Old 10-30-2014, 05:26 AM   #1
Phill
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 21
Default 'Preserve pitch when changing playrate'

How can I make this option in the media item properties window default to unticked for all newly imported media? I have looked through the preferences a fair few times and I'm not sure if it isn't possible or just worded strangely making it tricky to find...

Any help would be great thanks!
Phill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2014, 07:32 AM   #2
Junke
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 144
Default

Would like this too, vote here: http://forum.cockos.com/project.php?issueid=2112
Also check out the custom google search: https://www.google.com/cse/home?cx=0...08:nbhva-j9iic
I just entered your title and the FR popped up
Junke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2014, 07:29 AM   #3
Phill
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 21
Default

Ah good to see it has already been mentioned, will do! Thanks.
Phill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2014, 08:16 AM   #4
Viente
Human being with feelings
 
Viente's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,972
Default

What do you want to achieve? If you want to transpose item by semitones with resample mode you can do it already. You have to look in actions.
Viente is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2014, 08:40 AM   #5
Junke
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 144
Default

I want my audio files stay the same when i change the project tempo. Stay in postition (beats), don´t stretch/pitch it. Are we missing sth?
Junke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2014, 08:46 AM   #6
EricM
Human being with feelings
 
EricM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia
Posts: 3,801
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Junke View Post
I want my audio files stay the same when i change the project tempo. Stay in postition (beats), don´t stretch/pitch it. Are we missing sth?
Set the track or item's timebase to position.

e
__________________
Shoelace 4 Theme | SoundCloud/erXon
EricM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2014, 02:20 PM   #7
Junke
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 144
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EricM View Post
Set the track or item's timebase to position.

e
We are looking for a default setting.

And there is, in the project settings. Set "Timebase for items/envelopes/markers:" to "Beats (position only)", save as deafult.
If you are using templates you have to re-save them with this setting.
Junke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2014, 08:53 AM   #8
Phill
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 21
Default

Being able to have a setting to make this default to off will speed up my sound design/drum programming sessions as I work in audio a lot.

The item timebase position is independent of this as when I pitch an item up or down it will stay the same length which is not what I want. I have to disable it in item properties every time I load or cut up audio files in the project.
Phill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2014, 09:02 AM   #9
Phill
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 21
Default

Ah, I have found an action that automatically does it when you pitch it up or down.

Put 'SWS: increase item rate' into search bar on the actions window and it will come up.
Phill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2014, 09:12 AM   #10
Junke
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 144
Default

Did you try what i suggested?
Junke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2014, 04:18 AM   #11
Phill
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 21
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Junke View Post
Did you try what i suggested?
Yes I was told to try that by someone else before this post but it is only relevent to the master playrate, not individual pitch of each item.

The action I posted in my previous reply worked perfectly as I do not have to keep unchecking the option in item properties anymore for it to change pitch normally without any other time stretching algorithms coming into play.
Phill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2014, 11:40 AM   #12
Junke
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 144
Default

Oh, you´re right, i just realized that´s something different
Junke is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.