Old 09-19-2019, 07:06 AM   #1
mccrabney
Human being with feelings
 
mccrabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Twiddy, Alabama
Posts: 1,967
Default ctrl-dragging items results in lost fade types

1- create several items in sequence with -1.00 fades (ex: claps, where steep fades are used to cut to silence)

2- lasso select a bunch of them and ctrl-drag them to the right

3- allow them to overlap as you drag, but don't release mousebutton

4- BUG: fade type is reset after REAPER attempts to crossfade them while being dragged.

reproduced on a portable install as well

__________________
° using REAPER as host/arranger/sequencer to write instrumental beat music.
° striving for a loop-based, controller-centric midi recording/editing workflow.
° reluctantly switched to using Ableton for live performance and actually enjoying it
mccrabney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2019, 12:08 PM   #2
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,355
Default

Hmm can't seem to confirm here.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2019, 04:32 AM   #3
mccrabney
Human being with feelings
 
mccrabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Twiddy, Alabama
Posts: 1,967
Default

thanks for testing.

here it is on a portable install:



note the item placement. if you move the 2nd item to 5.1.00, this behavior doesn't happen. move it earlier, and it does happen again.



i've seen this happen a lot in complex free item positioning mode tracks, to the point where i don't trust moving fipm items over one another for fear of losing all fade nuance
__________________
° using REAPER as host/arranger/sequencer to write instrumental beat music.
° striving for a loop-based, controller-centric midi recording/editing workflow.
° reluctantly switched to using Ableton for live performance and actually enjoying it

Last edited by mccrabney; 09-22-2019 at 04:45 AM.
mccrabney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2019, 05:25 AM   #4
akademie
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 559
Default

HI mccrabney (and ED),
I already confirmed this bug (strange behavior) in the other thread some time ago (I will add link later when I find it)
akademie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2019, 02:49 PM   #5
Thonex
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 755
Default

Does it still do it when you have "Auto Crossfades Disabled"?
__________________
Cheers,
Andrew K
v5.982/64 Mac 10.12.+, i7 Quad 2.9GHz, 24GB
Thonex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2019, 02:56 PM   #6
Thonex
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 755
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thonex View Post
Does it still do it when you have "Auto Crossfades Disabled"?
Never mind, I wasn't able to repro.

However, I do remember having odd behavior similar to this when scripting fades and then moving things around manually. Were those fades derived from a script? Or did you manually drag the fade anchors to create the fades?
__________________
Cheers,
Andrew K
v5.982/64 Mac 10.12.+, i7 Quad 2.9GHz, 24GB
Thonex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2019, 05:17 PM   #7
Thonex
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 755
Default

Do yo think this is related?

https://forum.cockos.com/showpost.ph...3&postcount=18
__________________
Cheers,
Andrew K
v5.982/64 Mac 10.12.+, i7 Quad 2.9GHz, 24GB
Thonex is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.