Old 08-18-2021, 01:34 AM   #1
xpander
Human being with feelings
 
xpander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Terra incognita
Posts: 7,670
Default v6.35rc2 - August 17 2021

v6.35rc2 - August 17 2021

+ Project bay: fix dragging automation items into project [p=2473112]
+ RS5k: improve default value for minimum velocity
+ Render: master and track meters display levels after sample rate conversion, if any [t=256570]
# Track VU: fix action to toggle multichannel metering


---

v6.35rc1 - August 16 2021:

+ API: if track VU is metering loudness, API (ReaScript, control surface) peaks functions return loudness as well
+ Action list: optionally match synonyms of common words when searching for action names ("display" matches "show", etc)
+ Action list: pull list of synonyms from langpack actionlist_synonyms section
+ Area selection: support stretch markers in media items that contain empty take lanes, if there is at least one audio take [t=256443]
+ Automation: obey grid/snap settings when using freehand draw
+ Automation: restore 6.33 behavior when adding a single point via freehand draw [t=256406]
+ FX: add clear option to FX pin mapping dialog
+ FX: add reset button to FX pin mapping dialog
+ JSFX: support linked stereo channels in channel mapper user mix mode
+ MIDI: encode linear tempo changes on export as MIDI text messages that REAPER can interpret when reimporting (other applications will ignore these messages)
+ MP3: fix invalid memory access from unknown ETCO type in ID3v2
+ Marquee zoom: allow tracks to be sized smaller in order to fit on screen [t=256339]
+ Master VU: fix LUFS-S metering when readout set to current level rather than max or LRA [p=2471528]
+ Media item properties: support entering numeric values for take volume/pan
+ Metadata: fix embedding CART intro/segue markers that occur at the very start of the rendered file[*]+ Metadata: support embedding project markers/cues as XMP (for Premiere, After Effects, etc)[*]+ Performance: fix potential excessive UI CPU use/hang when closing project when edit cursor is offscreen [t=256285]
+ Project bay: increase project length if needed when dragging media items from project bay [t=254865]
+ Razor edits: fix editing envelope point that occurs at the start of an automation item [p=2471931]
+ ReaScript: add GetSetMediaTrackInfo support for getting/setting track VU mode
+ ReaSurround / ReaSurroundPan: allow plugin to support higher I/O channel count than the track or media item
+ ReaSurroundPan: add 9.1.2 surround setup
+ ReaSurroundPan: label an elevated speaker in the center of the room as "overhead", other elevated speakers as "height"
+ ReaSurroundPan: when LFE channel is selected, allow changing input faders to gain, but disable the channel text edit box
+ Render: add options to disable calculating loudness statistics
+ Render: display up to 512 vu meters, limited to the screen height
+ Render: iterate for increased precision when normalizing to LUFS-I
+ Render: more informative error message if target file cannot be created
+ Render: optimize loudness calculations
+ Render: separate render statistics header for clearer display when rendering many files
+ Render: support dithering primary and secondary render format to different bit depths [t=256483]
+ Render: support enabling LUFS-I/LUFS-M and LRA/LUFS-S statistics separately
+ Ripple editing: improve behavior of duplicate area selection action [t=256114]
+ Ripple editing: improve behavior of duplicate selected area of items action
+ Tempo markers: support tempo basis other than 1/4 note (affects displayed BPM number only, not metronome or tempo envelope display) [t=250880]
+ Theme: add meter_strip_h_rms image, consistently use loudness meter theme elements for tracks that are set to meter loudness
+ Track VU: add metering settings submenu to track context menu as well as track VU context menu
+ Track VU: support RMS stereo metering
+ Track VU: support metering RMS, LUFS-M, or LUFS-S
+ Tracks: support mono master/parent send
+ VST3: fix incorrect handling of IContextMenuItem flags
+ Windows: avoid potential splash screen hang when caught in an invalidate/postmessage loop [t=256285]
# API: functions that return track peak levels (ReaScript, control surfaces, etc) still return peak levels even if the track is set to meter loudness
# API: support optionally getting track loudness values (if track VU meters are displaying loudness) via Track_GetPeakInfo and Track_GetPeakHoldDB
# Action list: ignore synonyms when using NOT qualifier
# Dither: re-use the exact same dither if primary/secondary targets have the same bit depth
# FX: don't reset pin connector if reset menu is closed without making a selection
# JSFX: fix channel mapper mousewheel edits for linked channels
# JSFX: improve stereo linking UI when horizontal scrollbar is showing
# Master VU: localize loudness meter settings dropdown
# Master/parent send: change .RPP storage of one-channel parent send setting (now warns if loaded in previous versions)
# Media item properties: don't auto-update dialog while user is editing take volume or pan
# Metadata: fix embedding XMP markers that occur at the very start of the rendered file
# Meters: improve readout display on very small sizes
# ReaSurroundPan: account for mono parent sends when setting channel display from sending track name/color
# ReaSurroundPan: add action to set input channel display to sending track names/colors, option to automatically update if tracks change
# ReaSurroundPan: minor labeling change for Auro speaker setups
# Render: more optimizations to loudness calculations
# Track VU: add option to display current instead of maximum value when track meters set to LUFS-S
# Track VU: fix theme color for loudness readout in horizontal mode
# Track VU: minor change to internal storage for track metering settings
# Track VU: preserve playback peak metering behavior when record-armed and metering track output
# Track VU: support post-fader loudness metering
# Track meters: correct label tooltips for RMS vs LUFS
# vst3: retain midi mapping, note expression controller and keyswitch controllers for lifetime of plug-in


This thread is for pre-release features discussion. Use the Feature Requests forum for other requests.

Changelog - Pre-Releases
Generated by X-Raym's REAPER ChangeLog to BBCode
xpander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2021, 09:41 AM   #2
Barto
Human being with feelings
 
Barto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 36
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xpander View Post
v6.35rc2 - August 17 2021

+ RS5k: improve default value for minimum
Just swapped Minimum velocity -50db to 120db, but dynamic range RS5k still -50 db.

Yes, note "Velocity 1" will have entered value "Minimum velocity", example -100db. But next note "Velocity 2" will have the half this value -50db.

Nothing improved.

Attached example
https://vimeo.com/588962570

Last edited by Barto; 08-18-2021 at 10:43 AM.
Barto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2021, 10:03 AM   #3
akademie
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,020
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Barto View Post
Just swapped Minimum velocity -50db to 120db, but dynamic range RS5k still -50 db.

Yes, note "Velocity 1" will have entered value "Minimum velocity", example -100db. But next note "Velocity 2" will have the half this value -50db.

Nothing improved.
I would say it's logarithmic curve, isn't it?
Should it be exponential or linear then???
akademie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2021, 10:28 AM   #4
Barto
Human being with feelings
 
Barto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 36
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by akademie View Post
I would say it's logarithmic curve, isn't it?
Should it be exponential or linear then???
All info here
https://forum.cockos.com/showthread....53#post2473053
Barto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2021, 11:41 AM   #5
srdmusic
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 880
Default VU Meter colors don't match theme

While you guys are under the hood changing VU meter settings, do you mind considering the the option to adjust meter color for the render VU meters and the JSFX meter colors within the theme tweaker or walter?

Currently those meters are stuck on the default green instead of matching with the colors of the track VU meters set by the users theme.

This option would greatly help with people that have color blindness or other eye issues that are affected by color.

Thanks in advance for your help.
srdmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2021, 11:42 AM   #6
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 15,746
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Barto View Post
Just swapped Minimum velocity -50db to 120db, but dynamic range RS5k still -50 db.

Yes, note "Velocity 1" will have entered value "Minimum velocity", example -100db. But next note "Velocity 2" will have the half this value -50db.

Nothing improved.

Attached example
https://vimeo.com/588962570
The curve is not ideal, I suppose. The velocity to volume scaling happens in amplitude, so 1=-100dB = 0.00001, and 127=+0dB = 1.0, so at vel=2 the volume scale is (2-1)/(127-1)= 0.0079. 0.0079 * 1.0 + (1-0.0079)*0.00001 = 0.0079+0.000009921, and log10(0.0079+0.000009921)*20 is about -42dB...

We can add an option to change that curve, eventually, but it's not a bug (and not a new bug, at that!) and thus shouldn't be discussed in the RC thread. The bug that was previously addressed was that if the min velocity was set to 0, the previous default, the lowest gain value wasn't accessible since velocity=0 is a note-off...
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2021, 12:28 PM   #7
Barto
Human being with feelings
 
Barto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 36
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
The curve is not ideal, I suppose. The velocity to volume scaling happens in amplitude, so 1=-100dB = 0.00001, and 127=+0dB = 1.0, so at vel=2 the volume scale is (2-1)/(127-1)= 0.0079. 0.0079 * 1.0 + (1-0.0079)*0.00001 = 0.0079+0.000009921, and log10(0.0079+0.000009921)*20 is about -42dB...

We can add an option to change that curve, eventually, but it's not a bug (and not a new bug, at that!) and thus shouldn't be discussed in the RC thread. The bug that was previously addressed was that if the min velocity was set to 0, the previous default, the lowest gain value wasn't accessible since velocity=0 is a note-off...
Please, add an option to change this curve. But, what options are possible? I means, much better is so that the ratio of velocity to changeable level is close to 1: 1 or equal. I mean what the control should to be smooth.

Last edited by Barto; 08-18-2021 at 01:07 PM.
Barto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2021, 12:36 PM   #8
Yanick
Human being with feelings
 
Yanick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 612
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xpander View Post
# Track VU: fix action to toggle multichannel metering
Everything is fine now, thanks
Yanick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2021, 03:02 PM   #9
GonZ
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 138
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xpander View Post
v6.35rc2 - August 17 2021
+ Project bay: fix dragging automation items into project [p=2473112]
Yes, finally fixed! I cannot say thank to devs enough! I actually appreciate all the effort, thanks for doing Reaper such awesome DAW <3
GonZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2021, 09:14 PM   #10
junh1024
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 240
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xpander View Post
v6.35rc2 - August 17 2021

v6.35rc1 - August 16 2021:

Tracks: support mono master/parent send

ReaSurround / ReaSurroundPan: allow plugin to support higher I/O channel count than the track or media item
ReaSurroundPan: label an elevated speaker in the center of the room as "overhead", other elevated speakers as "height"
ReaSurroundPan: account for mono parent sends when setting channel display from sending track name/color
ReaSurroundPan: minor labeling change for Auro speaker setups
Thanks (schwa?) for the above, especially the mono stuffs.

Quote:
+ ReaSurroundPan: add 9.1.2 surround setup
Although 912 setups exist IRL, your particular 912 implementation by summing valid bed speakers in the DDM spec (712 + 2 extra side speakers) is probably an invalid approach as no Dolby Atmos GUI (that I know of) allows you to select such a (bed) layout, and doesn't really correspond to 912 setups IRL. The 2 extras exist due to the difference in position between 51 & 71 side speakers.

Please remove/change your 912 implementation.

If you wanted to implement additional 7xx/9xx layouts for Atmos, I have a few ideas. Should I post here, or in the FR "Reaper and Dolby ATMOS? " thread?
__________________
REAPER 2D/3D Surround suite: Instructions & Download | Discussion | Donate

Last edited by junh1024; 08-18-2021 at 11:58 PM.
junh1024 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2021, 02:45 AM   #11
drummerboy
Human being with feelings
 
drummerboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 214
Default Shift-Clicking Master Plugins selects Tracks

Hi!

I don't know where this started, so I hope it's ok if I just post it here (must have started a couple of Versions ago, since this is the first RC I installed in a while).

When shift-clicking a Master-Track plugin or send to disable it (on MCP), all tracks in the TCP from last selected downwards get selected. I don't think this happened before - can anyone confirm?

Best,
Frank
drummerboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2021, 04:27 AM   #12
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 15,823
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by junh1024 View Post
Although 912 setups exist IRL, your particular 912 implementation by summing valid bed speakers in the DDM spec (712 + 2 extra side speakers) is probably an invalid approach as no Dolby Atmos GUI (that I know of) allows you to select such a (bed) layout, and doesn't really correspond to 912 setups IRL.
That setup simply lists all 12 speakers that are defined in the Dolby ADM spec. If it does not correspond to any real world setup, we can remove it.

schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2021, 04:40 AM   #13
akademie
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,020
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by drummerboy View Post
Hi!

I don't know where this started, so I hope it's ok if I just post it here (must have started a couple of Versions ago, since this is the first RC I installed in a while).

When shift-clicking a Master-Track plugin or send to disable it (on MCP), all tracks in the TCP from last selected downwards get selected. I don't think this happened before - can anyone confirm?

Best,
Frank
Such bug was there some time ago, but got fixed if remember well.

Anyway, I just tried it for you in v6.33+dev0729 (Windows10) and it works correctly (e.g. when track6 is selected, then you Shif+Click the slot of InsertFX in MasterTrack in MCP, it gets bypassed and only track6 remains selected).
It is with default configuration, no extensions and scripts.
Hope it helps.

EDIT: Check state of this option in settings:
REAPER Preferences > Editing Behavior > Mouse > "Mouse click on volume/pan faders and track buttons changes track selection"

Last edited by akademie; 08-19-2021 at 04:53 AM.
akademie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2021, 04:56 AM   #14
junh1024
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 240
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
That setup simply lists all 12 speakers that are defined in the Dolby ADM spec. If it does not correspond to any real world setup, we can remove it.
Please remove this particular "summed DDM" 912 layout, as it doesn't correspond to any (sensible) IRL layout. Thanks.
__________________
REAPER 2D/3D Surround suite: Instructions & Download | Discussion | Donate

Last edited by junh1024; 08-19-2021 at 05:04 AM.
junh1024 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2021, 07:00 AM   #15
drummerboy
Human being with feelings
 
drummerboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 214
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by akademie View Post
EDIT: Check state of this option in settings:
REAPER Preferences > Editing Behavior > Mouse > "Mouse click on volume/pan faders and track buttons changes track selection"
That was it! Thanks!
drummerboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2021, 07:02 AM   #16
juliuskrakow
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 64
Default

Quote:
[*]+ Metadata: support embedding project markers/cues as XMP (for Premiere, After Effects, etc)
Embedded markers/cues not showing up in Premiere over here.
I've tried with all 6.35 release candidates as well as 6.34+dev0812. Makes me think there's something else going on here. Cues import fine into Premiere when files are exported from Audition.
juliuskrakow is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.