Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER General Discussion Forum

Old 10-26-2008, 01:12 PM   #1
wilbur74
Human being with feelings

Default Plugin Latency Compensation PDC in Reaper?

Thought I should share this as although I've been using Reaper for nearly two years now, and this discovery has transformed the way I work with Reaper, improved the sound quality and and removed the crashes I used to have every 30mins.

Basically I found that Reaper's automatic plugin delay compensation (well, to be more acurate certain plugins) were not working as I expected.

I found this by creating a new session, loading a single audio file and duplicating it so it plays on two tracks. I then inserted a plugin , e.g. Compression. If the plugin delay is incorrect, there will be an obvious phasing of the two tracks.

Certain plugins that I was using were clearly not working! Digitalfishphone's Dominion, Isotope's Ozone, and a handful of others were introducing delay and hence phase issues.

By removing these from my mixes, or only using them on the master bus it's made a massive difference.

Hope this helps some Reaper beginners out there !

Cheers,
Joe
wilbur74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2008, 01:16 PM   #2
pipelineaudio
Mortal

even after you hit stop and restarted playback they were still delayed?
pipelineaudio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2008, 01:30 PM   #3
wilbur74

yes, even after stopping and restarting playback. I just re-tested to be sure!

have you not heard of this before ?
Old 10-26-2008, 02:07 PM   #4
LOSER

Quote:
Originally Posted by wilbur74 View Post
yes, even after stopping and restarting playback. I just re-tested to be sure!

have you not heard of this before ?
Are any tracks record armed?
Also mind posting a simple project that demonstrates this? Because I don't see and never saw those problems (besides plug-ins reporting a wrong delay).
LOSER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2008, 04:04 PM   #5
nofish