Old 02-22-2021, 08:14 PM   #1
ferropop
Human being with feelings
 
ferropop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Winnipeg, CANADA
Posts: 1,032
Default Melodyne-style Zoom

Hey all, I'm attempting to recreate Melodyne-style Zooming using actions, and coming really close. Just wanted to post what this looks like here, and if anyone wants to engage on refining it let's go at it. I'm finding it really amazing in certain ways, but has some weird behaviours that maybe you guys can help fix through Zoom settings or scripting.

All these zooms are done using the Z (in) and X (out) keys mapped to custom actions, and floating my mouse near the area I want to zoom.






Last edited by ferropop; 02-22-2021 at 10:11 PM.
ferropop is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2021, 10:03 AM   #2
gxray
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: Miami, FL USA
Posts: 190
Default

Whoa, this is so cool! The scroll behavior is different than Ctrl + Mousewheel right? It seem to keep the content centered, and zoom both horizontally and vertically (IE zoom TCP + arranger).

I would love to experiment with this.
__________________
Seasoned codemonkey
Dunno a thing about making music (here to learn!)
gxray is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2021, 10:16 AM   #3
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 6,737
Default

Looks crazy (in a good way)!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: True Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2021, 12:01 PM   #4
ferropop
Human being with feelings
 
ferropop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Winnipeg, CANADA
Posts: 1,032
Default

Yup, the key is to start both custom actions with "Set Horizontal/Vertical Zoom Center to Mouse Cursor" and then revert them back to your default settings at the end.

It temporarily sets "mouse focus" for zooming, does the zooms, then sets it back to default.

Honestly guys I'm using it constantly and instinctively on Z and X. It's working really really well!

The only issue is Reaper's weird behaviour when zooming out a lot, everything gets sucked to the left side of the screen because there's no "canvas buffer" on the sides. This is "fixable" by adding a minute of silence at the beginning of the project to create that left-side buffer zone. Not ideal.

Last edited by ferropop; 02-23-2021 at 12:10 PM.
ferropop is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2021, 12:54 PM   #5
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 6,737
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ferropop View Post
The only issue is Reaper's weird behaviour when zooming out a lot, everything gets sucked to the left side of the screen because there's no "canvas buffer" on the sides. This is "fixable" by adding a minute of silence at the beginning of the project to create that left-side buffer zone. Not ideal.
You can also change your project time to -1 or 0 and start one beat later.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: True Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2021, 01:03 PM   #6
ferropop
Human being with feelings
 
ferropop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Winnipeg, CANADA
Posts: 1,032
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitalker View Post
You can also change your project time to -1 or 0 and start one beat later.
Yeah true.


Do you guys ever use the Hand Tool to move the canvas around? I wish Reaper "unlocked" the edges of the project (top/bottom/sides) when using it. So often using the Hand Tool when center-zoomed into the bottom track in the project, it'll "jump" the zoom and shift the view to the bottom. Super super super frustrating.

Also though, I recognise it's trying to be smart and not let you leave the bounds of the project, just grrr....wish it worked that way with the Hand Tool specifically. I've resorted to adding 25 empty tracks to the bottom of my template just to create that buffer zone.
ferropop is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2021, 11:48 AM   #7
ferropop
Human being with feelings
 
ferropop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Winnipeg, CANADA
Posts: 1,032
Default

Anyone give this a shot?
ferropop is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.