Old 05-26-2019, 02:57 PM   #1
DANIELE
Human being with feelings
 
DANIELE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Florence, Italy
Posts: 362
Default 15 mins to load a project, is it normal?

Hi, here another thread maby related, maybe not, to the one I've just opened about kontakt.


Since lastly I have almost no time to make music I stay even for a week or two (maybe more) without working on a project so I don't remember how it went when I worked on it last time.


Maybe because I installed VEP7 and it loads faster than Reaper, maybe some other thing I don't understand but it seems to me that my last projects take too much to load.


It is a big orchestral project with lot of tracks and automations but for your experience is it normal to take 15 mins to load the entire project or something changed since the last time I worked on it? I'm talking about Reaper updates or similar.


Maybe it is related to kontakt issues I'm experiencing...I don't know.


I'm sorry I can't be more precise but my primary work is very time demanding and I can't remember everything.
Your experience could be a good starting point to understand if there is something wrong with my DAW/Plugins/other things....


Thank you.
__________________
Audio: AKG-K240 MKII, Adam A7X, Audient iD22 - Steinberg UR22; Piano: Yamaha P-250 - NI S88 MK1;
!!DANIELE EPIC ORCHESTRAL MUSIC!! |*| STAR WARS SERIES
DANIELE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2019, 03:09 PM   #2
Mordi
Human being with feelings
 
Mordi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 572
Default

I use a lot of Kontakt instruments - sometimes even getting close to my maximum of 32 GB RAM. Even so, the most it takes to load a project is around 30 seconds.

Have you tried the usual batch resave technique?
Have you added all your libraries to your antivirus exceptions list?
Mordi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2019, 11:01 PM   #3
DANIELE
Human being with feelings
 
DANIELE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Florence, Italy
Posts: 362
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mordi View Post
I use a lot of Kontakt instruments - sometimes even getting close to my maximum of 32 GB RAM. Even so, the most it takes to load a project is around 30 seconds.

Have you tried the usual batch resave technique?
Have you added all your libraries to your antivirus exceptions list?
I did batch/resave many times and my AV is completely turned off. It takes forever to load pretty much everything, even SWAM instruments, eqs and mastering plugins.

So my intuition is correct, there's something wrong...but what? I don't understand...
__________________
Audio: AKG-K240 MKII, Adam A7X, Audient iD22 - Steinberg UR22; Piano: Yamaha P-250 - NI S88 MK1;
!!DANIELE EPIC ORCHESTRAL MUSIC!! |*| STAR WARS SERIES
DANIELE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2019, 11:12 PM   #4
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 15,114
Default

it 'could' take a long time for a big project with many large kontakt lib's in it to load... but 15 min's does seem kind of long
The question to ask is what is taking that time?
IF it is in fact Kontakt loading it's lib's ...maybe from a slow HD then a simple test would help:

create a new project with maybe three tracks that have kontakt on them but don't load anything into kontakt

Save that and reload that and see what you get.

Also... are you using Save as to first save the project with the two lower left check boxes checked? So it gets saved to it's own folder with everything inside that folder? IF not, do that
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2019, 11:57 PM   #5
DANIELE
Human being with feelings
 
DANIELE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Florence, Italy
Posts: 362
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hopi View Post
it 'could' take a long time for a big project with many large kontakt lib's in it to load... but 15 min's does seem kind of long
The question to ask is what is taking that time?
IF it is in fact Kontakt loading it's lib's ...maybe from a slow HD then a simple test would help:

create a new project with maybe three tracks that have kontakt on them but don't load anything into kontakt

Save that and reload that and see what you get.

Also... are you using Save as to first save the project with the two lower left check boxes checked? So it gets saved to it's own folder with everything inside that folder? IF not, do that

I'll try it but see my other post here, I'm also having problems loading libraries inside Kontakt (inside Reaper) while in standalone it works smoothly.


I noticed that it is very very slow with every plugin inside the project, it takes long to load Ozone plugins, Reverbs, SWAM instruments, Kontakt instruments etc...and I remember it wasn't so slow but I'm not able to catch what's changed that could cause this issues...


I don't understand what it is, Windows update? A Reaper update? Some curse from some ancient dead pirate?


In the last period I'm having issues with pretty much everything.


The only thing I remember is I installed VEP7 but I don't think how it could be its fault.


What the...

EDIT

Oh I forgot to mention that I already check the boxes you talk about.
__________________
Audio: AKG-K240 MKII, Adam A7X, Audient iD22 - Steinberg UR22; Piano: Yamaha P-250 - NI S88 MK1;
!!DANIELE EPIC ORCHESTRAL MUSIC!! |*| STAR WARS SERIES

Last edited by DANIELE; 05-27-2019 at 12:02 AM.
DANIELE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2019, 12:16 AM   #6
DANIELE
Human being with feelings
 
DANIELE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Florence, Italy
Posts: 362
Default

Maybe it could be something in the .ini file or in the REAPER directory.


Something that cause this massive slow down...it is very strange...

EDIT

I forgot to mention that once the project is loaded it randomly hangs an freezes. For example if I load the project, in the mean time or after the load is complete, I stay on Firefox surfing the web when I came back to Reaper and hit play it hangs for some seconds.

Well...I really don't understand what's happening, I can't work with VEP7, I can't directly in Reaper...in cocnlusion I can't do anything.
__________________
Audio: AKG-K240 MKII, Adam A7X, Audient iD22 - Steinberg UR22; Piano: Yamaha P-250 - NI S88 MK1;
!!DANIELE EPIC ORCHESTRAL MUSIC!! |*| STAR WARS SERIES

Last edited by DANIELE; 05-27-2019 at 12:40 AM.
DANIELE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2019, 03:31 AM   #7
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 7,445
Default

I freeze my tracks with vstis and fx and projects load in about 10 seconds
Coachz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2019, 04:14 AM   #8
DANIELE
Human being with feelings
 
DANIELE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Florence, Italy
Posts: 362
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coachz View Post
I freeze my tracks with vstis and fx and projects load in about 10 seconds

Well ok but the problem here is that I remember it won't take so longer to load, it is not an hardware problem but something wrong with Reaper in some way.


I have to understand what it is.
__________________
Audio: AKG-K240 MKII, Adam A7X, Audient iD22 - Steinberg UR22; Piano: Yamaha P-250 - NI S88 MK1;
!!DANIELE EPIC ORCHESTRAL MUSIC!! |*| STAR WARS SERIES
DANIELE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.