Old 04-24-2019, 09:18 AM   #1
chrlcto
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: France
Posts: 5
Default Ghost sound clip when adding empty space

Hello,

I'm having a weird issue with one of my projects in reaper.
I set out to add a verse in a song so I created an empty space in my project.
Problem is, 3 of my tracks still play some sound in the middle of said empty space even though the timeline shows there's no sound clip there.
The ghost sound is a remnant of what sound clip used to be there before I created the empty space and not even the whole thing plays, just a fraction of it.

Any ideas?

My version is up to date.

Thank you,

Charlie

Last edited by chrlcto; 04-24-2019 at 09:29 AM.
chrlcto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2019, 07:36 PM   #2
nicholas
Moderator
 
nicholas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Van Diemen's Land
Posts: 9,158
Default

Just a hunch ... maybe you haven't fully deleted what was in the space? Try zooming in really close in case there's a remnant there.
__________________
Learning Manuals and Reaper Books
REAPER Unleashed - ReaMix - REAPER User Guide
http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/glazfolk
nicholas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2019, 01:09 AM   #3
RobertP
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Norfolk UK
Posts: 845
Default

to isolate maybe one track that has it, mute all tracks the unmute one at a time till you hear it then zoom it to hell.

Long shot, reverb tails?
__________________
Windows 7 Pro. Intel i7 3400ghz. 16GB Ram. Focusrite Scarlett 8i6. Reaper 64.

suleiman: "WTF r u ppl on abt ?"
RobertP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2019, 03:01 AM   #4
chrlcto
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: France
Posts: 5
Default

Thank you for your replies.

I already know which tracks it's coming from.
It couldn't be reverb tails. What I'm hearing are full on voices with effects.

The sounds being played are too long (a few seconds) to be just unerased bits.
Moreover the "add empty space function" doesn't normally require you to delete anything in the space you're creating.
Nothing at all in the timeline however close I zoom.
chrlcto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2019, 03:49 AM   #5
domzy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 1,573
Default

and can you see anything listed in the project bay (under media items) that's referencing the problem area?
domzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2019, 06:18 AM   #6
chrlcto
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: France
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by domzy View Post
and can you see anything listed in the project bay (under media items) that's referencing the problem area?
I just checked, nothing there either...
chrlcto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2019, 05:11 AM   #7
chrlcto
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: France
Posts: 5
Default

I'm stuck here

Is there anything in the way of technical support by the reaper team on this forum or anywhere else?
chrlcto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2019, 06:27 AM   #8
RobertP
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Norfolk UK
Posts: 845
Default

another long shot...
open the project, open a new project in a tab
copy/paste the offending items onto a track in the tab project
see how that plays. If there is more than one item do them one at a time.

Copy paste your fx from the project into the tab track, one at a time, see how it plays.

Redo anything that seems to be the root of the problem.
If you find the cause all well and good so you could delete the original track and copy/paste the tab track items and fx back into a new track in the original project.

I did this myself, but of course, did not learn what the problem was but it worked.

Good luck
__________________
Windows 7 Pro. Intel i7 3400ghz. 16GB Ram. Focusrite Scarlett 8i6. Reaper 64.

suleiman: "WTF r u ppl on abt ?"
RobertP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2019, 01:21 PM   #9
chrlcto
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: France
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RobertP View Post
another long shot...
open the project, open a new project in a tab
copy/paste the offending items onto a track in the tab project
see how that plays. If there is more than one item do them one at a time.

Copy paste your fx from the project into the tab track, one at a time, see how it plays.

Redo anything that seems to be the root of the problem.
If you find the cause all well and good so you could delete the original track and copy/paste the tab track items and fx back into a new track in the original project.

I did this myself, but of course, did not learn what the problem was but it worked.

Good luck
Thank you for your reply.
No items in the project have any problems playing on their own or in a different project.
Problem is they can be heard in a spot where there should be silence instead.
chrlcto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2019, 01:28 AM   #10
RobertP
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Norfolk UK
Posts: 845
Default

Not sure what else to suggest.

But, on the particular track, if the empty space is part of an item I would split and trim that out so you have empty track space.

Hmm, nothing is routed to that track by mistake? - not sure how that might/could happen but ...

As you know which track it is on, copy/paste items to a tabbed project track, delete the offending track, add a new track and copy/paste items back.
__________________
Windows 7 Pro. Intel i7 3400ghz. 16GB Ram. Focusrite Scarlett 8i6. Reaper 64.

suleiman: "WTF r u ppl on abt ?"
RobertP is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.