requests.

Changelog - Pre-Releases

Generated by X-Raym's REAPER ChangeLog to BBCode
__________________
subproject FRs click here
note: don't search for my pseudonym on the web. The "musicbynumbers" you find is not me or the name I use for my own music.
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2021, 10:28 AM   #2
Phazma
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 1,501
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicbynumbers View Post
[*]# Master VU: ensure that muted/automuted text covers the entire meter area
Works correctly now, thanks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicbynumbers View Post
[*]+ Master VU: support oversampled peak display ("true peaks")
This is pretty elegantly implemented and probably the best solution for most users.

Personally I wish it was possible to see sample peak meters and readouts and also the TP Max number.

Would it be feasible to have an extra option to show the TP Max number (of both channels combined obviously) instead of the "L-I" text which serves no purpose for those who only use one type of loudness measurement?
Phazma is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2021, 12:18 PM   #3
Meo-Ada Mespotine
Human being with feelings
 
Meo-Ada Mespotine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Leipzig
Posts: 2,621
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicbynumbers View Post
[list][*]+ Render: support normalizing stems to master mix
Great! Thnx
__________________
Use you/she/her.Ultraschall-Api Lua Api4Reaper
Off for some time. Bugreports&Docs notes please do here:https://github.com/Ultraschall/ultra...-reaper/issues - Donate, if you wish
Meo-Ada Mespotine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2021, 12:33 PM   #4
ErBird
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 816
Default

Why does RMS mode on the new loudness meter move differently than the legacy RMS meter?
It's like it's running at a lower frame rate.

This is a 1 Hz sine wave:

OLD______________________NEW____________________



Also, why is LUFS-I listed under LUFS-M?

ErBird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2021, 12:38 PM   #5
Phazma
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 1,501
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ErBird View Post
Also, why is LUFS-I listed under LUFS-M?
They decided to use LUFS-I only for the readout as the meter wouldn’t give much useful info and they combined it with LUFS-M for the meter. So with this option you will see an integrated value as number while the meters respond to momentary changes of loudness.
Phazma is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2021, 12:45 PM   #6
ErBird
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 816
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phazma View Post
They decided to use LUFS-I only for the readout as the meter wouldn’t give much useful info and they combined it with LUFS-M for the meter. So with this option you will see an integrated value as number while the meters respond to momentary changes of loudness.
OK, thx. Now I see the format is "Meter/Number". I thought the left side was a category.


Unrelated, but it looks like there's an extra space in front of "Meter"

Last edited by ErBird; 06-17-2021 at 12:55 PM.
ErBird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2021, 12:49 PM   #7
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 11,867
Default

The loudness calculation only updates every 100ms. That's standard for LUFS, so we changed the RMS calculation to match. We can increase the rate though.

The dropdown lists the meter and readout number definitions together. The LUFS-M/LUFS-I selection means the meter displays LUFS-M and the readout number displays LUFS-I. It's not so helpful for the meter to display LUFS-I as it (a) usually changes very slowly and (b) would continue to show a signal on the meters even with no audio passing through.

Last edited by schwa; 06-17-2021 at 01:17 PM.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2021, 01:03 PM   #8
Klangfarben
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,361
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicbynumbers View Post
+ Render: support normalizing stems to master mix
This is so great. Thank you!!!
Klangfarben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2021, 01:14 PM   #9
Zeno
Human being with feelings
 
Zeno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: HH
Posts: 482
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
The loudness calculation only updates every 100m.
100 Meter (SI) ??
Zeno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2021, 01:20 PM   #10
PhelixK
Human being with feelings
 
PhelixK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 533
Default 0617

Quote:
  • # Master VU: fix loudness readout offset on retina/hidpi display
As for the readout below VU, I believe @1x was better with +dev0616. Now the coded space (what is referred to as “offset”) is too much, no? Also, at min. mixer height, the readout on top conflicts with the peak meter.

@2x looks fine to me.

Here’s a comparison on Mojave, HD on the left and Retina/HiDPI right, mixer panel at minimum height (clip is just to show all parts):




Quote:
  • + Master VU: support oversampled peak display ("true peaks")
  • + Render: support normalizing stems to master mix
Great!
PhelixK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2021, 01:31 PM   #11
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 11,867
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhelixK View Post
As for the readout below VU, I believe @1x was better with +dev0616. Now the coded space (what is referred to as “offset”) is too much, no? Also, at min. mixer height, the readout on top conflicts with the peak meter.
Is that the same actual REAPER instance, with the display resolution changed? I think it's just not clearing some information that's stored in memory when the resolution changes.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2021, 01:58 PM   #12
ErBird
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 816
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
The loudness calculation only updates every 100m. That's standard for LUFS, so we changed the RMS calculation to match. We can increase the rate though.
Interesting. I checked MLoudnessAnalyzer, TB_EBULoudness and FF Pro L-2 and they all update smoothly. They don't seem to be following the 100ms standard.

Their meters also "build up" to the continuous value instead of jumping into existence after the window length.

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
It's not so helpful for the meter to display LUFS-I as it (a) usually changes very slowly and (b) would continue to show a signal on the meters even with no audio passing through.
Thank you. Makes sense now.
ErBird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2021, 02:49 PM   #13
PhelixK
Human being with feelings
 
PhelixK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 533
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
Is that the same actual REAPER instance, with the display resolution changed? I think it's just not clearing some information that's stored in memory when the resolution changes.
hmm yes it could be a memory thing, I’ll try my best to explain what I experience:

If I quit reaper when in non-Retina mode on mac, and restart, then the meter shows correct @1x (hurray) –but, then it has wrong offset when switched to Retina in Prefs > Advanced, OR if the UI is dragged from low-res to Retina display.

And, if I restart Reaper from Retina mode (with the wrong readout offset), it changes and look correct after restart.

This is new behaviour to monitor awareness.
PhelixK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2021, 06:19 AM   #14
Mercado_Negro
Moderator
 
Mercado_Negro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
Posts: 8,418
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicbynumbers View Post
+ Master VU: support oversampled peak display ("true peaks")
Thanks!
__________________
Pressure is what turns coal into diamonds - Michael a.k.a. Runaway
Mercado_Negro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2021, 04:45 AM   #15
PhelixK
Human being with feelings
 
PhelixK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 533
Default +dev 0618

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
Is that the same actual REAPER instance, with the display resolution changed? I think it's just not clearing some information that's stored in memory when the resolution changes.
With latest +dev 0618 the UI resolution change is now working as expected, same Reaper instance. Thx!
PhelixK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.