Old 12-10-2018, 08:03 PM   #1
jlmoriart
Human being with feelings

Default Getting started with Carla

EDIT: Sorry I just noticed the sticky, and so would be happy to check out Linvst or Airwave if people think they will be easier to get working. If people do recommend Carla, though, I'd appreciate the troubleshooting help!

Hi all! I'm a relative newbie to Linux (though I'm picking it up as quickly as I can with my battle-hardened google-fu), and have been using Reaper casually for a couple years with a non-commercial license. Basically, what follows are some explicit questions given my impression of the Linux-Reaper situation, but I'd also appreciate any corrections of what may be blatant misunderstandings of that situation.

SO!

Seems like there are Linux-specific and Windows-specific versions of VST plugins, and Reaper on Linux only supports the Linux-VST format. When it comes to getting Windows-VST plugins working with Reaper, the limited research I've done has pointed me towards two tools: JACK and Carla. So question 1 is: Are those the two tools that most people are using to get the most out of Reaper on Linux using plugins that aren't yet officially supported?

Those tools seem to work in this way: I should be able to load un-supported plugins into Carla as a standalone plugin host, and then use JACK to route the audio/midi to/from Reaper in real time.

I followed the instructions in these videos to try and get myself up and running:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E6LuvdDEqCA
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WS-gqcJgkoQ

But when it came time to load the plugin into Carla (I've tried Alchemy AE and Pianoteq), it gives me the error:

> Cannot add new plugins while the engine is stopped