Old 01-03-2019, 10:03 PM   #1
Ivo Sedlacek
Human being with feelings
 
Ivo Sedlacek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 280
Default Missing "revolver" tracks in Reaper

This feature is common in ProTools, Samplitude etc. and I cannot somehow find it in Reaper. The point is simple: to be able to create and switch to several versions of the same track. For example - in various times you would create various versions of the same "violin" take. Instead of creating several individual tracks, it would all remain in one track "violin" but you would be able to switch between violin 1 - to violin X and finally select the one you like the most or combine them.

I am missing this option a lot unless I overlooked something.
Ivo Sedlacek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2019, 07:24 AM   #2
martifingers
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,647
Default

Hi Ivo. This sounds like a very basic function of REAPER. You don't even need to do anything special! See Kenny's video for an explanation:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ilX2FOyu_Ts
martifingers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2019, 07:35 AM   #3
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 22,942
Default

That sounds very much like the "Playlist" feature from ProTools, and for that Sexan has been working on a script (or set of scripts), which looks pretty good.

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=203828
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2019, 11:25 AM   #4
Ivo Sedlacek
Human being with feelings
 
Ivo Sedlacek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 280
Default

I don't mean the common "comping" (i.e. recording the same track several times over).

I mean the possibility to have many versions of the same track (also openable in other tracks) that you can create and select the one you want. But not seeing them all together - just selecting one version of the track (and at the same time you cam select another version of the same track in another track). It is so practical.

Perfect explanation here (the part Revolver tracks): https://www.soundonsound.com/techniques/comp-together
Ivo Sedlacek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2019, 11:28 AM   #5
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 22,942
Default

Yes, that's also what Sexan's script covers, IIRC (I could be wrong, too - but I vaguely recollect him saying that it should cover for that possibility too, somewhere). Go through that linked thread and see the many GIFs.
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2019, 11:40 AM   #6
Ivo Sedlacek
Human being with feelings
 
Ivo Sedlacek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 280
Default

Looks a bit complicated ? Also not clear if it is available and how ...
Ivo Sedlacek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2019, 12:29 PM   #7
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 22,942
Default

Well, just post any questions in that thread, Sexan will respond eventually?
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2019, 12:56 PM   #8
Ivo Sedlacek
Human being with feelings
 
Ivo Sedlacek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 280
Default

I think if Reaper thinks of some new features (for V6 etc.), it should be maybe one of them ?
Ivo Sedlacek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2019, 01:05 PM   #9
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 22,942
Default

I wouldn't hold my breath
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2019, 10:04 AM   #10
skippertag
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 395
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ivo Sedlacek View Post
I don't mean the common "comping" (i.e. recording the same track several times over).

I mean the possibility to have many versions of the same track (also openable in other tracks) that you can create and select the one you want. But not seeing them all together - just selecting one version of the track (and at the same time you cam select another version of the same track in another track). It is so practical.

Perfect explanation here (the part Revolver tracks): https://www.soundonsound.com/techniques/comp-together

isn't the Comping function in Reaper exactly what you're loking for? Just save a collection of comped takes as a comp to recall at any time?
skippertag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2019, 10:34 AM   #11
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 22,942
Default

Nope, it's not the same thing.
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2019, 11:01 AM   #12
skippertag
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 395
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
Nope, it's not the same thing.
at least maybe close enough?
skippertag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2019, 11:45 AM   #13
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 22,942
Default

No, it's totally a different thing.
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2019, 12:12 PM   #14
Jack Ruston
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 218
Default

Ivo this comes up again and again. Reaper basically operates an item and selection based approach. The item container can host alternate takes but the track cannot host multiple versions of its timeline, in the way that this function tends to operate elsewhere. A lot of us feel the loss of this ability quite keenly, while others are perfectly happy without it. It seems to me that there's room for both approaches at the same time, but whether Justin feels the same way is another question. I have no idea how complicated this might prove to implement either.

Anyways. That's the current situation. We use another track.

J
__________________
www.jackruston.com
Jack Ruston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2019, 05:12 PM   #15
skippertag
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 395
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
No, it's totally a different thing.
okay. Thanks
skippertag is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.