Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > MIDI Hardware, Control Surfaces, and OSC

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-09-2017, 08:43 AM   #1
lakeshorephatty
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 2
Default Maschine Midi Mode - knobs will not control Reaper actions and FX.

Hi All,

Thanks in advance for any assistance. I am having an issue midi controlling plug in controls with maschines 8 knobs as shown for example in this video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qkhErfvs9YM

If I follow these exact steps and also others that I have found online I can get reaper to recognise the proper CC. When I click learn and turn the knob reaper automatically chooses the CC # corresponding to the knob, so it knows it's there.

The problem is after reaper learns the CC value I should be ready to go but the control knob on maschine does not control the plug in knob as it should.

Here is what I do know:

- I am using USB midi between maschine and the macbook

- When I go back to learn the proper CC assignment is still there.

- the maschine knobs have various midi modes:
Control Change (default setting) - seems to do nothing
Poly Pressure - not useful for controlling when tested
Channel Pressure - not useful for controlling when tested
Program Change - not useful for controlling when tested
Pitchbend - this actually moves the learned parameter a bit, but not through it's full range
MCU V-Pot - This WILL control a panner in reaper with the knob but is stuck assigned to a panner and will not control anything else
MCU Channel - This WILL control a fader in reaper with the knob but is stuck assigned to a fader and will not control anything else
MCU Master - This WILL control the master fader in reaper with the knob but is stuck assigned to the master fader and will not control anything else

- so some of the knob modes prove the knobs can be assigned and move functions. I think the general "control change" mode is best but it will not control learned plug in parameters. I tried mapping the knobs to reaper actions requiring CC as well, such as scrolling, and this also does not work.
- I can assign the buttons on maschine successfully to actions in reaper and they work.
- I have tried setting reaper's "control surface" mode to various templates, but certainly not all of them yet. I tried Mackie control universal and Yamaha O1X for starters
- I have tried starting from both mackie control template in maschine and also from a blank default template, which I am working from now to prevent double assignment of functions.
- when I turn the knobs on maschine, the CC values go up and down. Of course also in MCU modes described above they move faders and panners. I think this rules out a hardware issue.
- Also I'm assuming the general set up is all correct, since I can see the track names from reaper on the maschine screens, and I can control certain features with buttons and knobs.

So reaper can definitely be controlled from maschine midi mode, but the buttons seem to be able to be mapped in most circumstances, whereas the knobs I can't seem to get to map and control any reaper CC.

I can't be certain whether this problem is occuring with something in Maschine's set up, or reaper.

Please help!
lakeshorephatty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2017, 11:30 AM   #2
solger
Human being with feelings
 
solger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,534
Default

If i'm reading your post correctly, you already tried using the Maschine in MIDI mode, right?: https://support.native-instruments.c...r-in-MIDI-Mode

This article might also be interesting: https://support.native-instruments.c...ture-in-Reaper

Quote:
The problem is after reaper learns the CC value I should be ready to go but the control knob on maschine does not control the plug in knob as it should.
...
- so some of the knob modes prove the knobs can be assigned and move functions. I think the general "control change" mode is best but it will not control learned plug in parameters. I tried mapping the knobs to reaper actions requiring CC as well, such as scrolling, and this also does not work.
Just to clarify:

Do you mean that using CC values doesn't work correctly and the controls are acting crazy somehow?
Or that nothing happens at all?


In Reaper's MIDI/OSC Learn window, have you already tried using a different CC Mode (Absolute, Relative) along with using CC Values on the Maschine knobs?

Last edited by solger; 01-09-2017 at 12:03 PM.
solger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2017, 03:44 PM   #3
lakeshorephatty
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 2
Default

Thanks muchly for trying to help. I'll try to clarify and I'll check out the link you provided.

Quote:
Originally Posted by solger View Post
If i'm reading your post correctly, you already tried using the Maschine in MIDI mode, right?: https://support.native-instruments.c...r-in-MIDI-Mode
Yes, all of this testing is done in midi mode.

Quote:
Originally Posted by solger View Post
Just to clarify:

Do you mean that using CC values doesn't work correctly and the controls are acting crazy somehow?
Or that nothing happens at all?


In Reaper's MIDI/OSC Learn window, have you already tried using a different CC Mode (Absolute, Relative) along with using CC Values on the Maschine knobs?
Machine studio display acts predictably. When I turn a knob the value can be moved from 0-127 as expected. I tried all the maschine CC modes with the results described in my post. I did not try changing the setting of absolute or relative in reaper. I thought absolute would be best but I will test that as well. The results of testing midi mode are in my original post. When setting to "pitch bend mode" in the maschine controller editor, the knobs WILL vary the parameter I have learned, but NOT through its full range of motion. So I do have some evidence that the messages are passing from maschine to reaper in certain modes. I also get track display data on the maschine screens and can assign maschine's buttons to reaper actions. So there is some communication happening. Also, when I click "learn" and twist a knob, the proper CC value shows in reaper (such an CC 14) so reaper is aware of the knob I am turning.

But frusratingly, after the learn seems to recognize the knob, if will not affect the reaper parameter I wanted after the learn..
lakeshorephatty is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.