Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Q&A, Tips, Tricks and Howto

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-24-2019, 06:21 AM   #161
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2,340
Default

That's really strange! Can you try with a portable install? Either, there's a pref that I didn't take into account or something is wrong with your Reaper installation. I'll check on my second machine, too.

EDIT: just checked on my other machine (different prefs as on my DAW) and it works there, too.
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2019, 06:26 AM   #162
lowellben
Human being with feelings
 
lowellben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: They put me in a home.
Posts: 2,928
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Stevie_ View Post
That's really strange! Can you try with a portable install? Either, there's a pref that I didn't take into account or something is wrong with your Reaper installation. I'll check on my second machine, too.

EDIT: just checked on my other machine (different prefs as on my DAW) and it works there, too.
I have the most boring reaper ini config setup ever, believe me I'm 99.9999999999% positive it's not my setup.
but yes I'll happily fire up a portable test. gimme a few will report back.

I am so amped to use all your MIDI scripts because literally I've waited forever for this kindathing in Reaper so I just want this magic to work )

PS. I do use SWS if that matterss.
__________________
47.8% of statistics are made up.
lowellben is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2019, 06:31 AM   #163
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2,340
Default

It really shocks me, that it's not working for you.
We'll find out what the issue is...

SWS is fine and even needed for the majority of the scripts.
So that won't be the issue.


Quote:
I am so amped to use all your MIDI scripts because literally I've waited forever for this kindathing in Reaper so I just want this magic to work )
That was exactly my motivation to code them!
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...

Last edited by _Stevie_; 04-24-2019 at 06:56 AM.
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2019, 07:26 AM   #164
lowellben
Human being with feelings
 
lowellben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: They put me in a home.
Posts: 2,928
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Stevie_ View Post
It really shocks me, that it's not working for you.
We'll find out what the issue is...

SWS is fine and even needed for some of the scripts.
So that won't be the issue.




That was exactly my motivation to code them!
Ok. Ready for some good old fashioned "plot thickens"ness?

So here is what I just learned.

(forgive me I'm not a programmer)

First, after closing and opening Reaper, it SEEMS so far to be working as you intended But that leads to a point.

It seemed like Reaper had "froze" my mouse at some left-side screen point and it always thought it was there, even though I was literally mousing all over the place in the videos I made for you lol. Get this.

I confirmed this bug by hitting a contextual toolbar shortcut which only should appear when my mouse is hovered over the left sidebar piano roll and guess what. That toolbar appeared! which means in Reaper's eyes my mouse was OVER THE PIANO roll. Crazy!

So I guess it was Reaper, not you or me? :0 What do you make of that?
__________________
47.8% of statistics are made up.
lowellben is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2019, 07:31 AM   #165
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2,340
Default

I just checked with a clean portable install and everything worked fine.

Oh man, what an odyssey on your side

The mouse functions are provided by SWS, so I'm not sure if this is really a Reaper issue.
Do you use some kind of special mouse driver software or some mouse hovering tools?
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2019, 07:33 AM   #166
lowellben
Human being with feelings
 
lowellben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: They put me in a home.
Posts: 2,928
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Stevie_ View Post
I just checked with a clean portable install and everything worked fine.

Oh man, what an odyssey on your side

The mouse functions are provided by SWS, so I'm not sure if this is really a Reaper issue.
Do you use some kind of special mouse driver software or some mouse hovering tools?
I use a 1996 keyboard with an old mouse. I am not special in any way lol.
But at least it worked after a Reaper restart but it's so strange my mouse was being "seen"" locked somewhere, hmmm. I am going to keep testing your new scripts and let you know how awesome they are That's my morning! Hopefully you won't get any more bugs from me!
__________________
47.8% of statistics are made up.
lowellben is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2019, 07:42 AM   #167
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2,340
Default

Haha, crossing my fingers! You are the 2nd person today!
I really hope we can find the culprit.

I could remove the mouse detection... But to me it seemed to be the most logical way to take care of all use cases.

The other way would be: check if the MIDI editor is open.
But what about people who have the MIDI editor always open?
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2019, 07:48 AM   #168
lowellben
Human being with feelings
 
lowellben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: They put me in a home.
Posts: 2,928
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Stevie_ View Post
Haha, crossing my fingers! You are the 2nd person today!
I really hope we can find the culprit.

I could remove the mouse detection... But to me it seemed to be the most logical way to take care of all use cases.

The other way would be: check if the MIDI editor is open.
But what about people who have the MIDI editor always open?
No please don't remove mouse Wait until that being last resort. Honestly. I've used a lot of mouse scripts and they work fine, I'm sure it was Reaper hiccuping about my mouse position. I should have tried to find the current mouse position with pyautogui or something to see if the XY was something crazy instead of where my cursor "we saw" was instead.
That would have proved it
(that's all the programming I know lol)
Anyways, thanks for these scripts! Will let you know how my testing goes this AM.
__________________
47.8% of statistics are made up.
lowellben is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2019, 08:37 AM   #169
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2,340
Default

Okay, will leave everything as is. I really put a lot of thought into this method. I just recently adapted all my scripts to that, haha.
Would be a pity, if it didn't work!
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2019, 11:50 AM   #170
Zirrex
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Russia
Posts: 67
Default

Script: sr_Zoom MIDI editor to content.lua

Nice! Thank you.
But All Reaper scripts "Zomm to Content" work only with horizontal zoom. There is no accounting for the vertical zoom to Content. :-(
Zirrex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2019, 12:33 PM   #171
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2,340
Default

Yes, that's true no way to do that right now.
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.