Old 06-19-2015, 04:33 AM   #1
sirthomas
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 11
Default video thumbnail

Hi
anyone know if there is any way of getting video thumbnail in reaper?

Thanks
T
sirthomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2017, 12:15 PM   #2
randall7
Human being with feelings
 
randall7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 101
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sirthomas View Post
Hi
anyone know if there is any way of getting video thumbnail in reaper?
This is HUGE for me. I might have to change DAW if this feature does not get implement in version 6. I want adding a video media file to be split into audio and video thumbnails for film scoring using Reaper.
__________________
Registered Reaper 5.974, AMD Ryzen 7 cpu, 32GB RAM, Windows 10 x64, Sibelius 7, Various VST libraries.
randall7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2017, 05:32 AM   #3
Nip
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,421
Default

Yes, would be nice with thumbnails automatically made or manually by placing a cursor and take snapshot which can be inserted as thumbnail - on separate track or right there on video track.

I name markers to remember scenes, but still an images is an image.
__________________
----- Windows 7 Pro x64, i7-860 2.8GHz 16G, RME HDSP 9632+Ai4S+Audient ASP800, Reaper 4.7 x64 -----
Nip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2017, 09:40 AM   #4
shady
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 87
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by randall7 View Post
This is HUGE for me. I might have to change DAW if this feature does not get implement in version 6. I want adding a video media file to be split into audio and video thumbnails for film scoring using Reaper.
yah... basic necessities.
shady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2017, 04:22 PM   #5
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2,816
Default

Indeed, absolutely needed!
_Stevie_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2017, 11:11 AM   #6
Klangfarben
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 687
Default

+1 for this as well. Has someone put this in the feature request thread?
Klangfarben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2017, 11:27 AM   #7
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2,816
Default

That's a good question, pretty unsure about this.
_Stevie_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2018, 08:17 PM   #8
TobyAM
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 37
Default

+1 Please, we could really use a solution for this.
TobyAM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2019, 01:10 PM   #9
shady
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 87
Default

bump..

there should be a visual way to navigate to a certain video part.. or else you are just clicking and guessing..
__________________
twitch.tv/suprshady trying to stream REAPER stuff.. more than twice a year
shady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 11:59 AM   #10
strinxx
Human being with feelings
 
strinxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 292
Default

I'm totally with you guys!
A thumpnail-track would be just nice!
strinxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 02:15 PM   #11
Nip
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,421
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shady View Post
bump..

there should be a visual way to navigate to a certain video part.. or else you are just clicking and guessing..
You click through - once - and set named markers at scenes and timebase seconds for marker track.

Navigating markers with prev/next is what I do 98% of all timeline navigation.

Doing feature film length though - proper thumbnails are needed.

Not up to date on Reaper - but multiple marker tracks like Cubase is really useful. Hope for marker track layers(like takes) in StudioOne as well - but might take a while. You activate for various purposes.
__________________
----- Windows 7 Pro x64, i7-860 2.8GHz 16G, RME HDSP 9632+Ai4S+Audient ASP800, Reaper 4.7 x64 -----
Nip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2019, 12:15 PM   #12
blumpy
Human being with feelings
 
blumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 266
Default Video thumbnails

I just watched a ReaperMania video that came out today that shows thumbnails exist in reaper. I had no idea but I can't get my video items to display thumbnails. I also discovered that I wasn't running VLC and that to use VLC in reaper I needed the install path to be the reaper folder.... so I did that instead of running FFmpeg, but still no luck.

Anyone have any idea how to get thumbnails working in reaper? Is this a windows issue and this works on Mac without issue?
blumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2019, 12:33 PM   #13
blumpy
Human being with feelings
 
blumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 266
Default sidenote:

On a sidenote, VLC is extremely slow with zooming in and out for some reason. I've reverted back to ffmpeg because of this.
blumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2019, 12:48 PM   #14
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2,816
Default

that’s only a single thumbnail tho. you can ad d a single image file on an item, but that’s about it.
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2019, 01:05 PM   #15
blumpy
Human being with feelings
 
blumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 266
Default

oh.... that's a bummer.
blumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2019, 03:56 PM   #16
analogexplosions
Human being with feelings
 
analogexplosions's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 338
Default

If this isn't already a feature request I'd be surprised.

In the even that there isn't, lets make one for sure. I could REALLY use this.
__________________
www.dungeonbeach.com
analogexplosions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2019, 01:54 AM   #17
shady
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 87
Default

if someone doesn't make a feature request soon we might perish before this is implemented

however in the meantime one can just do it manually with a preview timeline image of the video
__________________
twitch.tv/suprshady trying to stream REAPER stuff.. more than twice a year

Last edited by shady; 09-21-2019 at 02:01 AM.
shady is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.