Old 12-17-2015, 06:26 AM   #1
Noahjc
Human being with feelings

Default Help: hi hat rolls in reaper?

So I've been searching YouTube, the forums, and digging into reaper looking for a way to easily do rolls with my drumset vst. I looked into the midi editor and I couldn't find any way to do it. Is there a way I can take a midi note and chop it into steps to achieve that note roll? Thanks for any help
Noahjc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2015, 06:32 AM   #2
Noahjc

I just thought of a way. I don't know how I just thought of it, I suppose I can increase the speed of a group of Hi hats or snares to get the roll effect, but I feel like there's an easier more proper way of doing it. If you couldn't tell, I'm very new to reaper and production in general.
Old 12-17-2015, 06:48 AM   #3
viscofisy

One way is to just zoom in in the Midi Editor and experiment by drawing in notes as close together as you like. You can change the appearance of the note to a triangle (or a diamond) rather than the standard bar-shape if you want, as they're easier to work with in drum hits (due to the fact that what appears as a longish bar when zoomed in can all but disappear when zoomed out; and also that you don't need to specify note-lengths* or have them cluttering the gui when using drum hits).

You can draw in notes so close that they'll sound as one note.....obviously that's a wee bit too close .....
but click&hold and drag them out a bit until you're satisfied.

Depending on your drum software, you might want to mess around with varying the velocities and/or different hi-hat sounds within one roll (if available) in order to make it sound less machine-like.
__

Or you could find a midi loop with a suitable roll and cut&paste it.

*I just checked...you can select a triangle/diamond and right click to alter note length if you need to, apparently.

Last edited by viscofisy; 12-17-2015 at 07:03 AM.
viscofisy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2015, 07:13 AM   #4
Noahjc

Quote: