Old 01-27-2019, 07:08 AM   #1
calimerox
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 30
Default crashing..

hmm i guess i did something wrong..

when i try to start reaper i get

reaper
Illegal instruction (core dumped)


and the program crashes immediately.

i did the desktopintegration install and i wonder how i could repair the installation...
calimerox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2019, 07:25 PM   #2
s wave
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Colorado
Posts: 189
Default

I would load Reaper on flash drive with a linux live os on it (I would try mint 19 cinnamon that seems like the most forgiving way imo). boot from ram... that should work ez? if not that would point to hard/software/driver conflict/problem...?
s wave is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2019, 03:12 AM   #3
calimerox
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 30
Default

thanks for your suggestion. yeah it s weird as i didnt have a problem before...

I will first try to reinstall and if no success will try your suggestion. I m on linux mint 19 on laptop and desktop and on my desktop it runs with no trouble...
calimerox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2019, 03:20 AM   #4
calimerox
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 30
Default

ah i see: i downloaded the latest linux version and this is crashing. when running an older one it just works fine..
calimerox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2019, 04:36 PM   #5
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
JamesPeters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 2,365
Default

What distro, what distro version, any mods (swapped kernels etc.)?

What version of Reaper specifically (exact number, pre-release or dev release, etc.)?

And are you certain you installed the correct version in terms of architecture (x86_64)?
__________________
http://petersamplification.com
Core i3-6300 - MSI B150M Mortar - 8 GB RAM - Asus Xonar DX - MX Linux (MX-18.3_x64) - REAPER for Linux
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2019, 03:43 AM   #6
calimerox
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 30
Default

it s reaper vers 5965 that is crashing on me.

reaper 5963 works totally fine.

I use linux mint on a thinkpad x220
$ uname -a
4.15.0-43-generic #46~16.04.1-Ubuntu SMP Fri Dec 7 13:31:08 UTC 2018 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux


I have kxstudio repos installed, but no special tweaks or configs....


I can copy both versions into a folder in home without installing, and 5965 crashes. when i run an install , same thing happens.

yes i double checked, i downloaded the 64bit version
Attached Images
File Type: png Screenshot_2019-01-30_11-42-23.png (24.6 KB, 25 views)
calimerox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2019, 11:26 AM   #7
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
JamesPeters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 2,365
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesPeters View Post
What version of Reaper specifically (exact number, pre-release or dev release, etc.)?
You didn't answer whether it was a pre-release or dev release. If not, try the latest dev release or pre-release of 5.966. It's possible whatever is causing the crash is something that's already fixed.
__________________
http://petersamplification.com
Core i3-6300 - MSI B150M Mortar - 8 GB RAM - Asus Xonar DX - MX Linux (MX-18.3_x64) - REAPER for Linux
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2019, 05:00 PM   #8
calimerox
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 30
Default

I m not sure which release it was, how can i find the difference?

I usually download them from here

https://www.reaper.fm/files/5.x/reap...ux_i686.tar.xz

are these pre-releases?
calimerox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2019, 05:02 PM   #9
cfillion
Human being with feelings
 
cfillion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 2,668
Default

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=211858
cfillion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2019, 09:28 PM   #10
calimerox
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 30
Default

gdb reaper -ex run -ex bt
GNU gdb (Ubuntu 7.11.1-0ubuntu1~16.5) 7.11.1
Copyright (C) 2016 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
License GPLv3+: GNU GPL version 3 or later <http://gnu.org/licenses/gpl.html>
This is free software: you are free to change and redistribute it.
There is NO WARRANTY, to the extent permitted by law. Type "show copying"
and "show warranty" for details.
This GDB was configured as "x86_64-linux-gnu".
Type "show configuration" for configuration details.
For bug reporting instructions, please see:
<http://www.gnu.org/software/gdb/bugs/>.
Find the GDB manual and other documentation resources online at:
<http://www.gnu.org/software/gdb/documentation/>.
For help, type "help".
Type "apropos word" to search for commands related to "word"...
Reading symbols from reaper...(no debugging symbols found)...done.
Starting program: /usr/local/bin/reaper
[Thread debugging using libthread_db enabled]
Using host libthread_db library "/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libthread_db.so.1".
[New Thread 0x7fffed67e700 (LWP 19700)]
[Thread 0x7fffed67e700 (LWP 19700) exited]
[New Thread 0x7fffed67e700 (LWP 19701)]

Thread 1 "reaper" received signal SIGILL, Illegal instruction.
0x00007fffec8987ef in juce::AudioProcessorValueTreeState::AudioProcessor ValueTreeState(juce::AudioProcessor&, juce::UndoManager*, juce::Identifier const&, juce::AudioProcessorValueTreeState::ParameterLayou t) ()
from /home/kalimerox/vst/IEM/MultiEncoder.so
#0 0x00007fffec8987ef in juce::AudioProcessorValueTreeState::AudioProcessor ValueTreeState(juce::AudioProcessor&, juce::UndoManager*, juce::Identifier const&, j---Type <return> to continue, or q <return> to quit---Quit
(gdb)
calimerox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2019, 09:36 PM   #11
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
JamesPeters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 2,365
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by calimerox View Post
I m not sure which release it was, how can i find the difference?

I usually download them from here

https://www.reaper.fm/files/5.x/reap...ux_i686.tar.xz

are these pre-releases?
Don't use an i686 version! That's for a 32-bit OS. Your processor is capable of 64-bit (I'm guessing Core i5-2520m) and your Linux distro is 64-bit based on the reports you posted (so that confirms the CPU is working for 64-bit). You want x86-64 an version. If you've installed the i686 version, remove it and install the correct x86-64 version as your first step. If that doesn't work, proceed to trying a pre-release from here (the location of pre-releases was found in the "REAPER Pre-Release Discussion" forum).
__________________
http://petersamplification.com
Core i3-6300 - MSI B150M Mortar - 8 GB RAM - Asus Xonar DX - MX Linux (MX-18.3_x64) - REAPER for Linux
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2019, 09:37 PM   #12
calimerox
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 30
Default

ok thanks for pointing me onto this, so this has been provoked by the IEM plugin suite. when i remove it, it starts fine and everything is alright.

strange enough as the IEM plugin suite states in the readme it is tested with reaper ...
calimerox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2019, 09:38 PM   #13
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
JamesPeters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 2,365
Default

So I guess you weren't using the i686 version of Reaper. Or, maybe you were...and that plugin doesn't like working in that version?
__________________
http://petersamplification.com
Core i3-6300 - MSI B150M Mortar - 8 GB RAM - Asus Xonar DX - MX Linux (MX-18.3_x64) - REAPER for Linux
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2019, 09:46 PM   #14
calimerox
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 30
Default

ah now i saw the previous post: no i was not using the 32bit version, i posted the wrong link above, sorry! that was just to demonstrate where my reaper comes from , as i was not aware of the difference between dev and pre releases.. I always used the 64 bit..

it seems that the iem plugin suite just does not work with that version of reaper, and worse, does not let reaper start up at all..?
calimerox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2019, 10:13 PM   #15
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
JamesPeters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 2,365
Default

You might want to report this as a bug on the bug reports forum. Check the guidelines in this post:

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=36653

You could also contact the author of the plugin to mention the crash in Reaper. I couldn't begin to say which would be at fault. But at least you have it narrowed down this far.
__________________
http://petersamplification.com
Core i3-6300 - MSI B150M Mortar - 8 GB RAM - Asus Xonar DX - MX Linux (MX-18.3_x64) - REAPER for Linux
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2019, 12:57 AM   #16
calimerox
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 30
Default

yes I will do that.

thanks for the link, what i dont see there is: where do i report to? is there a bug tracker or something or will i just make a bug post in one of the categories?
calimerox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2019, 07:19 AM   #17
calimerox
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 30
Default

got it , found the bug report section
calimerox is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.