Old 11-13-2011, 04:37 AM   #1
Some Guy
Human being with feelings
 
Some Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 415
Default item gain not corresponding with properties

is this behavior wanted? i change the item volume with the new item knob or the old handle, and the volume fader in the item properties does not change accordingly. so basically there's two seperate volume controls which to me appears to be redundant.

has this always been the case?
Some Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2011, 04:41 AM   #2
Mercado_Negro
Moderator
 
Mercado_Negro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
Posts: 8,261
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Some Guy View Post
is this behavior wanted? i change the item volume with the new item knob or the old handle, and the volume fader in the item properties does not change accordingly. so basically there's two seperate volume controls which to me appears to be redundant.

has this always been the case?
Yes, this has always been the case. The volume in Item Properties is mainly for Normalizing.
__________________
Pressure is what turns coal into diamonds - Michael a.k.a. Runaway
Mercado_Negro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2011, 04:47 AM   #3
Some Guy
Human being with feelings
 
Some Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 415
Default

i see..

do you find this useful? i just can't really picture any scenario in which i'd need two controls. not that it bothers me, it just surprised me a bit. though on second thought, i never had the old handle come down when using the fader, so it's not so surprising after all.
Some Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2011, 04:50 AM   #4
Mercado_Negro
Moderator
 
Mercado_Negro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
Posts: 8,261
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Some Guy View Post
i see..

do you find this useful? i just can't really picture any scenario in which i'd need two controls. not that it bothers me, it just surprised me a bit. though on second thought, i never had the old handle come down when using the fader, so it's not so surprising after all.
No, I think I've used that fader like 3 times in 5 years or so since I don't like Normalizing.
__________________
Pressure is what turns coal into diamonds - Michael a.k.a. Runaway
Mercado_Negro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2011, 09:34 AM   #5
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 9,180
Default

I hope you guys are not trying to suggest to get rid of this ?

I use this all the time (indirectly) when (batch) normalizing items to RMS with the SWS action which is applied to the item properties volume.
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2011, 09:39 AM   #6
Xenakios
Human being with feelings
 
Xenakios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Oulu, Finland
Posts: 7,990
Default

The volume in the item properties is a per-take (there's always at least one "take" in each media item, so it doesn't matter if you've recorded/processed new takes explicitly) volume control, so there's no redundant volume controls.
__________________
For info on SWS Reaper extension plugin (including Xenakios' previous extension/actions) :
http://www.sws-extension.org/
https://github.com/Jeff0S/sws
--
Xenakios blog (about HourGlass, Paul(X)Stretch and λ) :
http://xenakios.wordpress.com/
Xenakios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2011, 09:58 AM   #7
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Berlin
Posts: 10,434
Default

I think a horizontal fader is weird anyway.

I'd much prefer a vertical fader. I'm not making a mockup.
__________________
Dialogue/FX Editor & Re-Recording Mixer
(Video)Using Latch Preview
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom
airon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2011, 10:26 AM   #8
Evan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Greece
Posts: 3,527
Default

Vertical fader, or a knob

And to satisfy tablet/touch users: a knob with a pop-up mini fader on touch. In other words, knobs with fader-like behavior.
Evan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2011, 10:40 AM   #9
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,767
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nofish View Post
I hope you guys are not trying to suggest to get rid of this ?

I use this all the time (indirectly) when (batch) normalizing items to RMS with the SWS action which is applied to the item properties volume.
indeed it's a per take NOT item volume which is brilliant as reaper also gives you a overall trim control for all takes within the item and then even a per take volume envelope. yeah!

phew!

Reaper, at first it seems crazy and then later.. your the crazy one! lol
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2011, 11:01 AM   #10
ivan.lt
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 466
Default

Is there a way to numerically enter item (not take) volume, short of dragging the line up and down?
ivan.lt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 03:03 PM   #11
flowheimer
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 120
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ivan.lt View Post
Is there a way to numerically enter item (not take) volume, short of dragging the line up and down?
This is exactly what I came here wondering.
PT10 finally has clip gain and it can be entered numerically.

Truth is the main reason this is important to me is because sometimes I'm adjusting item volume on the topmost track and my mouse hits the top edge of my screen before I've reached the amount of gain I was after.

It's always the little things...


fH
__________________
My BIG THREE Reaper Feature Requests:
1. Real Input Monitoring 2. MMTs (a.k.a. Track-Based Edit Groups) 3. One Take Per Lane
flowheimer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.