Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER for Linux

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-30-2018, 09:53 AM   #41
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 20,891
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesPeters View Post
Ok dad.

Enjoy trolling the Linux forum, You know, the forum for the operating system you would rather use but are too scared to because you might have to use your brain for a few seconds.
you're right - tbh tho you look a bit more like MY dad

I guess I just want my brains focusing on music.

but then wait... why am I here?!?!?!
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.
Jason Brian Merrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2018, 10:39 AM   #42
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
JamesPeters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 2,762
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Brian Merrill View Post
you're right - tbh tho you look a bit more like MY dad
I'm 47, so I would assume that's the case.

I don't get the whole "it's too much work to use Linux" thing. There's Reaper native on Linux now. You have an RME interface. You're set. And you'll most likely see a performance increase when you switch to Linux.

But if you are an entrenched user who doesn't want to walk away from certain plugins which are Windows-only, I get it. I wouldn't want to bother bridging them either (even though other Linux users don't mind doing that).

If you're secretly trying to come out of the Windows closet (or leave the Church of Windows) and use Linux instead, we're here for you. And I'd strongly encourage making your voice heard, if that's the case, specifically to software developers who are too stubborn to make Linux versions of their plugins. Let them know Reaper is native in Linux now, and uses Linux VST. They're running out of excuses to avoid Linux. The only thing that "isn't ready for audio production" in Linux is them.
__________________
http://petersamplification.com
Using REAPER for Linux
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2018, 10:45 AM   #43
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 20,891
Default

you're right - I would want to do that. I remember back in the day just wanting my old laptop to only run music stuff. Nowadays im far too much into the multitasking.

Maybe I will try again after all, but that means I'd need a break in all the work im doing. So chances are unless I join another cult, go through another breakdown and have to move away and start anew.... I mean there's almost certain cancer in my future so maybe then. (I joke to deal with it)

FYI if you look like that at 47 good job mate
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.
Jason Brian Merrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2018, 10:48 AM   #44
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 20,891
Default

wait one fucking second.

For mobile recording, i still use my RME, it's in a rack I can detach from my other rack stuff...


and linux would actually be IDEAL since I don't want to risk my less powered laptop potentially fucking up IF linux is actually more stable...

and I don't really need all my apps on linux.

...


.....


........

ya got me, you fucker
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.
Jason Brian Merrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2018, 11:32 AM   #45
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
JamesPeters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 2,762
Default

lol. Well it wouldn't hurt to try it on a second computer anyway. I had tried Linux using dual-boot with Windows about 10 years ago, and although I could get it to work for audio (using Ardour, at the time) it certainly wasn't like using Reaper in 2018. I resolved to give it a good shot, seeing if I could live with Linux for most things and boot to Windows for audio (and maybe gradually use Linux for audio more as time went on). But the dual-boot arrangement messed up my Windows portion of the boot manager...it was a pain to fix it. So if you do plan to try dual-boot, research it in advance just in case (I hear that some distros are still a bit of a pain for this). If it's a matter of just format/install on a fresh computer though (Linux-only), it'll probably go smoothly.

So I guess choosing a distro is one of the first things to consider. What I'm using (MX Linux) is what they call "mid-weight" for a distro, but I'd call it "lightweight" compared to Windows 7. I'm not using a realtime kernel, and all I had to do was set the CPU frequency scaling to "performance" (like setting your power options in Windows to "performance" so your CPU operates at a higher frequency all the time). Oh and I had to set my video driver to the Intel one instead of the default--installed generic video driver (just a check box to tick). After that (literally, that's all I had to do), doing "apples to apples" tests (using Reaper and some Reaper plugins, both in Windows 7 and Linux), I noticed significantly better performance when loading the CPU. It's not even a subtle difference; it's around 30% more efficient and it feels more fluid too.

There's a thread on this forum about choosing a distro. You might want to look through that. I wanted to pick something which was efficient as reasonably possible, but also popular and well-maintained, has lots of different software repos for it, doesn't require much in terms of command-line stuff to maintain it, and doesn't run "too lean" (possibly having dependency issues) or run as root all the time (I want the system to be more secure). And I wanted to avoid Ubuntu-based distros because of how I feel about this (although that's me being pickier than I have to be, since Unity isn't even a thing anymore).

Another thing you might want to check in advance: if your computer's particular wireless adapter is supported. That was kind of a pain for a while, but lately apparently things are a lot better in that regard.

Oh that profile pic of me is from 10 years ago. I look the same now but with about 40% more grey hair and deeper crows feet.
__________________
http://petersamplification.com
Using REAPER for Linux

Last edited by JamesPeters; 11-30-2018 at 11:37 AM.
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2018, 11:33 AM   #46
Glennbo
Human being with feelings
 
Glennbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 4,133
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesPeters View Post
But if you are an entrenched user who doesn't want to walk away from certain plugins which are Windows-only, I get it. I wouldn't want to bother bridging them either (even though other Linux users don't mind doing that).
I look at bridging Windows plugins to Linux much as I looked at bridging 32 bit plugins when I went to 64 bit Windows. It let me keep using my plugins so I could find 64 bit replacements at my leisure, not having to worry about having no plugins to work with.

Switching it Linux did however remind me that I used to make music with no problems, using nothing more than a single DBX160, a Roland Space Echo, and an Alesis MidiVerb for effects. I'm pretty confident that I could make decent sounding recordings using nothing but good miking techniques, and decent playing as well.
__________________
Glennbo
Hear My Music - Click Me!!!
--
Glennbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2018, 11:44 AM   #47
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
JamesPeters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 2,762
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Glennbo View Post
I look at bridging Windows plugins to Linux much as I looked at bridging 32 bit plugins when I went to 64 bit Windows. It let me keep using my plugins so I could find 64 bit replacements at my leisure, not having to worry about having no plugins to work with.

Switching it Linux did however remind me that I used to make music with no problems, using nothing more than a single DBX160, a Roland Space Echo, and an Alesis MidiVerb for effects. I'm pretty confident that I could make decent sounding recordings using nothing but good miking techniques, and decent playing as well.
Yeah I used to record on a cassette-based 4-track, and using one of those tracks to sync to MIDI for a drum machine. I managed to make good recordings. And using Cakewalk Home Studio 4 on my first PC, despite not being able to run any realtime plugins (and the fact the software was buggy to the point of crashing Windows every so often), using it as a glorified "tape deck", I managed to make an excellent-sounding recording of a friend's band.

I got spoiled over the years, and when I finally looked with a critical eye at what I was considering important for plugins, it hit me that I still didn't really know how to use a compressor (I mean to truly understand it, for all kinds of dynamics). Once I spent time learning that (and also better practise for recording, EQing, etc., which all came along with it), it opened my eyes. I could delete most of my plugins and it wouldn't even matter. That's when all my 32-bit plugins got deleted permanently.

Since then I've known if I don't get a good recording/mix, it's because of me and not because what plugins I'm using.
__________________
http://petersamplification.com
Using REAPER for Linux
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2018, 12:32 PM   #48
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 20,891
Default

for me, it's more a matter of speed - I can get the sound I want with a bunch of slate and izotope plugins pretty easily....

to do the same with any old thing will eventually work, but not as quick. And I have to be quick with what I do -
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.
Jason Brian Merrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2018, 12:58 PM   #49
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
JamesPeters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 2,762
Default

Yeah, joking aside I understand that. When people make it out as though it's "impossible" or something, I don't agree. But if you're used to a certain workflow and you're told "hey wouldn't you like to go back to the way it was 10 years ago?", it's not appealing. Maybe now with Reaper for Linux, more plugin developers will release Linux VST versions.
__________________
http://petersamplification.com
Using REAPER for Linux
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2018, 01:04 PM   #50
Glennbo
Human being with feelings
 
Glennbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 4,133
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Brian Merrill View Post
for me, it's more a matter of speed - I can get the sound I want with a bunch of slate and izotope plugins pretty easily....

to do the same with any old thing will eventually work, but not as quick. And I have to be quick with what I do -
And for me, that's the reason I spent a little bit of time getting all my Windows plugins to work in Linux. Now I have pretty much the same tool set in both Windows and Linux, and can stay in Linux which I prefer to do for the following reasons.

1. Linux patches my CPU with microcode that mitigates Spectre.
2. Linux doesn't profile me or make money off of profiling me.
3. Linux doesn't end long term support in January of 2020.

Yeah, I could run Windows 10 which *might* address the microcode fix for my CPU (it's the very last one Intel did a fix for), but at a very high cost of being Microsoft's product, which ain't happening at all for me.

-
__________________
Glennbo
Hear My Music - Click Me!!!
--
Glennbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2018, 06:37 AM   #51
Jack Winter
Human being with feelings
 
Jack Winter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Luxembourg/Spain
Posts: 1,806
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kytdkut View Post
Oh, sorry, I completely forgot about checking the forum, hope you're still in time to get the bundle (these are one of the best plugins I ever used... I'm using them in all my projects)

I don't have any specific advice on how to make iLok License Manager to run

Specs are these:

Arch Linux, 4.19.5(-ck, not relevant), wine(-tkg —again, not relevant, this did work with wine-staging)

Will install on a fresh wineprefix and see what overrides it needs
No problems, I managed to get it working in time, so now have quite a few more soundtoys plugins And finally echoboy is running in Reaper for Linux, so well pleased.

I didn't need any overrides, just wine 3.21 was ok. I did however fail to get it working with wine-staging 3.21.

Thanks for headsup, I would have thought this an impossible enterprise
__________________
Reaper for Linux Documentation (WIP). Software: Archlinux/KDE, Fabfilter FX, Komplete 8, Nebula, Schwa/Stillwell, T-racks Max/Amplitube/SVX, etc. Gear: i7-2600k/4700HQ/16GB, RME Multiface/Babyface, Behringer X32, Genelec 8040, etc. :)

Last edited by Jack Winter; 12-01-2018 at 07:00 AM.
Jack Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2018, 07:56 AM   #52
Klangfarben
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 793
Default

Aha, will try installing regular wine instead of staging.
Klangfarben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2018, 11:55 AM   #53
kytdkut
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 51
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Winter View Post
No problems, I managed to get it working in time, so now have quite a few more soundtoys plugins And finally echoboy is running in Reaper for Linux, so well pleased.

I didn't need any overrides, just wine 3.21 was ok. I did however fail to get it working with wine-staging 3.21.

Thanks for headsup, I would have thought this an impossible enterprise
Glad you got it working
kytdkut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2018, 02:12 PM   #54
bommaren
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 19
Default AVLinux a Debian version preconfigured for AV production

http://www.bandshed.net/avlinux/

https://bandshed.net/forum/index.php

https://distrowatch.com/table.php?distribution=avlinux

This is a distribution preconfigured with the correct versions of programs to cooperate to produce a problem free sound and video work environment.

Good documentation is also part of the release.
bommaren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2018, 11:20 PM   #55
calimerox
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 33
Default

+1 bommaren

this is a good starting point for linux audio. good thing on AVLinux also is you can make a live version on a stick and test things without changing your system..

"linux not ready for audio production?"

I run a linux only sound studio for 10 years and never looked back.


yes if you want all your win vsts run in linux you run into issues and problems, as they are programmed to run on win. but think about it: would you try to run linux software on a win computer or try to install android apps on an iphone thinking all goes smooth right away? If you have the right tools set up in win and you can´t afford to miss them, simply stick to win. there is nothing bad about it. it s important that it works for you.

Last edited by calimerox; 12-08-2018 at 03:16 AM.
calimerox is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.