Old 07-14-2019, 06:48 PM   #1
randbrown
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 10
Default Reaper crashing on MacOs right-click or textbox

I have not been able to successfully run reaper on my macbook. OSX 10.13.6 (High Sierra)
Reaper x64 5.980

Reaper starts up, but as soon as I right click anything, it locks up... my cursor spins, reaper becomes unresponsive, etc. I have to force quit.

I tried to see how far I can make it without a right-click. So I added a new track, added an EQ plugin, but as soon as I tried to enter a value into a text box, it locked up again.

This is the evaluation version, I have not registered yet.

I have tried uninstalling and reinstalling. Same thing.

I tried renaming my VST and VST3 folders, in case I have some plugin that is causing it. Same thing.

I am also running Reaper (mostly) successfully on my Windows machine but it has a problem where audio stutters occasionally, so I want to try running it on my macbook to see if it's better.

Any suggestion would be great!
randbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2019, 07:10 PM   #2
randbrown
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 10
Default

Can anyone help with this? I've tried 5.983 and have the same result. The program launches, but as soon as I try to do basically anything, I get a spinning cursor and Reaper goes into a non-responding state.

Is there any command line switch to start in safe mode, etc? Any way to start without loading plugins or something?

And I should mentioned, I have registered now, but it didn't change the problem.

Last edited by randbrown; 09-19-2019 at 07:48 PM.
randbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2019, 08:19 AM   #3
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,437
Default

Next time it hangs, try the following:

1) Open Terminal.app
2) type “sudo spindump REAPER” (it will prompt you for your password)
3) Email support at cockos dot com with the report file it generates
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2019, 09:01 AM   #4
randbrown
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 10
Default

Thanks for the suggestion. I've created the spindump file and sent it to the support email.
randbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2019, 06:27 AM   #5
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,437
Default

Thanks! This issue seems very similar to this one: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=119779 (though with years and many macOS versions separating them). We'll get to the bottom of it (sent email).
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.