Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Q&A, Tips, Tricks and Howto

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-20-2012, 10:42 AM   #1
Seventh
Human being with feelings
 
Seventh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Finland
Posts: 776
Default MIDI Guitar: Fishman TriplePlay wireless pitch-to-midi

So yeah, this looks very interesting! Developed by the guy behind Axon units.




http://www.vguitarforums.com/smf/ind...35408#msg35408
http://acapella.harmony-central.com/...itar-converter
http://www.jcfonline.com/threads/126...=1#post1483681
Old video of a prototype in action
Video footage from NAMM 2012
More video footage from NAMM 2012

Last edited by Seventh; 01-29-2012 at 04:03 PM.
Seventh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 11:06 AM   #2
lxm
Human being with feelings
 
lxm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,629
Default

Thanks for posting. I dont know why people play 4000 notes a second in demos. Drives me crazy.
lxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 11:33 AM   #3
Seventh
Human being with feelings
 
Seventh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Finland
Posts: 776
Default

That horrible sounding shredding is probably done just to demonstrate the accuracy of the tracking.
Seventh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 11:37 AM   #4
drybij
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Somewhere else
Posts: 730
Default

I have an Axon unit and if you play clean enough the tracking is flawless. I'd love to get my hands on one of these wireless things for my bass.
drybij is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 11:43 AM   #5
lxm
Human being with feelings
 
lxm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,629
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Seventh View Post
That horrible sounding shredding is probably done just to demonstrate the accuracy of the tracking.
Thats just it tho.... I think slow dynamic playing would show off the tracking much better. Its hard to pick up missed notes when there are so mnay of them per second.

Quote:
Originally Posted by drybij View Post
I have an Axon unit and if you play clean enough the tracking is flawless. I'd love to get my hands on one of these wireless things for my bass.
I had a 50 USB. Thought the tracking was awful with a Godin. Tried everything. Sceptical of anything pitch to MIDI.

Fret X is where its at IMO. LAZERS!!!! He took down his page tho Wonder whats up?
lxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 02:04 PM   #6
RunBeerRun
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 547
Default

Cool that's under $300 supposedly, then you have to nail that sucker right into your wood, not real into that idea (again).
__________________
Free Synthedit/Synthmaker plugins that I made: runbeerrun dot blogspot dot com
RunBeerRun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 04:52 PM   #7
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 20,790
Default

link please? money in hand. ready to buy. lol

shoot, does it do polyphonic?
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.
Jason Brian Merrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 05:04 PM   #8
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 22,958
Default

Of course it's polyphonic, that's what hexaphonic pickups do
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 05:05 PM   #9
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 20,790
Default

ok, checkout please?
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.
Jason Brian Merrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 08:56 PM   #10
Seventh
Human being with feelings
 
Seventh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Finland
Posts: 776
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RunBeerRun View Post
Cool that's under $300 supposedly, then you have to nail that sucker right into your wood, not real into that idea (again).
Don't those hexaphonic pickups use some kind of tape attachment or something? I don't think you'll have to do any nailing to fit it in..
Seventh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 08:57 PM   #11
Hindu Stan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 115
Default

Does this need a midi converter box like GR55? or will the Fishman USB in cpu convert to midi? Anybody know?
Hindu Stan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 06:53 AM   #12
Seventh
Human being with feelings
 
Seventh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Finland
Posts: 776
Default

The conversion happens in the device itself, no additional converters needed.
Seventh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 07:00 AM   #13
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 20,790
Default

I would also like to see how to attach this thing - would be nice to be able to move it from one guitar to another easily.... thats probably wishful thinking tho.
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.
Jason Brian Merrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 08:03 AM   #14
Polaris20
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Seventh View Post
The conversion happens in the device itself, no additional converters needed.
Yeah and since nearly any soft synth/sampler will sound better than the GR55, this is a damn good way to go. The tracking in the 55 is slower than Axon stuff was, and the internal sounds aren't even as good as GarageBand instruments. :lol:
Polaris20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 08:06 AM   #15
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 20,790
Default

ok so where do i buy this thing already
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.
Jason Brian Merrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 08:12 AM   #16
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 22,958
Default

Nowhere yet, I think.
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 08:13 AM   #17
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 20,790
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
Nowhere yet, I think.
how about now?
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.
Jason Brian Merrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 10:25 AM   #18
CloseToTheEdge
Human being with feelings
 
CloseToTheEdge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Close to the edge, down by a river
Posts: 208
Default

It could use a little longer cable so that the transmission unit can be mounted around/on the strap end-pin instead of on the top of the guitar. Not everyone who might be interested in this plays a beater guitar, and some of us don't want plastic crap hanging off the top of our guitars. o_O
__________________
—Registered REAPER user
CloseToTheEdge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 12:42 PM   #19
Seventh
Human being with feelings
 
Seventh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Finland
Posts: 776
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
Nowhere yet, I think.
IIRC, according to the rumors the due date is in the second quarter. "Before summer" they said I think.
Seventh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 12:43 PM   #20
Seventh
Human being with feelings
 
Seventh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Finland
Posts: 776
Default

I wonder if the pickup can be placed on the other side of the bridge pickup... I don't think I can fit that thing between the bridge pu and tailpiece damn mounting ring.
Seventh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 12:44 PM   #21
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 20,790
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Seventh View Post
IIRC, according to the rumors the due date is in the second quarter. "Before summer" they said I think.
maybe i can freeze myself so as not to bear the pain of waiting
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.
Jason Brian Merrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 01:14 PM   #22
Polaris20
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CloseToTheEdge View Post
It could use a little longer cable so that the transmission unit can be mounted around/on the strap end-pin instead of on the top of the guitar. Not everyone who might be interested in this plays a beater guitar, and some of us don't want plastic crap hanging off the top of our guitars. o_O
I agree, but this has unfortunately always been the problem of the Roland stuff too. Cool device, ugly thing stuck to your guitar.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Brian Merrill View Post
maybe i can freeze myself so as not to bear the pain of waiting
I know what you mean. I've got a GK3/GI20 combo right now, and while I like it, I know this will be faster/more accurate and therefore less frustrating.

Last edited by Polaris20; 01-21-2012 at 01:15 PM. Reason: spelling error.
Polaris20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 01:17 PM   #23
jonwormwood
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 167
Default

This was posted on youtube by the creator

"It is just as fast as the Axon (which is the theoretical minimum of latency allowed by physics), but the error rate is much lower."

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5WCIX...eature=related

EDIT: Who is also the creator of the axon
jonwormwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 02:46 PM   #24
RunBeerRun
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 547
Default

That's cool it's comparable to the Axon, never tried one myself.

Yeah you should be able to basically tape it on, even if that's not included. That's not necessarily so sturdy though. I had a Roland one that did that before.
__________________
Free Synthedit/Synthmaker plugins that I made: runbeerrun dot blogspot dot com
RunBeerRun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 04:20 PM   #25
lxm
Human being with feelings
 
lxm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,629
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonwormwood View Post
This was posted on youtube by the creator

"It is just as fast as the Axon (which is the theoretical minimum of latency allowed by physics), but the error rate is much lower."

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5WCIX...eature=related

EDIT: Who is also the creator of the axon
Heard some squaks and funky notes in there. Not too excited by this.....
lxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 11:03 PM   #26
jonwormwood
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 167
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lxm View Post
Heard some squaks and funky notes in there. Not too excited by this.....
I'm sure an engineer as crafted as he is doesn't have the best technique.

Did you see the video in the OP

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bCGru...5&feature=plcp
jonwormwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 11:50 AM   #27
Udo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2
Default

In case you didn't know, it was developed by the sane guy who developed the Axon technology, Andras Szalay.
Udo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 01:51 PM   #28
lxm
Human being with feelings
 
lxm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,629
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonwormwood View Post
I'm sure an engineer as crafted as he is doesn't have the best technique.

Did you see the video in the OP

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bCGru...5&feature=plcp
Yeah, hard to tell when 1000 notes a second are flying by......
lxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 02:11 AM   #29
cc_
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 256
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Brian Merrill View Post
I would also like to see how to attach this thing - would be nice to be able to move it from one guitar to another easily.... thats probably wishful thinking tho.
There will be a magnetic mounting like a macbook power lead, so you can move it.
cc_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 02:16 AM   #30
cc_
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 256
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CloseToTheEdge View Post
It could use a little longer cable so that the transmission unit can be mounted around/on the strap end-pin instead of on the top of the guitar. Not everyone who might be interested in this plays a beater guitar, and some of us don't want plastic crap hanging off the top of our guitars. o_O
I'm not sure what the max length of the cable is, but it should be longer than in the pictures. I think you can tuck any extra cable away behind the unit.
cc_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 02:37 AM   #31
philait
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Newcastle - UK
Posts: 567
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cc_ View Post
There will be a magnetic mounting like a macbook power lead, so you can move it.
For those of us with Trussart Guitars only?

Sounds interesting, I've in the past Owned an Axon (It sadly died) and currently have a GR55, which to be brutally honest is very close (Imperceptably so) in performance to the Axon. You can believe me or not but the only person I know who thinks it's too slow is a million miles an hour Shredder, he also thought the axon was too slow.
philait is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 07:22 AM   #32
Seventh
Human being with feelings
 
Seventh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Finland
Posts: 776
Default

Video footage from NAMM
Seventh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 08:05 AM   #33
anokah
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Norway
Posts: 409
Default

I do believe this is the stuff I´ve been waiting for forever
anokah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 12:31 PM   #34
Seventh
Human being with feelings
 
Seventh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Finland
Posts: 776
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anokah View Post
I do believe this is the stuff I´ve been waiting for forever
Yeah, it really looks like it's finally here =) about the time I'd say.
Seventh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 12:46 PM   #35
lxm
Human being with feelings
 
lxm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,629
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Seventh View Post
fak me. i will eat some crow now. looks amazing from that vid. $ in hand mofos! June is far away
lxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 03:00 PM   #36
White Tie
Pixel Pusher
 
White Tie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Blighty
Posts: 2,492
Default

I'd urge optimistic caution until until you've actually played it. My "Roland Strat > Axon > 6 Olgas" setup really scares the clergy, but there's always a disappointed 'oh' when I hand the guitar over because a) I've got used to it and b) really short delays can't be seen by the observer, only felt by the player. I think my setup is splendid, I bet this one is even better. But it won't be perfect.
__________________
The House of White Tie
White Tie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 04:22 PM   #37
Seventh
Human being with feelings
 
Seventh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Finland
Posts: 776
Default

Wireless, improved Axon for under 300$? To be honest I really don't see much need for caution here.
Seventh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 06:44 PM   #38
lxm
Human being with feelings
 
lxm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,629
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Seventh View Post
Wireless, improved Axon for under 300$? To be honest I really don't see much need for caution here.
what is it going to cost?
lxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 11:20 PM   #39
audioguytodd
Human being with feelings
 
audioguytodd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,050
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lxm View Post
what is it going to cost?
Well, my best guess is $295 or $299
But that is cheap at any under $300 price.
__________________
Comp Specs: WIN XPSP3, Q6600, ASUSP5K, 3 GB PC6400 RAM, Focusrite Saffire, AlphaTrack, lots of plugins and hardware.
audioguytodd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2012, 09:54 AM   #40
lxm
Human being with feelings
 
lxm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,629
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by audioguytodd View Post
Well, my best guess is $295 or $299
But that is cheap at any under $300 price.
Seems pretty reasonable if it performs well.
lxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.