Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > ReaScript, JSFX, REAPER Plug-in Extensions, Developer Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-13-2024, 08:05 AM   #81
smandrap
Human being with feelings
 
smandrap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: Right here
Posts: 1,420
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Stevie_ View Post
I hope my post didn't come across as patronizing.
Absolutely not

Yea i'll turn off auto-correct, the gains are too much (OSS) for little loss
__________________
My Scripts
smandrap is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2024, 09:12 AM   #82
Talagan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Paris / France
Posts: 300
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Stevie_ View Post
You could turn off autocorrect for the runtime of the script and turn it back on, on exit. Maybe that would be a solution.
I personally have it always turned off, because it causes more damages than it does any good.
I could do this automatically in OSS but unfortunately that does not seem possible ... too bad (I could not find an action or a function in the API for that).

I'm going to ask sockmonkey72 on the MIDIUtils thread if he has an opinion about how and if it could be solved.
Talagan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2024, 09:26 AM   #83
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Black Forest
Posts: 5,063
Default

I think the action is only available in the ME:
Options: Correct overlapping notes while editing
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub
If you like or use my scripts, please support the Ukraine: Ukraine Crisis Relief Fund | DirectRelief | Save The Children | Razom
_Stevie_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2024, 09:28 AM   #84
Talagan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Paris / France
Posts: 300
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Stevie_ View Post
I think the action is only available in the ME:
Options: Correct overlapping notes while editing
Of course !! Stupid am I Thanks Stevie !
Talagan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2024, 12:37 PM   #85
MartinTL
Human being with feelings
 
MartinTL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2023
Location: Norway
Posts: 138
Default

It's ridiculous how sofisticated this thing has become in such a short while, incredible work Talagan!

Took a little while to understand all the buttons and functions, but it seems to work very well - will give it a proper go in a while!
MartinTL is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2024, 02:32 AM   #86
Talagan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Paris / France
Posts: 300
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MartinTL View Post
It's ridiculous how sofisticated this thing has become in such a short while, incredible work Talagan!

Took a little while to understand all the buttons and functions, but it seems to work very well - will give it a proper go in a while!
Thanks Martin !!

@smandrap regarding the issue you've yielded, I've published a v0.9.8 that adds disabling/reenabling the auto correction at start/end of the repitch operation. But I'm going to republish a v0.9.9 ASAP with the fix discussed in the MIDI Utils library thread. Your bug report was indeed really helpful ! Thanks !
Talagan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2024, 02:34 AM   #87
smandrap
Human being with feelings
 
smandrap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: Right here
Posts: 1,420
Default

__________________
My Scripts
smandrap is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2024, 02:53 AM   #88
Hipox
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Posts: 203
Default

Hey Talagan!
I appreciate all the effort you put into the script, it was really a missing workflow part for me as an (also) Ableton user.

If I could have one more request regarding the step back functionality - in Ableton, there's this behaviour when in Midi Editor and any midi note has status "pressed", then you can use right and left arrows on your computer keyboard to step-input, same as your script.
But when no midi note is pressed, then arrows serve purpose of navigating the midi editor - moving edit head on the grid.
I could make a script which would differentiate and trigger different scripts based on described parameters, but that would be unnecessary pain, because this behaviour is almost already implemented in your script.

When I use action Commit and no midi note is pressed, I simply navigate forward.
But this is not a case for CommitBack action - it does nothing if no note is pressed.

Would you consider adding this behaviour to your great script?

Thank you!
Hipox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2024, 03:00 AM   #89
Talagan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Paris / France
Posts: 300
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hipox View Post
But this is not a case for CommitBack action - it does nothing if no note is pressed.
Actually, the implemented behaviour should be navigating back (that's what the sustain pedal does when no notes are held). So it looks like a bug (I test the actions far less than the SP). I'm going to investigate.
Talagan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2024, 03:18 AM   #90
Hipox
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Posts: 203
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Talagan View Post
Actually, the implemented behaviour should be navigating back (that's what the sustain pedal does when no notes are held). So it looks like a bug (I test the actions far less than the SP). I'm going to investigate.
Cool, thank you!
I'm on the last dev release, Windows 11 and 0.9.8 version of your script.
Hipox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2024, 03:32 AM   #91
Talagan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Paris / France
Posts: 300
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hipox View Post
Cool, thank you!
I'm on the last dev release, Windows 11 and 0.9.8 version of your script.
Thanks! I've found the bug. It was linked to 0.9.6 :
  • [Feature] [Write] Added option to prevent the cursor from being moved back if step back delete fails (notes don’t match keys, the user missed)

In your case, the sustain pedal blocking mechanism would be triggered which is absurd. Fix will be released ASAP.
Talagan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2024, 05:12 AM   #92
Talagan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Paris / France
Posts: 300
Default

0.9.9 is out with fixes !

Changelog :
  • - [Rework] Changed toolbar icon color
  • - [Bug Fix] [Repitch Mode] Patched MIDIUtils API : successive snapped notes would be borked by the automatic overlap correction option (thanks @smandrap)
  • - [Bug Fix] [Write Mode] CommitBack action would be blocked by sustain pedal blocker if called from action (thanks @hipox !)
  • - [Bug Fix] [Write Mode] Sustain Pedal blocking system when (stepping back + miss) was broken

Thanks again for the help @smandrap, @Stevie, @hipox, @sockmonkey72 !

Last edited by Talagan; 03-14-2024 at 06:03 AM.
Talagan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2024, 06:02 AM   #93
Hipox
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Posts: 203
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Talagan View Post
0.9.9 is out with fixes !

Changelog :
  • - [Rework] Changed toolbar icon color
  • - [Bug Fix] [Repitch Mode] Patched MIDIUtils API : successive snapped notes would be borked by the automatic overlap correction option (thanks @smandrap)
  • - [Bug Fix] [Write Mode] CommitBack action would be blocked by sustain pedal blocker if called from action (thanks @hipox !)
  • - [Bug Fix] [Write Mode] Sustain Pedal blocking system when (stepping back + miss) was broken[/CODE]

Thanks again for the help @smandrap, @Stevie, @hipox, @sockmonkey72 !
My issue is fixed, thank you!
Hipox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2024, 07:49 AM   #94
Talagan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Paris / France
Posts: 300
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hipox View Post
My issue is fixed, thank you!
Woah, thanks again for the donation !!
Talagan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2024, 06:32 AM   #95
Talagan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Paris / France
Posts: 300
Default

Hey, today I've just released V0.9.10. I have completely reviewed and reworked the code to be able to make it evolve, so bugs may happen, please don't hesitate to tell me if you get some crashes.

The two new main features today are two new submodes of existing modes. They are triggered by adding the operation marker, by clicking on the light indicator of a mode.

When the marker is present the Insert Mode changes to the Stretch/Compress mode :



This mode does not input or remove notes. Instead, it compresses or stretches what's between the marker and the cursor (on sustain pedal or action trigger).

And the second new submode is the legendary ...




... STUFF MODE (original idea by @Stevie) !



The Stuff Mode is activated when you're in Replace mode and the operation marker is set. It allows to push or pop notes in and out of the time window between the marker and the cursor.

The time base for new events is the first note in the window for stuffing in, or the last note / rest in the window for stuffing out.

When inputing, you may modulate this using the note length buttons (they change to multipliers just like in grid mode).

You may also insert rests with the sustain pedal.

Here's the complete changelog for v0.9.10 :
  • [Feature] Compress/Stretch Submode
  • [Feature] Stuff Submode
  • [Enhance] Force item bound snapping if item grid snap is on
  • [Rework] PPQ Precise operations
  • [Rework] New code architecture and file hierarchy, big code rework
  • [Rework] Addind debugging support for Visual Studio Code (using mavriq lua sockets, thanks @mavriq)

Enjoy and cheers!

Ben

Last edited by Talagan; 04-06-2024 at 10:25 AM.
Talagan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2024, 08:07 AM   #96
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Black Forest
Posts: 5,063
Default

OMG, now this is really legendary!!!
Will try it as soon as I’m back in the studio!
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub
If you like or use my scripts, please support the Ukraine: Ukraine Crisis Relief Fund | DirectRelief | Save The Children | Razom
_Stevie_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2024, 10:16 AM   #97
Talagan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Paris / France
Posts: 300
Default

Hey,

I've release 0.9.11 today, with just one additional feature : a velocity limiter, because it was asked a few times :



It is very basic, with a min, a max, and two modes : linear and clamp. Here are the corresponding curves :



That's all for this release, cheers and nice week end to all

Last edited by Talagan; 04-07-2024 at 01:55 AM.
Talagan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.