Old 07-19-2007, 06:26 PM   #1
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,090
Default Track Notepad VST plug-in

Update 2019: I wrote this plugin in 2007 as a regular old user, a year before I started working with Justin. I don't even think I have the source code any more. For anyone looking for updates, sorry! This plugin has been left on the ash heap of history.




Update: if the transport is playing or paused, the notepad now inserts the play position time in front of each line of text. If the transport is in any other state, no timestamp is inserted.

Update 26 Nov: The scrollbar is now automatable, useful for lyrics and whatnot.

Update 4 Nov: At some point this stopped restoring its text properly when you reopen a project, but it's now fixed. Also I generalized the code so it should work in any DAW host (although the nifty timestamping only works in Reaper, and many hosts may eat action keystrokes instead of passing them to the plugin).

Here is a plugin that's nothing but a notepad. You can put a notepad on any track, or on every track, or before each effect on every track, or whatever you want to do. Each notepad should automatically save its text when closed and reopened. The notepad doesn't use any resources when it's not open, and (of course) doesn't touch the audio signal.

With Reaper 1.877 or later, the notepad will automatically collect all keystrokes when its window has focus. (With earlier builds, keyboard actions will not make it to the notepad, for example typing "space" will start the transport, etc.) BIG thanks to Justin for adding this hook in 1.877.

Please let me know if anything seems wrong (fine to PM). Remember this is a VST and not a Jesusonic effect, so it should go wherever your other VSTs are.

It looks like this:

.


Download here:
https://stash.reaper.fm/v/4836/TrackNotepad.zip

Last edited by schwa; 04-18-2019 at 01:21 PM. Reason: link to stash
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2007, 01:15 AM   #2
funkster1
Human being with feelings
 
funkster1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Planet Groove
Posts: 822
Default

Nice one, schwa,

makes it a lot easier to take notes of different FX settings i.e., so experimenting will be more fun.
I could see it being useful also for quick notation of a chord change, some lyrics or whatever creativity sends to your brain in a flashy moment.

Will test and report back.
Thank you

Raphael
funkster1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2007, 01:52 AM   #3
Alex Stone
Human being with feelings
 
Alex Stone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Reaper Fine Arts Department
Posts: 1,607
Default Notepad.

Schwa.
I have long yearned for a 'Note' ability in projects, particularly on a track by track and item by item basis.
I've just tried yours, and this may well be user error, but i can only make notes by opening the fx and typing in text. Is this what it is designed to do, or am i missing a trick somewhere? I can see the usefulness of this, but i'd really like to put notes in a track, at key points for orchestration, etc... and be able to read those notes as the song progresses.

I have this in my VST folder, and it works as a normal VST so far.

Any help would be appreciated, because if i can use notes inserted and readable as text in the main window in Items, then i'll be very happy indeed.

Alex.
Alex Stone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2007, 02:21 AM   #4
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: City
Posts: 10,298
Default

Alex, what you need is an extra marker track of variable height, or with an extra text box when you edit it. Or markers should have a NOTES box, which is what PT does.
__________________
Dialogue/FX Editor & Re-Recording Mixer
(Video)Using Latch Preview
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom

Last edited by airon; 07-20-2007 at 02:59 AM.
airon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2007, 02:43 AM   #5
Alex Stone
Human being with feelings
 
Alex Stone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Reaper Fine Arts Department
Posts: 1,607
Default Text notes and....

Airon,
That would useful indeed.
I've just started a FR thread, asking for the team to consider a dedicated 'text track'.
I like the idea of this being near the marker track though. Always visible, and no need to scroll. I like the idea of a text track for inserting 'text items' as and when i need them.

Alex
Alex Stone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2007, 06:15 PM   #6
Diogenes
Human being with feelings
 
Diogenes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: A place that allows me to protect myself...
Posts: 8,245
Default

I still want something like this tied to markers... see http://www.cockos.com/forum/showpost...1&postcount=15

D
Diogenes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2007, 03:39 PM   #7
Tallisman
Human being with feelings
 
Tallisman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: in the middle of the icecube.
Posts: 7,405
Default

Thanks for this... i have yet to try it, but in conjunction with the new offing of FX this could come in handy as a way of never having to remove the steps taken for extra CPU and having a description of all the offlined FX.
__________________
.t

_____________________________
http://jomei.bandcamp.com <--My Middle Son.

http://tallisman.bandcamp.com <--Me.

"Excuse me. Could you please point me in the direction of the self-help section?"
Tallisman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2007, 07:30 PM   #8
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,090
Default

Updated in the first post: if the transport is playing or paused, the notepad now inserts the play position time in front of each line of text. If the transport is in any other state, no timestamp is inserted.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2007, 08:38 PM   #9
Jed
Human being with feelings
 
Jed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 916
Default

Genious stuff!! And F!@#ing useful

Thanks heaps schwa

Cheers
Jed
__________________
Jeds Music:
https://www.youtube.com/user/Stratguy10
Jed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2007, 09:17 PM   #10
FleetAdmiralO
Human being with feelings
 
FleetAdmiralO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 91
Default

Could someone tell me where to put this file...like normally...i just got reaper and this is a really nice plugin? Could someone please tell me where it goes??
FleetAdmiralO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2007, 09:26 PM   #11
FleetAdmiralO
Human being with feelings
 
FleetAdmiralO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 91
Default

nevermind...i got it.....
FleetAdmiralO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2007, 09:30 AM   #12
Bevosss
Human being with feelings
 
Bevosss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Propaganda Now! 100% verified propaganda right here...
Posts: 8,134
Default

Really useful plugin Schwa, thanks a lot!
Bevosss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2007, 04:34 PM   #13
fluffy
Human being with feelings
 
fluffy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Port Neches, Texas
Posts: 1,949
Default

Thanks again for this schwa! Very, very useful plug.

Excellent work.
__________________
IT'S A TROMBONE !!!
fluffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2007, 05:37 PM   #14
pipelineaudio
Mortal
 
pipelineaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wickenburg, Arizona
Posts: 13,118
Default

Remember the reaper project file *.rpp is human readable, and you can do script stuff with it.

And now reaper can store offline states

Im not telling you TO ride the skatepark, but Im not telling you NOT to ride the skatepark
__________________
REAPER Shirts are Back! - https://shop.spreadshirt.com/pipelineaudio/
pipelineaudio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2007, 05:54 PM   #15
Tallisman
Human being with feelings
 
Tallisman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: in the middle of the icecube.
Posts: 7,405
Default

I love the timestamp feature!
fantastic addition.
__________________
.t

_____________________________
http://jomei.bandcamp.com <--My Middle Son.

http://tallisman.bandcamp.com <--Me.

"Excuse me. Could you please point me in the direction of the self-help section?"
Tallisman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2007, 06:16 PM   #16
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,090
Default

Credit where due, the timestamp idea came from new user Cymbals over in this other thread.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2007, 07:49 PM   #17
cyberturbo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 293
Default

I just noticed this now. Thank you so much schwa!
cyberturbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2007, 07:19 PM   #18
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,090
Default

User "horn" let me know that this plugin stopped remembering its saved text properly, so I fixed that, it now saves and restores its state properly again. While I was in there I generalized things so it should work in any DAW host, though the timestamping feature works only in Reaper, and also many hosts may eat action keystrokes before passing them on to plugins (for example if the spacebar means "stop the transport" in the host, the host may not pass the spacebar keystroke on to a plugin).

Anyway.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 09:18 AM   #19
XonXoff
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 306
Default

Hey, this is cool. Thanks.

Without re-opening the whole "should EQ be a plugin or a built in part of a track?" debate, does anyone else think it would be cool to have a smallish (50 chars?) placeholder for notes built into each track? Has this been discussed before?

Sometimes I just want to record a few notes about the track without having to load a plugin to do it or reach for a notepad? (eg. which mic, instrument, preamp etc). At the moment I use the track name - which is not ideal but does sort of work is using suitable abbreviations.
XonXoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 02:41 PM   #20
spikemullings
Human being with feelings
 
spikemullings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: East London
Posts: 1,697
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
User "horn" let me know that this plugin stopped remembering its saved text properly, so I fixed that, it now saves and restores its state properly again.
Erm, I can't get this to work. Whatever I do, I cant get it to recall the text.

Which is unfortunate because this would be really useful.

Edit - Yes I can! But you've got to open it from the TCP and not the MCP when you enter the text. Then and only then does it recall.
Move along, nothing to see here.

Last edited by spikemullings; 11-05-2007 at 02:46 PM.
spikemullings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 02:53 PM   #21
Bevosss
Human being with feelings
 
Bevosss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Propaganda Now! 100% verified propaganda right here...
Posts: 8,134
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spikemullings View Post
Edit - Yes I can! But you've got to open it from the TCP and not the MCP when you enter the text. Then and only then does it recall.
It's entering and recalling from either tcp or mcp here...did you make sure you had clicked inside the notepad when entering?
__________________
The media are misleading the public about Syria:
https://www.bostonglobe.com/opinion/...tcK/story.html
Bevosss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 03:13 PM   #22
spikemullings
Human being with feelings
 
spikemullings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: East London
Posts: 1,697
Default

Ah right, I'll tell you what I did.

I had the notepad on the track and opened it from the insert panel on the MCP - that's why it didn't work.
spikemullings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 03:28 PM   #23
Bevosss
Human being with feelings
 
Bevosss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Propaganda Now! 100% verified propaganda right here...
Posts: 8,134
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spikemullings View Post
Ah right, I'll tell you what I did.

I had the notepad on the track and opened it from the insert panel on the MCP - that's why it didn't work.
Same here, and it still works for me...
__________________
The media are misleading the public about Syria:
https://www.bostonglobe.com/opinion/...tcK/story.html
Bevosss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 03:36 PM   #24
spikemullings
Human being with feelings
 
spikemullings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: East London
Posts: 1,697
Default

[breaks down weeping]

Yes it works for me too.

I now realise that while I went back and downloaded Schwa's updated vst that dealt with this problem, I didn't actaully swap it in the project. I just tried it with a new project (so the new version of notepad) and of course it works.

You're not going to believe me now, but I actually do get through most days without expiring through sheer cretinousness. What is about webforums that awakes my inner fuckwit?

Anyway thanks Bevosss
spikemullings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2007, 02:02 PM   #25
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,090
Default

Now with automatable scrollbar.

Silly demo (warning: 1+ MB animated gif).
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2007, 02:16 PM   #26
Tallisman
Human being with feelings
 
Tallisman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: in the middle of the icecube.
Posts: 7,405
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
Now with automatable scrollbar.

Silly demo (warning: 1+ MB animated gif).
brilliant!
gone are the days of having word open in the Bg!

.t
__________________
.t

_____________________________
http://jomei.bandcamp.com <--My Middle Son.

http://tallisman.bandcamp.com <--Me.

"Excuse me. Could you please point me in the direction of the self-help section?"
Tallisman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2007, 02:35 PM   #27
spikemullings
Human being with feelings
 
spikemullings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: East London
Posts: 1,697
Default

Whaddya mean silly? Its genius.
spikemullings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2007, 12:20 AM   #28
richlum
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sydney
Posts: 291
Default

Wow I just tried this it's awesome!

Thanks Schwa!
richlum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2007, 01:33 PM   #29
plamuk
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3,221
Default

jesus, dude, that could make a fantastic teleprompter for a vocalist. there are some real brains floating around here.
plamuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2007, 10:53 PM   #30
digaldeman
Human being with feelings
 
digaldeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: In Da Club
Posts: 287
Default

I cant get the plugin to show up. I did the following:
-unzipped the folder
-placed the dll file in my vst folder.
-rescanned the VST plugin directory
-typed "notepad" in the Filter List box

After those steps I still cant find the plugin. I've also closed/reopened REAPER. What am I doing wrong?
digaldeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2007, 12:14 PM   #31
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,090
Default

Try again?
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2008, 03:40 AM   #32
phonofranz
Human being with feelings
 
phonofranz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Padova, Italy
Posts: 461
Default

Just (D)awsome ! Really usefull stuff...

Headache generator mode: ON :-) >> Is there any way to format text ? Font, colors, dimension ? (blush) I'm not a karaoke fan, but reading scrolling small fonts on hi res monitors can be difficult in some cases (eg. distant position on top of a mixer, between speakers.. and so on)...
So let's make it a Track Wordpad VST plug-in... :-)
__________________
Franz[.]Suono - Studio di Registrazione
http://www.franzsuono.com https://www.facebook.com/franzpuntosuono
phonofranz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2008, 11:09 AM   #33
w00t
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 133
Default

nice schwa!!!!! hate to sound like an ingrateful sloth, but any plans to add more features? of course formatting text,(re)sizeability, font of your choice, theming, img support (could be good for pasting guitar chords or small chord progressions and other doodles scanned in from a notebook doodled away from comp etc)



really cool thanks
w00t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2008, 07:07 PM   #34
plush2
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Saskatoon, Canada
Posts: 1,826
Default

Great work Schwa. Ungrateful sloth #2 here...would it be possible to make the timecode format and value follow the currently selected ruler?
__________________
mymusic - http://music.darylpierce.com
mywork - http://production.darylpierce.com
plush2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 10:52 AM   #35
chip mcdonald
Human being with feelings
 
chip mcdonald's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: NA - North Augusta South Carolina
Posts: 3,587
Default

I haven't tried it yet... seems like more than I want/need, I'd just like the Reaper txt popup that you can have show up on program load to also pop on program close. My desk looks like a Post-It Note factory vomited on it.
__________________
]]]>-guitar lessons - www.chipmcdonald.com-<[[[
Experiencing Guitar: Essays from Teaching by Chip McDonald https://www.amazon.com/dp/1521877823..._QZJxAbA4GVDC1
chip mcdonald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2008, 12:05 AM   #36
w00t
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 133
Default

oh yeah, and perhaps an option to "save text/file as default template"...maybe this can work with a patch i guess?


ah, feel free to ignore me if necessary
w00t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2008, 08:54 AM   #37
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,090
Default

Hi guys, I'm making notes of all these FRs, but realistically I won't be getting to updating this for a couple of weeks, at least. But I do appreciate all the suggestions.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 08:23 AM   #38
digaldeman
Human being with feelings
 
digaldeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: In Da Club
Posts: 287
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by w00t View Post
formatting text,(re)sizeability, font of your choice
+1

Thanks schwa, this is a very useful plugin. I'm using it for lyrics but its kinda hard to read the small font size.
digaldeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2008, 05:20 AM   #39
labyrinth
Human being with feelings
 
labyrinth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 2,248
Default Yes this is the best vst

It is genius and now that we have track effects just for that clip...it works just on that clip!

You're great Schwa!!!
__________________
www.res-ref.com | Resonant Reflections
iMac 3.2 GHz (i5 4570)/16GB RAM | OSX 10.10 (Yosemite) | Interface: Focusrite 18i6
labyrinth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2008, 04:09 PM   #40
Deric
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 794
Default

Hey schwa,

Thanks for this!

Now that you're 'on the inside'...

What's the chance of us getting a 'linear' (track-type) version...?

[Would go spiffingly with in-track MIDI editing, and notation track types too...]



Cheers

Deric.
__________________
REAPER? Oh yes...
Deric is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.