Old 09-10-2018, 01:00 AM   #1
acebone
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 59
Default Wineasio no longer working FIXED!

Hi, I realise that this forum is about the linux-native version of Reaper, still this question is heavily linux-centric and it's about running reaper (win64) - so I'll chance it

Running on reaper on wine on an Ubuntu machine.

However - I had a glitch in the system and in trying to fix it, I made things worse, because I removed wine altogether and installed it again. The glitch is fixed, but now wineasio doesn't work.

When I try to register it - it can't find it:

Code:
~$ wine64 regsvr32 wineasio.dll.so 
regsvr32: Failed to load DLL 'wineasio.dll.so
When I tell it where it is - it seems to register it succesfully:

Code:
~$ wine64 regsvr32 /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/wine/wineasio.dll.so 
regsvr32: Successfully registered DLL '/usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/wine/wineasio.dll.so'
But in Reaper it does not show any in/out ports, and in other apps like sampletank or amplitube there's an error message that the ASIO audio device is not available

I've done extensive search on the internets, but my tube-skills must be lacking, I can't find anything about people having this issue.

How do I make sure that wineasio is available in wine?

Last edited by acebone; 09-10-2018 at 02:12 AM.
acebone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2018, 02:14 AM   #2
acebone
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 59
Default

It's fixed!

When re-installing wine I tried both wine-stable and wine-development - but in fact you have to use wine-rt - doing that immediately fixed the problem

You will probably have to make sure that you have KxStudio repositories in your apt-setup - I think that some dependencies or similar for wine-rt are pulled from them, I'm not sure. But you can get the repo-information here: https://kxstudio.linuxaudio.org/Repositories
acebone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2018, 12:43 PM   #3
SmajjL
Human being with feelings
 
SmajjL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Milky Way 999.999.969th floor, soon. :)
Posts: 1,884
Default

Thanks for coming back with your solution.
I will attempt this stuff tomorrow, little nervous, but fearless!
__________________
Q: Why are pirates great singers?
A: They can hit the high C's!
:)
SmajjL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2018, 09:19 PM   #4
4duhwinnn
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 317
Default

~$ wine64 regsvr32 wineasio.dll.so
regsvr32: Failed to load DLL 'wineasio.dll.so

For what it's worth, over many years,
I've never run that command
having a .so extension tacked on to wineasio.dll

...but if it works...


...it works.

Cheers
4duhwinnn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2018, 12:40 AM   #5
acebone
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 59
Default

Well - I don't know if it works. This is what I tried when I was using the wrong Wine-installations to make them work, it failed. The minute I installed Wine-rt - I didn't have to use that command at all (after purging wine-stable and wine-development). BTW the filename is "wineasio.dll.so", but I was able to register it with both full name, just "wineasio.dll" and even just "wineasio" (as long as I gave the full path, or was in the same dir as the wineasio files) - however it never worked

Last edited by acebone; 09-11-2018 at 12:48 AM.
acebone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2018, 11:38 AM   #6
SmajjL
Human being with feelings
 
SmajjL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Milky Way 999.999.969th floor, soon. :)
Posts: 1,884
Default

NooOoo! I fffailed on the first try with the (PlayOnLinux method)..
*Off to sell computer on Ebay and, and..*



To little reasearch from my side though, I deserve it. *slap!*
__________________
Q: Why are pirates great singers?
A: They can hit the high C's!
:)

Last edited by SmajjL; 09-11-2018 at 11:52 AM.
SmajjL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2018, 07:05 AM   #7
acebone
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 59
Default

Yeah - it took me awhile to get to a decent point
acebone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2018, 06:52 AM   #8
dug dog
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 877
Default

Hey Ace:

What Ubuntu distro and version are you using?

Ub Studio 18.04 will only recognize 2 of the 4 inputs on my interface (Steinberg UR44 USB) so I'd like to investigate WineASIO but I'm having difficulty getting Wine to run on this distro.
dug dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2018, 10:07 AM   #9
Jack Winter
Human being with feelings
 
Jack Winter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Luxembourg/Spain
Posts: 1,645
Default

Wineasio uses jack, so if jack only sees 2 channels, wineasio won't do better.
__________________
Reaper for Linux Documentation (WIP). Software: Archlinux/KDE, Fabfilter FX, Komplete 8, Nebula, Schwa/Stillwell, T-racks Max/Amplitube/SVX, etc. Gear: i7-2600k/4700HQ/16GB, RME Multiface/Babyface, Behringer X32, Genelec 8040,etc. :)
Jack Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2018, 10:45 AM   #10
dug dog
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 877
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Winter View Post
Wineasio uses jack, so if jack only sees 2 channels, wineasio won't do better.
Zoinks! Does this mean that my dream of escaping the Soft Apple duopoly is dead?
dug dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2018, 12:20 PM   #11
Glennbo
Human being with feelings
 
Glennbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 2,575
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dug dog View Post
Zoinks! Does this mean that my dream of escaping the Soft Apple duopoly is dead?
Jack can do more channels, although I don't know what to look for on your specific hardware. I have two separate M-Audio PCI cards, and Jack is letting me do 4 input and 4 outputs. I do remember when setting things up having to specify to use 4 channels, because the default was set to only two.
__________________
Glennbo
Soundclick - http://www.soundclick.com/glennbo
--
Glennbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2018, 01:11 PM   #12
dug dog
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 877
Default

I'll keep mucking with it to see if I can't figure it out.

EDIT: I should have added that my Steinberg device does not officially support Linux but it does have a class compliant setting.

Last edited by dug dog; 09-14-2018 at 01:17 PM.
dug dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2018, 01:52 PM   #13
Glennbo
Human being with feelings
 
Glennbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 2,575
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dug dog View Post
I'll keep mucking with it to see if I can't figure it out.

EDIT: I should have added that my Steinberg device does not officially support Linux but it does have a class compliant setting.
Don't know about all class compliant devices, but I've toyed with the idea of getting a Behringer UMC1820, which is also class compliant, with no Linux driver, and I watched a video of a guy recording four of it's eight possible channels at once using Jack, although he was recording in Ardour. The fact that Jack saw the device as 8 in and 20 out, makes me confident that it would also work in REAPER.
__________________
Glennbo
Soundclick - http://www.soundclick.com/glennbo
--
Glennbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2018, 02:00 PM   #14
dug dog
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 877
Default

Well, the dream is not dead. (But there's so much to learn.)

I don't know why I thought I had to use Jack. When I switched the Audio Device in Reaper prefs to ALSA, I was able to access all of my input channels. No Jack involved. Sweet.
dug dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2018, 12:21 AM   #15
SmajjL
Human being with feelings
 
SmajjL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Milky Way 999.999.969th floor, soon. :)
Posts: 1,884
Default

Finally, SmajjL made it.. and here is my notes..

Install Manjaro Cinnamon
Settings manager and pick a real-time kernel
In the tray, there could be updates waiting, go get 'em
Terminal this, sudo usermod -a -G audio [USERNAME]
Reboot
Goto Add/Remove Software and on top Preferences>AUR (Enable)
Install PlayOnLinux
wineasio (AUR)
Cadence-git (AUR)
Get REAPER Windows version and right-mouse it (open with Wine)
Fire up Cadence and go to Tweaks>WineASIO and set lower the buffer to 128 or something, I have ticked Autostart server (apply now)
Back to System, ALSA Audio, bridge type Alsa > Jack
Configure, System, Check Realtime
Goto Driver and do your thing, I am testing 44100, 128 buffers, periods 2 for now.
Goto your filesystem/lib/wine/ and copy your wineasio.dll.so to the desktop and copy it into filesystem/usr/local/lib (open the lib folder as root)
Put this in the terminal, wine64 regsvr32 wineasio
Goto REAPERs Preferences>Device and pick Asio.


And this works for Live 10 also, but that thing is abit grumpier, think one would need to mess with winetricks to setup what would be best and install correct dependencies.
__________________
Q: Why are pirates great singers?
A: They can hit the high C's!
:)

Last edited by SmajjL; 09-15-2018 at 04:41 AM.
SmajjL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.