Old 09-13-2013, 08:59 PM   #1
@non
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 133
Default rearranging a skin

what kind of process would go into rearranging all the functions or buttons on an established theme

ie how hard is to to customize
__________________
legal notice(07/2/14)- all posts are personal & ment for reaper.fm members; information collected/disseminated to 3rd partys is in violation of privacy laws;post such (here)Immediately so appropriate penality may be negotiated

Last edited by @non; 01-24-2014 at 03:00 PM.
@non is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 01:10 AM   #2
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 17,847
Default

Given your assumption - very ! (in my opinion)

Reaper themes are defined using WALTER - a powerful, flexible definition languages, covering positions, dynamic resizing, conditional displays ...

To get an idea, have a look thorugh the WALTER Guide, downloadable from here:
http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=69767

Here's an example of WALTER, from the Guide:

Code:
clear tcp.*
set tcp.size [258 72]
set tcp.trackidx [1 3 20 16 0 0 0 0]
set tcp.foldercomp [2 3 20 20 0 0 0 0]

;meter, recmon, recmode row
set tcp.meter h>=66 [66 46 188 20 0 0 1 0] [0]
set tcp.recmon h>=66 [24 47 20 20 0 0 0 0] [0]
set tcp.recmode h>=66 [44 47 20 20 0 0 0 0] [0]
It sets the relative positions (the first 4 numbers in the [ ... ]) and absolute sizes (the second 4 numbers in the [ ... ]) for 5 display elements and only displays the last 3 if the TCP height is > 66 pixels.
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 05:07 PM   #3
Sound asleep
Human being with feelings
 
Sound asleep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 7,437
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkStar View Post
Given your assumption - very ! (in my opinion)

Reaper themes are defined using WALTER - a powerful, flexible definition languages, covering positions, dynamic resizing, conditional displays ...

To get an idea, have a look thorugh the WALTER Guide, downloadable from here:
http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=69767

Here's an example of WALTER, from the Guide:

Code:
clear tcp.*
set tcp.size [258 72]
set tcp.trackidx [1 3 20 16 0 0 0 0]
set tcp.foldercomp [2 3 20 20 0 0 0 0]

;meter, recmon, recmode row
set tcp.meter h>=66 [66 46 188 20 0 0 1 0] [0]
set tcp.recmon h>=66 [24 47 20 20 0 0 0 0] [0]
set tcp.recmode h>=66 [44 47 20 20 0 0 0 0] [0]
It sets the relative positions (the first 4 numbers in the [ ... ]) and absolute sizes (the second 4 numbers in the [ ... ]) for 5 display elements and only displays the last 3 if the TCP height is > 66 pixels.
Ok, I can see that for a big reconfigure, that would be a pain, but, let's say that all you want to do, is move the track names, from the bottom of your mixer, to right beneath your icon, would that be easy enough?

I'm just going to assume that making tcp meters horizontal would be asking too much.
__________________
Miles in your Shoes Original tune
Sound asleep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 12:42 AM   #4
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 17,847
Default

Yes, you can move the name to the top but then you'll need to move everything-else downwards to make room for it.

By contrast horizontal TCP meters is relatively easy, but you'll still need to make room for it.

Find a theme with the layouts you want and take it apart to see how it's done. You could be very brave and put your preferred image files into the theme, see what it looks like then start fixing the image size and position definitions. THat's how I started.
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 06:20 AM   #5
Sound asleep
Human being with feelings
 
Sound asleep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 7,437
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkStar View Post
Yes, you can move the name to the top but then you'll need to move everything-else downwards to make room for it.

By contrast horizontal TCP meters is relatively easy, but you'll still need to make room for it.

Find a theme with the layouts you want and take it apart to see how it's done. You could be very brave and put your preferred image files into the theme, see what it looks like then start fixing the image size and position definitions. THat's how I started.
crap, that sounds like a substantial amount of work.
__________________
Miles in your Shoes Original tune
Sound asleep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2014, 11:32 PM   #6
cincikat69
Human being with feelings
 
cincikat69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Cincinnati area...
Posts: 632
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sound asleep View Post
crap, that sounds like a substantial amount of work.
Lol! Yes, theme making is a lot of work and time. But, I enjoy it... (~:
__________________
Theme Website
cincikat69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.