Old 12-15-2014, 04:03 PM   #1
RangeAntelope
Human being with feelings
 
RangeAntelope's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 9
Default REAPER purchased - laptop hosed - had to rebuild

Greetings,
I'm sorry if this is not the correct forum to post this in but:
I purchased REAPER just a little over a year ago.
My laptop recently had unrecoverable problems and I had to have a new hard drive installed by DELL which wiped everything out on my laptop.

When attempting to RELOAD REAPER, it does not recognize my legit license and tells me I have an Evaluation license good for 60 days.

I have V4.75 loaded on another, backup, laptop and it is recognized as legit (of course I downloaded/installed that before my main laptop went kaput!).

I believe when I purchased the HOME/Individual user agreement, I was told that my version would be good through V5.

Can someone help me? an additional $60.00 for a NEW version (when I entitled to download onto a 2nd device, is a lot of money when you're retired.

Thanks to all!
Randall
RangeAntelope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2014, 04:49 PM   #2
Fex
Human being with feelings
 
Fex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 3,370
Default

Do you still have access to your email account? Do you still have the email in which Cockos sent your license?

Search your email account for "Cockos" to find that email, open it, copy the license code to your clipboard, and open REAPER.
That should automatically install your license.

If this doesn't work for you, for some reason, email support@cockos.com

HTH
Fex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2014, 04:56 PM   #3
xpander
Human being with feelings
 
xpander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Terra incognita
Posts: 4,845
Default

Right. Also, if you still have a legit, working Reaper in your other laptop, that should mean there is a license file there too? Search the file reaper-license.rk and copy that over into your main laptop.
xpander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2014, 06:49 PM   #4
rvman
Human being with feelings
 
rvman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Texas, USA
Posts: 525
Default

I copied my license from the email and moved it to the desktop.

If you have to scroll through tons of emails to find your license, create a new email folder and move the email there.

Make a backup cd or put it on a memory card/stick.
__________________
×××××××××××××××××××××××××××××××××××××××××××××××××× ××××××××××
Reaper, Reason 8, Studio One Artist, EZ Drummer 2, and not enough time.
rvman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2014, 12:01 PM   #5
RangeAntelope
Human being with feelings
 
RangeAntelope's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 9
Default THANKS! XPANDER!

Quote:
Originally Posted by xpander View Post
Right. Also, if you still have a legit, working Reaper in your other laptop, that should mean there is a license file there too? Search the file reaper-license.rk and copy that over into your main laptop.
I found the license file on my backup laptop at the following location:
c:\Users\KR\AppData\Roaming\Reaper

I copied and uploaded that file to my Dropbox account, reinstalled DropBox on my newly restored MAIN-laptop, copied it back and pasted into the same file path (running Windows 8.1), brought up REAPER and ALL WAS LEGIT!!!

You folks in the forums are THE GREATEST!!!

Thanks - now, back to recording!!
RangeAntelope
RangeAntelope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2014, 12:08 PM   #6
serr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 8,274
Default

Now that you have experienced for yourself that hard drives can 'cease to exist' in an instant, do yourself a favor and start using a backup cloning app. (I use Carbon Copy Cloner. There are others too.)

Clone entire drives. Copies are exact. A system volume will boot just like the original. A hard drive failure simply becomes inconvenient.
serr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2014, 10:13 AM   #7
RangeAntelope
Human being with feelings
 
RangeAntelope's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 9
Default Good software for MAC OS

Quote:
Originally Posted by serr View Post
Now that you have experienced for yourself that hard drives can 'cease to exist' in an instant, do yourself a favor and start using a backup cloning app. (I use Carbon Copy Cloner. There are others too.)

Clone entire drives. Copies are exact. A system volume will boot just like the original. A hard drive failure simply becomes inconvenient.
I read the reviews, it looks awesome but, currently, I'm running Windows 8.1 so I'm using System Image Backup. My next laptop though, will be a MAC.
Thanks for the info!
RangeAntelope is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.