Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER for Live Use

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-11-2020, 09:14 PM   #1
lexaproductions
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 671
Default REALIVE: A live configuration for Reaper



Click this to get the whole thing

Donations are deeply appreciated.
PAYPAL DONATE

After years of development, here's a complete "Multi-Project" Environnement I've built.
It is based on:
  1. Reaper's tab feature
  2. Rearoute Loopback Feature
  3. SWS' RPL feature.

For those familiar with Digital Performer's Chunks functions, it pretty much behaves the same way but with REAPER's solid engine.
Disclaimer: For now I've only tried this on OSX but I'll soon get a PC to try to support it.

YouTube Demo Video

Description:
The goal of this is to provide a live backing track environment that is very flexible. To easily be able to have the computer follow the band instead of having confined to a rigid sequence.

You can easily:
  1. Make a full list of songs that are independent: No huge timeline of 10000 measures that can easily be broken by a tempo change somewhere and that makes the whole set loading "A long and painful task". Each list can obviously be saved, duplicated, renamed, savedAs, etc...
  2. Presets song switching: Using action markers one can preset switching from one song to the other in three ways:
    • 1- Go to the Next song and wait
    • 2- Go to the Next and play immediatly
    • 3- Smooth seek to the next song
      (Each of these switching actions can be performed with or without stopping the currently playing song. This allows for an easy seem-less segway between songs.)
  3. Reroute everything to any output of the audio interface: Each project relies on a template that separate your songs in busses (Click, Cues, Percs, SFX, Keyboards, Vocals, etc...)
  4. Every project makes use of Reaper's markers/region and empty items features: You first create all your markers for the song, then you hit the "generate structure track" button and all your regions and empty items are automatically created.
  5. Navigate through and pre-cue different sections of the songs while ALWAYS staying on the beat.
  6. Loop sections of songs
  7. Loop and solo the click (1 bar or only the last beat of the previous bar): This even makes it possible to skip beats and turn the whole thing around if somebody in the band missed a beat.
  8. Stop Markers: To preset a song's ending, one doesn't need to go into the project settings. You simply enable "Project Ending" Blue marker and move it to where you want the song to stop.
  9. Change the song's tempo on the fly: Using the tempo editing mode, one can alter the tempo by:
    • +/- 1BPM increments
    • Entering a tempo amount or offset
    • Tap Tempo
  10. Change the song's master pitch on the fly: Using the pitch editing mode, one can alter the pitch by:
    • +/- 1BPM increments
    • Entering a pitch amount or offset
    These tracks are not affected by the pitch edits:
    • SFX
    • Percs
    • SMPTE timecode
    • Click
    • Cues
  11. Imported new tracks are automatically sorted in their right folders: so that they are routed at the right place

I must give A LOT of credits to
Justin For the hidden Loopback function which is the backbone of everything.
MPL For the initial idea of the Playlist window
CFillion for many many many scripting concepts and explanations
Mespotine: I spend every day in your API documentation
X-Raym: For several scripting ideas and concepts
Lokasenna: For gmem related infos, and the gui post on this forum.
Blankfile : For the great "ILogic Next" theme.


This is a full configuration that will change your whole setup. I strongly advise to use this as a portable install that won't interfere with your regular install. It is not a DAW for recording and extensive editing but rather a live playback engine.

Main View:



Audio Routing Tab:



Project Tab List Menu:




Action Markers:



Change Tempo/Pitch:




Auto-Stop Marker:



Switch To Next Song Marker:



Project Title Window:



Large Region Window:



Smooth Seeking With Large Region Window:



Double Click to play/Stop: (If other project is playing then smooth seek)



Change Order Of Tabs: (When Saving with CMD-S, The List list is updated)

Last edited by lexaproductions; 03-28-2021 at 04:16 AM.
lexaproductions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2020, 03:53 AM   #2
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 10,461
Default

Looks great (to me as someone who does not even exactly know what it can be used for.)

Is there a detailed documentation on what it can do and hot it is to be used and configured ?

If such is available I'd like to edit the sticky thread here and add some description and links.

Thank,
Michael
mschnell is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2020, 07:00 AM   #3
lexaproductions
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 671
Default

Just added a full description to the first post.
lexaproductions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2020, 01:00 PM   #4
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 10,461
Default

GREAT !
OK a description / feature list, so I can include it in the sticky thread-

To allow anybody to use it a manual would be necessary.

Thanks.
-Michael

Last edited by mschnell; 06-12-2020 at 01:06 PM.
mschnell is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2020, 08:46 AM   #5
josoal
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Spain
Posts: 10
Smile

Eager to see it on windows.
josoal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2020, 09:00 AM   #6
TonE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reaper HAS send control via midi !!!
Posts: 3,000
Default

Thanks for sharing my friend, one day I might try it and see how and where it can be useful. Thanks for all efforts, the great presentation here and the youtube video.

Having all kind of different workflow styles for reaper is great, even if someone would not use it now, it might change in future. Great having all these options.

Now the looped recording workflow can be shared, if not done already.
TonE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2020, 01:01 PM   #7
lexaproductions
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 671
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by josoal View Post
Eager to see it on windows.
Actually, I'd be curious to see what works and what doesn't. Have you tried to install it on window in a portable install?
lexaproductions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2020, 09:21 AM   #8
josoal
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Spain
Posts: 10
Default

I tryed with a fresh portable intall.
Windows 10x64
Reaper 6.12
I load a template. I canīt find play list and several windows errors.
(sorry for my english)
Attached Images
File Type: png 2020-06-18_17h20_42.png (3.3 KB, 176 views)
File Type: png 2020-06-18_17h22_50.png (3.8 KB, 139 views)
File Type: png 2020-06-18_17h23_45.png (4.0 KB, 121 views)
File Type: png 2020-06-18_17h35_22.png (51.1 KB, 120 views)
josoal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2020, 11:11 AM   #9
lexaproductions
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 671
Default

Thanks for this report. First time I see it on windows. Yikes!

I think those issues are all related to Windows. I'll work on it and report back.
lexaproductions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2020, 11:13 AM   #10
lexaproductions
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 671
Default

Also make sure you have up to date versions of SWS & JS_API installed in this portable install.
lexaproductions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2020, 04:06 AM   #11
josoal
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Spain
Posts: 10
Default

I update SWS to last beta, fewer errors, but they persist.
You have a very personalized version of Reaper. It is difficult for me to find everything.
Thanks.
Attached Images
File Type: png 2020-06-19_12h46_28.png (2.7 KB, 154 views)
josoal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2020, 06:09 AM   #12
lexaproductions
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 671
Default

Yes It is a ďself containedĒ and very different than my usual Reaper studio setup. The reason being that when I use this live, it is used for very restrictive a function. Without anything to disturb. It does goes against Reaper, customized philosophy and feel.

If you type ďRealiveĒ in the action list, everything Is there. You use the Realive actions for the whole thing to work.
In that link you downloaded, there is a cheat sheet. For the my controlling stuff
Itís a good starting point

I will get my windows computer soon. In the meantime, please keep sending me screen capture as it will allow me to enable a fully working windows mode.
lexaproductions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2020, 06:43 AM   #13
dazastah
Human being with feelings
 
dazastah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 119
Default

Ok sorry was late on the post for this . Iíll do some deep testing for this . I play drums live and use reaper as a multitrack playback system . I use portable installs for Mac and pc for redundancy.
Great work ..
dazastah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2020, 06:16 AM   #14
dazastah
Human being with feelings
 
dazastah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 119
Default

Great Job on this.
The amazing thing about this is the fact we can now smooth seek between project tabs.. I'm not sure people know how blooding amazing this is.
I've only had a quick look atm , But this seriously will get a work out testing from me (especially the routing side)

ITs great because the projects can be independent instead of songs all in one project.

Again Great Job on this . I cant wait to put it through some testing .

I've used this on a win 10 machine.. Things all worked here on first trial ..
Cheers.
dazastah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2020, 06:23 AM   #15
dazastah
Human being with feelings
 
dazastah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 119
Default

For everyone who's wondering why this is useful ..

I'm a live drummer who plays for acts that require live playback of multiple stems, where we can change set list on the fly, stop songs, restart them and also have them smooth seek into next song (without gaps) all while having the ability to edit a song in a contained project(easier editing than one whole project with songs scattered across timeline) into a audio interface with multiple outs, so that our foh engineer can then mix those stems live .
Possibly the next thing would be to support redundancy rigs.. (2 reapers playing back at the same time , into something like a iconnect playaudio 12 which supports redundancy switching)
dazastah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2020, 07:05 AM   #16
lexaproductions
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 671
Default

Thanks for the kind words.
So it does work on Windows? The PC I was supposed to have never worked out so I still havenít try

Iím interested in hearing if you understood everything on the first try. Is it intuitive enough?
lexaproductions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2020, 06:16 AM   #17
dazastah
Human being with feelings
 
dazastah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 119
Default

Yes confirming it worked on windows 10 .

Easy for me to navigate and use as it fits my needs almost automatically .
I didnít jump into the audio routing yet .


I have had a lifestyle change so Iím not intensively testing it as such .
I pretty much backed up my preferences ,imported your prefs and it worked .
I then reimported my prefs back and my setup was as is.
A portable install is the best option though .

If you install latest reaper version with latest sws it works.

Iíll get into it on Sunday and try and create at least a half hour set of songs as I have to redo everything into seperate projects ..

Iíll run it with a soundcraft ui24r and post my reports here.
dazastah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2020, 05:44 AM   #18
lexaproductions
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 671
Default

Thanks a lot for the report.

There is a new version up with many enhancements. Try it out and let me know.
lexaproductions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2020, 07:50 AM   #19
lexaproductions
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 671
Default

Just added a new version with a lot of tweaks.

Drag and Drop for RPL files into the playlist window now supported.
lexaproductions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2020, 01:24 PM   #20
TonE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reaper HAS send control via midi !!!
Posts: 3,000
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dazastah View Post
Great Job on this.
The amazing thing about this is the fact we can now smooth seek between project tabs.. I'm not sure people know how blooding amazing this is.
I've only had a quick look atm , But this seriously will get a work out testing from me (especially the routing side)

ITs great because the projects can be independent instead of songs all in one project.

Again Great Job on this . I cant wait to put it through some testing .

I've used this on a win 10 machine.. Things all worked here on first trial ..
Cheers.
Dear friend dazastah, just clicked to your link, listened by accident to nights isolation through my cheap laptop speakers, great beats. Now I can check what else you made. https://dazastah.bandcamp.com/track/nights-isolation Great violins, not sure if those are real or some software?

Now back to the topic. It sounds great, also did not use tabs this way yet, has to be tested out for sure, how are you using it, can you give a few best use case examples? Reapers coolness has to be spread, no matter on which tiny dimension.

Last edited by TonE; 12-07-2020 at 03:24 PM. Reason: corrected typo
TonE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2020, 04:50 PM   #21
lexaproductions
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 671
Default

The best use for this whole thing is for playback of multi-tracks in a performance context. Where you have several stems (Percs, keyboards, back vocals, etc) along with a click track, and a cues track. I also include a smpte track for lights and videos.

The most obvious advantage of using tabs instead of only one long timeline is to keep all song separate. You canít mess up subsequent songs by changing your timeline somewhere

Keeping tracks separate in tabs allows for easy reordering of songs, saving several songs as a list and not having to load the entire song list when you need just a few songs.

It is also less cpu intensive as only the current song is active at any given time

It also allows to make totally seemless segways from one song to another one as you can start one song while the other is still playing.

Those are only a few advantages that comes to mind. I could go one for days with advantage of using it this way.

Let me know if you want more explaining.

Thanks for your interest in this.
lexaproductions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2021, 12:11 PM   #22
Gass n Klang
Human being with feelings
 
Gass n Klang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Cologne
Posts: 847
Default

wow that looks amazing! Do you have some kind of tutorial for that huge thing?
__________________
https://gassnklang.de
Gass n Klang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2021, 04:59 AM   #23
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 3,413
Default

Hi! i wonder what is "hidden Loopback function"

i would like to have a "simple" thing : API:reaper.GoToRegion( in the next 16th/8th/bar) this would allow me some kind of live performing/ recording approach.

I have requested here:
https://forums.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=245699

is this related?

Thank you!
__________________
request: FXCHAIN RACK (GUI) and please take care of the small workflow details ...
deeb is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2021, 05:45 AM   #24
lexaproductions
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 671
Default

The loop back function allows you to route audio between tabs. I use this to have only one audio routing tab that communicate with my audio interface.
All the other tabs sends their audio to it. So if I have 100 opened songs I can still quickly turn the click up or reroute my timecode elsewhere if I need to.
My whole setup may look complicated, but itís really easy to use and very flexible.
lexaproductions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2021, 06:11 AM   #25
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 10,461
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lexaproductions View Post
The loop back function allows you to route audio between tabs.
-> https://forum.cockos.com/showpost.ph...8&postcount=10
Amazing !
I need to try this ASAP (I seem to have seen it some tiome ago but forgot about it.

With same I might be able to add stuff like background tracks to my "Reaper as an instrument" setup by using another Tab.
-Michael
mschnell is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2021, 07:04 AM   #26
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 3,413
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lexaproductions View Post
The loop back function allows you to route audio between tabs. I use this to have only one audio routing tab that communicate with my audio interface.
All the other tabs sends their audio to it. So if I have 100 opened songs I can still quickly turn the click up or reroute my timecode elsewhere if I need to.
My whole setup may look complicated, but itís really easy to use and very flexible.

very good! thank you! Thank you reaper too! very interesting!
__________________
request: FXCHAIN RACK (GUI) and please take care of the small workflow details ...
deeb is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2021, 07:06 AM   #27
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 3,413
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post
-> https://forum.cockos.com/showpost.ph...8&postcount=10
Amazing !
I need to try this ASAP (I seem to have seen it some tiome ago but forgot about it.

With same I might be able to add stuff like background tracks to my "Reaper as an instrument" setup by using another Tab.
-Michael
cool mschnell! seems really usefull!
__________________
request: FXCHAIN RACK (GUI) and please take care of the small workflow details ...
deeb is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2021, 03:28 PM   #28
pyrannial
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 44
Default

This seems like a cool setup.

Couple of questions:
- Can you rearoute the audio out to OBS or other live streaming software (https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=251837)?
- Can you record, in particular with Playtime by helgoboss (https://forum.cockos.com/showpost.ph...stcount=1180)? Usually I have found that region seeking breaks the recording capabilities in Reaper but I nee record for live looping setup
pyrannial is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2021, 03:33 PM   #29
lexaproductions
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 671
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pyrannial View Post
This seems like a cool setup.

Couple of questions:
- Can you rearoute the audio out to OBS or other live streaming software (https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=251837)?
- Can you record, in particular with Playtime by helgoboss (https://forum.cockos.com/showpost.ph...stcount=1180)? Usually I have found that region seeking breaks the recording capabilities in Reaper but I nee record for live looping setup
1- I'm on Mac so I never had access to rearoute. I'd be happy to help you in your testing.

2- I've never tried playtime. Once again, I'll be happy to help you in your testing.

Keep me posted.
lexaproductions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2021, 02:05 PM   #30
pyrannial
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 44
Default

Thanks will try it on a portable install as soon as I get the chance. I am looking forward to seeing how it all works and what ideas you've come up with!
pyrannial is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2021, 03:25 PM   #31
pyrannial
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 44
Default

So I have got a little bit further tonight.

I set up a new portable Reaper install. Then I imported the `20210330_Full.ReaperConfigZip` from the DropBox link at the top of this thread. I imported it using the `General` section of the Reaper Preferences.

A few errors occurred when I started up Reaper once I'd done all this.

1.
`UserPlugins\reaper_js_ReaScriptAPI64.dll is either not designed to run on Windows or it contains an error. Try installing the program aain using the original installation media or contact your system administrator or the software vendor for support. Error status 0xc0000130.`

2.
(the same error message as above but with these details instead)
reaper_sws-x86_64.dll 0xc0000020

3.
reascript error
___Realive_MainAPI.lua:1977:
attempt to call a nil value
(field 'JS_Window_FindChildByID')

I therefore deleted the relevant `.dll` files from the portable install `UserPlugins` folder and then installed SWS using the windows installer and pointed it to my portable install (turns out it requires a `reaper.exe` file present to detect and i'd already got excited and renamed the executable `realive.exe` lol!). I also copied the Reascript dll from my regular Reaper install and put it in the `UserPlugins` folder.

When I restarted Reaper ReaLive, the error messages had disappeared everything seemed to be working. The only thing is the size of the window was bigger than my screen but that wasn't a problem as it resized correctly on clicking the window maximize button.

Look forward to looking around and working out how it all works, but I think that's probably it for tonight.

EDIT: I should restate, for anyone reading that this is on a Windows computer.
pyrannial is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2021, 12:57 AM   #32
pyrannial
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 44
Default

I haven't really got to grips yet with ReaLive but I'm already wondering if it's overkill for what I'm after.

I was thinking whether it's possible to just implement the project tab selector as that's what I need most at the moment?

Who knows, I may be following the same thought process as you and end up needing all the elements of ReaLive but it's easier for my head to take it step by step lol.
pyrannial is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2021, 05:41 AM   #33
lexaproductions
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 671
Default

Yeah you need to install the proper jsapi and sws for your system.
There are a lot of dependence that prevent taking just the project tab list by itself.
That being said, if you stay in edit mode than it works like a simple reaper install
lexaproductions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2021, 01:27 PM   #34
pax-eterna
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 80
Default

I had a quick scan over the thread but could not see this, so I'll ask..sorry if it has already been asked in the body of a previous post...

I am planning to do this on a Windows box, but JUST in case, will it also run with Reaper on Linux?

Thanks
pax-eterna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2021, 02:00 PM   #35
lexaproductions
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 671
Default

I have no clue how Linux works...
But I would assume with the right sws/jsapi it would...
Please report back. Iím curious to know.
lexaproductions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 05:10 PM   #36
pax-eterna
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 80
Default

thanks - I am hoping it would, as it's a native reaper plug format, and assuming all else is equal haha!

Sure when I get to it I will let you know....still in that massive internal struggle with "should I, shouldn't I" re the 1. jump from Sonar to Reaper (although I am still converting projects in spare time even though I am vacillating on the decision) and 2. then Windows to Linux.
pax-eterna is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.