Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Color Themes and Icon Sets

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-15-2020, 05:38 AM   #1
juan_r
Human being with feelings
 
juan_r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 233
Default Default V6 Theme - A simple way to show longer track names?

I'm on the default v6 theme, and recently I've been working on a project involving lots of individual vocal samples that make up whole choir phrases. Track names tend to become very long soon.

I've noticed that even if I drag the right margin of the TCP far right, the track name slot doesn't use all the horizontal space. Is there a simple way to fix that? I know no Walter; what I'm hoping for is a quick hint/easy fix.
juan_r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2020, 06:36 AM   #2
White Tie
Pixel Pusher
 
White Tie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Blighty
Posts: 3,148
Default

Absolutely, that's one of the things the theme adjuster does.

__________________
The House of White Tie
White Tie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2020, 07:13 AM   #3
juan_r
Human being with feelings
 
juan_r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 233
Default

Thanks, White Tie. Your replies on these matters are likely the most authoritative. I am aware of the Theme Adjuster, so I'd tried tweaking it already before asking for help here.

The solution provided by the Theme Adjuster doesn't cut it for me in this case: the maximum length seems to be 170 pixels, which still isn't enough. I admit this is an atypical project. Normally the default 140 pixels work fine for me.

What I'd like is for the Track_Name field to have a reasonable default length (like 100-120), and stretch dynamically to use the whole available horizontal space. Can it be done by tweaking the Walter code? As it is now, even if I make the TCP as wide as to fill the whole screen, there will be a lot of "wasted" space after the track controls.
juan_r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2020, 07:32 AM   #4
Denys
Human being with feelings
 
Denys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Qc
Posts: 183
Default

Hello! As a sound designer working with sources with long names, I wish we could extend the track name length too. It's enough when I make music, but for sound design, having a longer space (or maybe better, two lines?) could definitely help.
__________________
My Bandcamp Page
Denys is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2020, 08:51 AM   #5
Oleq
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by juan_r View Post
What I'd like is for the Track_Name field to have a reasonable default length (like 100-120), and stretch dynamically to use the whole available horizontal space.
Hi. Would that be enough (up to about 150 (not pixels) characters like "m" or "w"
or up to about 250 characters like "0")?

https://stash.reaper.fm/40487/REAPER...k%20-%20mw.png

https://stash.reaper.fm/40488/REAPER...ck%20-%200.png

The theme is different, obviously. But in case you need it right now...

https://stash.reaper.fm/theme/2624/S...ReaperThemeZip
Oleq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2020, 09:01 AM   #6
Oleq
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 32
Default

I wonder, though, is it possible to make two-line (or two-lane?) names (or even several-line/lane)?
Oleq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2020, 09:34 AM   #7
juan_r
Human being with feelings
 
juan_r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 233
Default

Hello @Oleq, the track name behaves just fine in your theme! Thank you!

How do I transfer this desirable behavior into my default theme?
juan_r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2020, 10:04 AM   #8
White Tie
Pixel Pusher
 
White Tie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Blighty
Posts: 3,148
Default

If you set the track name length to 'auto' it will dynamically set it to the longest track name in your project.
__________________
The House of White Tie
White Tie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2020, 10:06 AM   #9
Oleq
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by juan_r View Post
Hello @Oleq, the track name behaves just fine in your theme! Thank you!
You're welcome )

Quote:
How do I transfer this desirable behavior into my default theme?
Now, that I don't know. It's in the theme file, in rtconfig.txt, somewhere in one of the "tcp sections" (lines starting with "set tcp" ...).
But, turns out, rtconfig files for my version and for v.6 look very different, so I'm not sure.
Maybe White Tie or other themers will help.

I simply replaced the rtconfig.txt of v.6 with mine (always make a copy first)... Well, it's a mess, but it's working. It's a working mess )
I don't recommend doing that )

Upd. I see White Tie has already answered.
Oleq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2020, 10:26 AM   #10
Oleq
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by juan_r View Post
.
Excuse me for going a little off-topic.

Quote:
Originally Posted by White Tie View Post
.
Hello. Since you're already here...
How to make the horizontal placement of Mute and Solo buttons in Default 6 theme fixed
so all the track controls (including said buttons) would always be aligned
no matter the track panel state?
(I want them to be placed horizontally at all times,
Mute on the left, Solo on the right. And the meter with constant width.)
Oleq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2020, 03:27 PM   #11
juan_r
Human being with feelings
 
juan_r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 233
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by White Tie View Post
If you set the track name length to 'auto' it will dynamically set it to the longest track name in your project.
Thanks @White Tie, I'd noticed as much; but it will happily go to 0 too, while I would like a set minimum to keep at least the few first characters visible. That's why I thought it'd take a wizard to solve it...

...or maybe an apprentice wizard like @Oleq, who uttered a higher level spell without understanding all the consequences!

By the way @Oleq, I don't know how to answer your question, but maybe it deserves its own thread: it will be easier to notice.
juan_r is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.