Old 09-07-2017, 07:11 PM   #1
Sdulemba
Human being with feelings

Default playback issues

my name is Shane. I am very new to Reaper and plan to utilize it for midi orchestration and film music creation but very much a novice. However, I can not seem to get sound when I open up an external midi file exported from Finale or sibelius etc... I was able to follow the videos (which are amazing by the way), and I get sound when using my midi keyboard and utilize the garritan aria player. I am sure I am missing a step somewhere besides just dropping in the midi file into reaper.
I have an imac and using sierra, my interface is a presonus audiobox itwo. If I load the same midi file into finale I get playback sound.
Any help is much appreciated.
Sdulemba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2017, 04:18 AM   #2
Vasily

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sdulemba View Post
my name is Shane. I am very new to Reaper and plan to utilize it for midi orchestration and film music creation but very much a novice. However, I can not seem to get sound when I open up an external midi file exported from Finale or sibelius etc... I was able to follow the videos (which are amazing by the way), and I get sound when using my midi keyboard and utilize the garritan aria player. I am sure I am missing a step somewhere besides just dropping in the midi file into reaper.
I have an imac and using sierra, my interface is a presonus audiobox itwo. If I load the same midi file into finale I get playback sound.
Any help is much appreciated.
err, do you have some instrument playing your midi file? you need one.

in simplest case after dropping a midi to a new track, you should press 'fx' button and select your vsti/aui (I assume, that's aria player).
Vasily is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2017, 10:58 AM   #3
solger

Welcome to the Reaper Forums!

Are you using the garritan aria player on the Reaper Track with the imported MIDI file? Or a different virtual instrument?