Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER for macOS

Old 08-03-2012, 08:12 AM   #1
Stringtheorist
Human being with feelings

Default Want to buy a new Mac - What specs do I need?

I've come to the conclusion that my 2007 iMac isn't going to cut it any more. I'm rapidly filling the available storage space and I figure I'll need a lot more than 4GB of RAM if I want to compose anything more sophisticated than 4-track rock band tracks.

I am only a hobbyist at this point but I am interested in potentially becoming more seriously involved in writing, recording and production as my skills improve.

I currently own the following sound libraries:
NI Studio Drummer
NI Abbey Road 70s Drums
NI Abbey Road Modern Drums
Toontrack EZDrummer
Toontrack Twisted Kit
Toontrack Latin Percussion
Yellow Tools ERA - Medieval Legends
KLI Country Roots
Zero G Celtic

I also intend to get the following:
Spectrasonics Trilian
EastWest QL Complete Composers Collection

My intention is to store all of the sound libraries on the hard drive supplied with the EastWest product, although some folks say it's best to split the libraries over several drives. Anyone have any wisdom to share on this?

I think the following Mac configuration should suit my needs but would appreciate any input from seasoned recording peeps on this forum. (Of course, a new Mac will come with Mountain Lion installed as standard. Normally I would wait a while after a new OS release before purchase but I need it now really and it seems most folks who have used ML are not having too many issues.)

3.1GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i5
16GB 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM - 4x4GB
2TB Serial ATA Drive
AMD Radeon HD 6970M 1GB GDDR5

Thanks.

Last edited by Stringtheorist; 08-03-2012 at 12:14 PM.
Stringtheorist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 02:53 PM   #2
mike373

ok.... a couple things...