Old 05-22-2019, 04:06 AM   #321
udaemon
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 24
Default reaper crashes with u-he "triple cheese"

salut,

I experienced a series of reaper crashes using u-he's wonderful "triple cheese" synth plugin (linux vst). I tried different jack-settings but nothing changed.

I post the message from the log:

Code:
Process 15411 (reaper) of user 1000 dumped core.

Stack trace of thread 15433:
#0  0x00007fd5ea1ee7a6 n/a (/home/udaemon/.u-he/TripleCheese/TripleCheese.64.so)
I don't know if it's due to my system settings (antergos/arch linux x64 w/ stock arch kernel 5.1.3 PREEMPT, i5-6300U CPU @ 2.40GHz × 4, 8GB ram, rtprio set to 98) or if the problem lies within reaper (or my almost-stock configuration of reaper) or with triple cheese.

any hints are very appreciated. thank you!

----------------------------------------------------------------------------
EDIT: I'm still experiencing crashes, but they don't solely occur when I use u-he-plugins, but also with different (linux native) vst-synths like wolpertinger or vex and furthermore they are dependant on the plugin's settings.

if any of you have questions concerning linux native u-he plugins you might find help in their official linux-forum https://www.kvraudio.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=292.

as for the mentioned reaper crashes I still don't know what to do except for avoiding certain plugin presets/settings and hoping it will not crash. the logs are not very helpful - at least to me.

maybe someone sees the problem having a look at the logs. therefor I post the usual messages of qjackctl concerning these crashes:
Code:
Fri May 24 21:57:01 2019: ERROR: JackEngine::XRun: client = REAPER was not finished, state = Triggered
Fri May 24 21:57:01 2019: ERROR: JackAudioDriver::ProcessGraphAsyncMaster: Process error
Fri May 24 21:57:01 2019: ERROR: JackEngine::XRun: client = REAPER was not finished, state = Triggered
Fri May 24 21:57:01 2019: ERROR: JackAudioDriver::ProcessGraphAsyncMaster: Process error
Fri May 24 21:57:01 2019: ERROR: Cannot write socket fd = 20 err = Connection reset by peer
Fri May 24 21:57:01 2019: ERROR: CheckRes error
Fri May 24 21:57:01 2019: ERROR: Could not write notification
Fri May 24 21:57:01 2019: ERROR: ClientNotify fails name = REAPER notification = 3 val1 = 0 val2 = 0
Fri May 24 21:57:01 2019: ERROR: Cannot write socket fd = 20 err = Broken pipe
Fri May 24 21:57:01 2019: ERROR: CheckRes error
Fri May 24 21:57:01 2019: ERROR: Could not write notification
Fri May 24 21:57:01 2019: ERROR: ClientNotify fails name = REAPER notification = 3 val1 = 0 val2 = 0
Fri May 24 21:57:01 2019: ERROR: Cannot write socket fd = 20 err = Broken pipe
Fri May 24 21:57:01 2019: ERROR: CheckRes error
Fri May 24 21:57:01 2019: ERROR: Could not write notification
Fri May 24 21:57:01 2019: ERROR: ClientNotify fails name = REAPER notification = 3 val1 = 0 val2 = 0
Fri May 24 21:57:01 2019: Disconnecting 'system:midi_capture_2' from 'REAPER:MIDI Input 2'
Fri May 24 21:57:01 2019: Disconnecting 'system:midi_capture_4' from 'REAPER:MIDI Input 4'
Fri May 24 21:57:01 2019: Disconnecting 'system:capture_1' from 'REAPER:in1'
Fri May 24 21:57:01 2019: Disconnecting 'system:capture_2' from 'REAPER:in2'
Fri May 24 21:57:01 2019: Disconnecting 'system:capture_3' from 'REAPER:in3'
Fri May 24 21:57:01 2019: Disconnecting 'system:capture_4' from 'REAPER:in4'
Fri May 24 21:57:01 2019: Disconnecting 'REAPER:out1' from 'system:playback_1'
Fri May 24 21:57:01 2019: Disconnecting 'REAPER:out2' from 'system:playback_2'
Fri May 24 21:57:01 2019: Disconnecting 'REAPER:out3' from 'system:playback_3'
Fri May 24 21:57:01 2019: Disconnecting 'REAPER:out4' from 'system:playback_4'
Fri May 24 21:57:01 2019: ERROR: Failed to find port 'REAPER:MIDI Input 2' to destroy
Fri May 24 21:57:01 2019: ERROR: Failed to find port 'REAPER:MIDI Input 4' to destroy
Fri May 24 21:57:01 2019: ERROR: Failed to find port 'REAPER:in1' to destroy
Fri May 24 21:57:01 2019: ERROR: Failed to find port 'REAPER:in2' to destroy
Fri May 24 21:57:01 2019: ERROR: Failed to find port 'REAPER:in3' to destroy
Fri May 24 21:57:01 2019: ERROR: Failed to find port 'REAPER:in4' to destroy
Fri May 24 21:57:01 2019: ERROR: Failed to find port 'REAPER:out1' to destroy
Fri May 24 21:57:01 2019: ERROR: Failed to find port 'REAPER:out2' to destroy
Fri May 24 21:57:01 2019: ERROR: Failed to find port 'REAPER:out3' to destroy
Fri May 24 21:57:01 2019: ERROR: Failed to find port 'REAPER:out4' to destroy
Fri May 24 21:57:01 2019: Client 'REAPER' with PID 30082 is out
Fri May 24 21:57:01 2019: ERROR: Unknown request 4294967295
Fri May 24 21:57:01 2019: ERROR: CheckSize error size = 0 Size() = 12
Fri May 24 21:57:01 2019: ERROR: CheckRead error
21:57:03.406 XRUN callback (54 übersprungen).
the terminal states the following:
Code:
[udaemon@X270lx REAPER]$ ./reaper 
Cannot connect to server socket err = No such file or directory
Cannot connect to server request channel
jack server is not running or cannot be started
JackShmReadWritePtr::~JackShmReadWritePtr - Init not done for -1, skipping unlock
JackShmReadWritePtr::~JackShmReadWritePtr - Init not done for -1, skipping unlock
error creating client
audio: executing pasuspender
Cannot connect to server socket err = No such file or directory
Cannot connect to server request channel
jack: created client
jack: setting TIME_CRITICAL = 64
jack: activated client
002a:fixme:toolhelp:CreateToolhelp32Snapshot Unimplemented: heap list snapshot
002a:fixme:toolhelp:Heap32ListFirst : stub
002a:fixme:wbemprox:client_security_SetBlanket 0x7fe652b2f380, 0x47130, 10, 0, (null), 3, 3, (nil), 0x00000000
002a:fixme:wbemprox:client_security_Release 0x7fe652b2f380
0027:fixme:mountmgr:harddisk_ioctl The DISK_PARTITION_INFO and DISK_DETECTION_INFO structures will not be filled
0027:fixme:mountmgr:harddisk_ioctl The DISK_PARTITION_INFO and DISK_DETECTION_INFO structures will not be filled
002a:fixme:wbemprox:enum_class_object_Next timeout not supported
002a:err:wbemprox:wql_error syntax error, unexpected TK_ID, expecting TK_SELECT
0027:fixme:mountmgr:harddisk_ioctl The DISK_PARTITION_INFO and DISK_DETECTION_INFO structures will not be filled
0027:fixme:mountmgr:harddisk_ioctl The DISK_PARTITION_INFO and DISK_DETECTION_INFO structures will not be filled
002a:fixme:msvcp:_Locinfo__Locinfo_ctor_cat_cstr (000000000023F570 1 C) semi-stub
002a:fixme:msvcp:_Locinfo__Locinfo_ctor_cat_cstr (000000000023F0A0 1 C) semi-stub
setNumInputs ( 0 );
setNumOutputs ( 2 );
allocateArrangement ( &plugInput, 2 );
allocateArrangement ( &plugOutput, 2 );
setNumInputs ( 0 );
setNumOutputs ( 2 );
allocateArrangement ( &plugInput, 2 );
allocateArrangement ( &plugOutput, 2 );

(reaper:5461): Gdk-WARNING **: 22:31:25.604: gdk_window_set_user_time called on non-toplevel

Speicherzugriffsfehler (Speicherabzug geschrieben)
[udeamon@X270lx REAPER]$ 002a:fixme:msvcrt:__clean_type_info_names_internal (0x1804b9c58) stub
[udaemon@X270lx REAPER]$
here, in the end it says there was a memory access error ("speicherzugriffsfehler"). everytime reaper crashes with a shorter or longer constant saw-tooth-noise.


are there further logs which I could check to get some more info?

thank you!

Last edited by udaemon; 06-03-2019 at 04:48 AM. Reason: some more details to my recent post
udaemon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2019, 01:34 PM   #322
Westrabua
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 48
Default Autosave "when not recording"

I have the following configured:



Just now I've worked on tuning vocals with Melodyne, which I have running using LinVST. Sadly it crashed all of a sudden, so I wanted to restart Reaper and continue from the last autosave.

But despite those settings the last autosave was over 30 minutes ago.

Could it be that working within Melodyne is considered 'recording'?
If so, why?
Westrabua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2019, 05:56 AM   #323
udaemon
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 24
Default scrolling faders and buttons

I don't know if this is a linux native reaper bug (or a bug at all) or has to do with the window manager one uses:

I figured out I can not scroll faders and button/knobs (with one exception!) with my mouse's scrolling wheel; I attach two images to illustrate what I mean.

this is not exhaustive since there are so many faders around that I can't collect all of them here.
remarkable is, I guess, that - so far - one knob can be adjusted mouse scrolling: the "wet"-setting of an fx as shown in the second image in the top right corner.

I'm using gnome 3.32 desktop under wayland.

can anbody confirm this?
Attached Images
File Type: png scrolling01.png (12.0 KB, 9 views)
File Type: jpg scrolling02.jpg (58.4 KB, 8 views)
udaemon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2019, 12:45 AM   #324
Xasman
Human being with feelings
 
Xasman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 227
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by udaemon View Post
I don't know if this is a linux native reaper bug (or a bug at all) or has to do with the window manager one uses:

I figured out I can not scroll faders and button/knobs (with one exception!) with my mouse's scrolling wheel; I attach two images to illustrate what I mean.

this is not exhaustive since there are so many faders around that I can't collect all of them here.
remarkable is, I guess, that - so far - one knob can be adjusted mouse scrolling: the "wet"-setting of an fx as shown in the second image in the top right corner.

I'm using gnome 3.32 desktop under wayland.

can anbody confirm this?
Well, yes, that's the default behaviour (presumably to prevent accidental mousewheel changes) but it's not a bug.

Go to preferences (select Editing Behaviour-->Mouse) and uncheck "Ignore mousewheel on all faders" which seems to be checked by default.

Solves the issue here.
Xasman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2019, 02:15 AM   #325
udaemon
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 24
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xasman View Post
Well, yes, that's the default behaviour (presumably to prevent accidental mousewheel changes) but it's not a bug.
(...)
Solves the issue here.
thanks, Xasman, that solves the issue here, too. I wasn't aware of this setting since I've never touched it.
udaemon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2019, 06:59 AM   #326
yoja
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 2
Default Can't drag a pattern from MT PowerDrumKit

In Linux, I can't drag a pattern from MTPDK (as MIDI notes) to its track. It works perfectly on OS X.

When I drag and the point crosses the VST frame, the pointer changes to the drag icon with a "forbidden" sign on top (no entrance in red).

Linux platform - OpenSuse tumbleweed, Gnome, updated. I tried MTPDK using either Carla or LinVst.
yoja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2019, 07:28 AM   #327
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
JamesPeters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 2,365
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yoja View Post
In Linux, I can't drag a pattern from MTPDK (as MIDI notes) .
That's because it is a Windows plugin running with Wine in Linux. When you use it in OS X it is actually running as a proper OS X plugin.

There is a workaround here:
https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?p=2030985
__________________
http://petersamplification.com
Core i3-6300 - MSI B150M Mortar - 8 GB RAM - Asus Xonar DX - MX Linux (MX-18.3_x64) - REAPER for Linux
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2019, 08:42 AM   #328
yoja
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesPeters View Post

Thank you!
yoja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2019, 01:54 PM   #329
lilith93
Human being with feelings
 
lilith93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Karlsruhe
Posts: 192
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Need to look into that, but yeah that might be the problem.

Is this point in the latest release related to this issue?
-----------
Linux: use realtime for reaper_host_xxx if REAPER running realtime
__________________
https://soundcloud.com/lilith_93

Debian - Stretch / XFCE
lilith93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 07:04 AM   #330
lilith93
Human being with feelings
 
lilith93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Karlsruhe
Posts: 192
Default

I found a strange issue, which might be related to this:

https://forum.cockos.com/showpost.ph...&postcount=185

When I import a media item, duplicate it several times and press Undo (Ctrl+Z) all items disappear or get "minimized" respectively. Redo does not bring them back.

I'm on v5.978 at the moment, but the bug (?) also occurs in 5.91pre4.

I tried it with a default Reaper.ini file, but after some minutes the issue appears also.
It doesn't seem to be a general problem as it only affects some media items:
__________________
https://soundcloud.com/lilith_93

Debian - Stretch / XFCE

Last edited by lilith93; Today at 08:57 AM.
lilith93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 11:00 AM   #331
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
JamesPeters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 2,365
Default

I cannot duplicate your issue. (MX Linux 18_3 based on Debian Stretch, XFCE, Compton enabled). I was testing this using a Dev version of 5.978 (I forget which one since I overwrote it today) and the latest 5.979rc2. I tried using the menu to copy/paste as well as undo/redo, and I also tried using ctrl+left click/drag (to copy/paste) as well as ctrl+z (for undo) and ctrl+shift+z (for redo). It works properly every time.

I also tried with items of different lengths (since your items seem short in length), and "show overlapping media in lanes" (such as in your view) and also not with that option. I still can't reproduce the issue no matter how many times I try.

I'm beginning to wonder if your system (your particular OS install?) has some issue.

Do you have any OS-specific keyboard shortcuts assigned to any of the command shortcuts you'd normally use in Reaper? You might have to check that.
__________________
http://petersamplification.com
Core i3-6300 - MSI B150M Mortar - 8 GB RAM - Asus Xonar DX - MX Linux (MX-18.3_x64) - REAPER for Linux

Last edited by JamesPeters; Today at 11:09 AM.
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 11:24 AM   #332
lilith93
Human being with feelings
 
lilith93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Karlsruhe
Posts: 192
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesPeters View Post
I cannot duplicate your issue. (MX Linux 18_3 based on Debian Stretch, XFCE, Compton enabled). I was testing this using a Dev version of 5.978 (I forget which one since I overwrote it today) and the latest 5.979rc2. I tried using the menu to copy/paste as well as undo/redo, and I also tried using ctrl+left click/drag (to copy/paste) as well as ctrl+z (for undo) and ctrl+shift+z (for redo). It works properly every time.

I also tried with items of different lengths (since your items seem short in length), and "show overlapping media in lanes" (such as in your view) and also not with that option. I still can't reproduce the issue no matter how many times I try.

I'm beginning to wonder if your system (your particular OS install?) has some issue.

Do you have any OS-specific keyboard shortcuts assigned to any of the command shortcuts you'd normally use in Reaper? You might have to check that.
Thanks for the comment. I tried to undo with the menu entry and I get the same bad behavior. I really can't believe it's a system issue, how can this be?

Are there any other files except of Reaper.ini that store some information? Maybe I should completely remove the .config folder and install Reaper from scratch.
__________________
https://soundcloud.com/lilith_93

Debian - Stretch / XFCE
lilith93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 11:42 AM   #333
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
JamesPeters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 2,365
Default

There are a number of ini files in the Reaper resource folder (along with reaper.ini) which have stored information.

It couldn't hurt to try a fresh install. I'd back up all the files (full backup of everything in the Reaper resource folder), try the fresh install, and if the problem is solved then maybe overwrite one ini file at a time to see when the problem comes back.
__________________
http://petersamplification.com
Core i3-6300 - MSI B150M Mortar - 8 GB RAM - Asus Xonar DX - MX Linux (MX-18.3_x64) - REAPER for Linux
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 11:47 AM   #334
lilith93
Human being with feelings
 
lilith93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Karlsruhe
Posts: 192
Default

Damn... I did a fresh install and after some minutes it occurs again.
edit: I booted into a MXLinux stick install and there it's working.
__________________
https://soundcloud.com/lilith_93

Debian - Stretch / XFCE

Last edited by lilith93; Today at 12:39 PM.
lilith93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 01:10 PM   #335
lilith93
Human being with feelings
 
lilith93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Karlsruhe
Posts: 192
Default

Maybe this helps. I did some more tests and this is reproducible:
I can do undo until I load a plugin (tested with Repro-1 and Hive from U-he). After loading the plugin it's not working anymore.

This does not happen on the Live MXLinux install and it seems to be specific to my system.

__________________
https://soundcloud.com/lilith_93

Debian - Stretch / XFCE
lilith93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 01:19 PM   #336
clepsydrae
Human being with feelings
 
clepsydrae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2,371
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lilith93 View Post
I can do undo until I load a plugin (tested with Repro-1 and Hive from U-he). After loading the plugin it's not working anymore.
Can you reproduce with any non-U-he plugins?

No luck by me reproducing, but I only tried Reaper VSTs...
clepsydrae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 01:40 PM   #337
lilith93
Human being with feelings
 
lilith93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Karlsruhe
Posts: 192
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clepsydrae View Post
Can you reproduce with any non-U-he plugins?

No luck by me reproducing, but I only tried Reaper VSTs...
I tested now many other plugins (inlcuding TripleCheese and Podolski), none made any problem. After loading Repro-1 (or Hive or DIVA) the bug was there again. Do some more tests.

edit: Ok, it's for sure the U-he plugins that I bought. And this also explains why I never ran into this as I just bought them this year.

edit2: This is the terminal output when loading Repro-1

Code:
Fontconfig error: failed reading config file
Fontconfig error: failed reading config file
Fontconfig error: failed reading config file
Fontconfig error: failed reading config file
Fontconfig warning: "/etc/fonts/fonts.conf", line 100: unknown element "blank"

(reaper:8830): Gdk-WARNING **: gdk_window_set_user_time called on non-toplevel
and if this helps

Code:
ldd .u-he/Repro-1/Repro-1.64.so 
	linux-vdso.so.1 (0x00007ffc735f5000)
	libexpat.so.1 => /lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libexpat.so.1 (0x00007fa30cc0c000)
	libpthread.so.0 => /lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libpthread.so.0 (0x00007fa30c9ef000)
	librt.so.1 => /lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/librt.so.1 (0x00007fa30c7e7000)
	libdl.so.2 => /lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libdl.so.2 (0x00007fa30c5e3000)
	libuuid.so.1 => /lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libuuid.so.1 (0x00007fa30c3de000)
	libm.so.6 => /lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libm.so.6 (0x00007fa30c0da000)
	libc.so.6 => /lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libc.so.6 (0x00007fa30bd3b000)
	/lib64/ld-linux-x86-64.so.2 (0x00007fa30dbb1000)
__________________
https://soundcloud.com/lilith_93

Debian - Stretch / XFCE

Last edited by lilith93; Today at 02:41 PM.
lilith93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.